We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHAT HAPPENED TO THIS HOTEL!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“WHAT HAPPENED TO THIS HOTEL!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel before and loved it. It isn't fancy pancy, more like a Motel 6 with gorgeous surroundings, but I recently stayed at Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn and Resort and the rooms were dirty. Just to give an example. There was a piece of cookie underneath the TV amore in our room, bugs in the bath tub, and dirt along the newer tile in the bathroom and bad dirt in the corners. The pool was not as clean as it used to be, because there were lots of bugs in it too, plus, the pool needed a new liner. The free breakfast was fine. They do have instant oatmeal now. Rice Krispies can be had and skim milk on ice no less. Waffles, toast, great juice and this is all free with your room. It is like Vegas. Free and not continental like most. The flowers and surroundings of this hotel are really nice, but I was sooo disappointed with the cleanliness of the rooms it ruined the ambiance. This hotel has always been a good deal and it is like an oasis in the middle of Mesa, Arizona. Man, what happened? And don't tell me the economy. This place could have numbers of guests if they updated the rooms and cleaned them to perfection because nothing else is really wrong. This baby has the potential to be a hidden gem and they are ruining it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    113
    119
    119
    151
See reviews for
220
126
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NORTHERN MICHIGAN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Stayed with a group of friends for Spring Training.......I can't think of anything wrong other than check in was slow ...Room was nice, pool area clean and the staff always had a smile for you . The restautant they operate has a nice selection of food that I tried and a so-so selection of domestic drafts . They offer a breakfast in the morning that is really pretty good . The location to ball parks and golf courses is good ...I have already told friends about this property and they also had a good stay at the Dobson Ranch Go Cubs......

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCOUTFROMTHENORTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2009

Large clean room with large bathroom counter. Breakfast available-good orange juice and coffee-muffins-4 cold cereals-self made waffles with cold syrup-hot scrambled eggs, sausage & fried potatoes-no bacon any more. Amenities-shampoo-body lotion-shower cap-coffee in room-Large fluffy towels in room and at the pool. Newspaper ran out every day before 8 when we got up.(Cost control?) There are 2 spas(only 1 kept clean) Large heated pool with lots of empty chaises and towels (on a hit and miss bases, not organized). There is a lot of trees & shrubs around the grounds. TV was going off and on for 7 days. Replaced 2 days before our departure.
The housekeeping carts are wheeled out a few minutes before 7:00 so don't count on sleeping in without ear plugs.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2009

This hotel was very nice and the grounds were beautiful. Great pool area, the staff was very friendly, and the free breakfast every morning was way better than expected. Maybe the rooms could use a little updating, but they were clean which is WAY more important to me. How much time do you really spend in the room when visiting AZ anyway?? Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSunshine97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2009

We were in town over the NBA all star weekend Feb 2009 for the SC Del Sol presidents day Soccer Tourney. We were originally booked into the Windemere Hotel and Conference Center but got bumped to the Days Inn. ( The Days Inn was Awfull). So we found this hotel online. We needed a total of 15 rooms. They were sold out but the front desk clerk went out of there way to find us enough rooms for our soccer team. This was a nice quiet hotel, very clean, I believe recently renovated. They had a nice heated pool and whirlpool. The hotel had a nice breakfast buffet included in the price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

We just returned from a few days staying at the Dobson Ranch Inn. It was booked thru elderhostel. The rooms are very dark, linens could used an upgrade. We had a problem checking out. I signed the bill before noticing an extra charge on our bill. There was no one on duty who could show us a receipt for the charge, the mgr could not come out of a meeting, even when we returned after lunch. We left feeling very cheated.

  • Disliked — Lack of service at front desk.
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travellight7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dobsonranch, Assistant Manager at Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area, responded to this review, February 5, 2009
We would like to thank this guest for bringing this unfortunate circumstance to our attention while they were staying at our hotel. This guest was contacted and notified that there was a charge misapplied to their room and informed that a full refund had been issued. Thanks to this guest a new policy has been put into affect to insure if management is not available that the guest charge is corrected until management is available to research the issue.

The Best Western Dobson Ranch Inn is just finishing up a 2 million dollar renovation. The only items left for completion of the renovation is the new lighting as well as the new linens including comforters and bed skirts. All of these items have been ordered and will be completed before March 15, 2009.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

The location is perfect for hopping on US 60 (Superstition Freeway), which is why I chose this hotel. My room faced Dobson Road and the highway, and while the traffic noise was fairly well muffled I would suggest getting a room on the other side if you can.

In many hotels the hot water isn't hot enough for me to shave. Not so at the Dobson Ranch, where the hot water is SCALDING! Make sure the kiddies don't get near the faucets without supervision... seriously. But it does make for a nice hot shower.

During my stay the lobby was closed, so checkin and guest services were run out of a makeshift office. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was filling but b-o-r-i-n-g. Every day the same three hot dishes: eggs, home fries, and sausage. No fresh fruit, no yogurt, no oatmeal (at least I didn't see any), and most of the cereals were loaded with sugar.

Bottom line: I'd stay again if I got the same price (under $60).

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ToutLeMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
3.1 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Near Phoenix
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Property: Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Address: 1666 S Dobson Rd, Mesa, AZ 85202-5610 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing