We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was a joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
Ranked #47 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed in about a dozen Ho/Jo hotels and this one was by far the worst. The bathroom needed major repair I thought the ceiling was going to cave in at any minute. Poor picture on the TV no matter what channel it was on. Went in for breakfast at 7:00 and all the had were these tiny banana nut muffins and I mean half the size of a normal muffin and coffee which was empty. Had to ask this huge guy at the counter to make more. Waited 15 min for my first cup, took it back to my room and came back 15 min later and again no coffee. I think the guy behind the counter was playing games on a laptop probably his computer. I gave the service a 2 only because the guy working the counter in the morning. When I checked in the staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had a nice stay at the Howard Johnson. My room was nice and clean, everything was in working order. Checked in around 2, check in was quick and fast. The frontdesk knew alot of places in the area to eat at. She was very nice and welcoming. Will be staying here again in months to come. thanks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Lesuer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Howard Johnson Mesa while on business, it was close to where I had my meeting. The room was clean and everything worked great, the TV got good reception and the wireless was easy to connect to. The only comment I have is, the area around the hotel is not the best. But to remedy that, they have video cameras all around hotel. And the staff does watch the property. The reason I know this, is because shortly after I checked in, I went out for a meal. When I got back, my room key didn’t work. Within 2 minutes the guy who checked me in, came down and let me in. When I asked "how do you know I was having trouble with the door" he said I was watching on the cameras. I thanked him for coming down so quick. But later I thought to myself, it’s good the hotel is monitoring what goes on. Makes me feel safe. I would definitely stay here again and recommend the place to anyone looking for a good clean and safe place to stay in Mesa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Terrazas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Winters C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Booked the Howard Johnson for one night last minute. I priced a lot of hotels in the area and this one came in near the lower end of the price range. I wasn’t expecting much given the low rate. Check-in was quick. The room was great! Really an eye opener. Extremely clean and spacious. Clean bathroom as well. No complaints about the room. Housekeepers were so friendly and incredibly hard-working too. You could just tell by their mannerisms they really enjoy their work. The neighborhood was a little sketchy, but that’s not the hotels fault.
Overall I had a great stay and would recommend this to anyone! Don't be thrown off by the other comments, this place was great!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rippey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
2.5 mi away
Ramada Mesa
Ramada Mesa
#18 of 57 in Mesa
320 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
6.1 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Gilbert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix East Mesa
2.0 mi away
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert

Address: 1625 E Main St, Mesa, AZ 85203-9017
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range: $69 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson on Main st between Stapley/Gilbert is located to lots of business, stores and close to the fwy also very fast high speed internet and plenty of parking, pet friendly and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Mesa Gilbert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Mesa/Gilbert Hotel Mesa
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing