We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as nice as the pictures”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Northern Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Not as nice as the pictures”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I have to admit that I was taken in by the nice photos of the pool and architecture. Also, calling it a "ranch" and "resort" did not quite prepare me for the rather mundane hotel setting. The reception area is very dated and worn. I don't think they could have found a rattier looking chair for the hotel receptionist. As for the reception - no complaints there at all. We were well received. The room was decent but smelled a bit like sanitizer. Breakfast was about average but the table service was good. I think the restaurant would be worth a visit as it is the most interesting architecturally.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denali338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    116
    124
    127
    158
See reviews for
235
126
51
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We've stayed at the Dobson Ranch Inn a number of times in the last six years. When I asked to make sure that my Best Western Rewards number was recorded, I was told that Dobson Ranch was no longer affiliated with the chain. I was a bit concerned. The Good News is "Not to Worry!" The little resort is as nice and clean and accommodating as ever. This is an old resort. The trees and plants are mature and beautiful. I love the large luxurious olive trees that shade the walkways. The breakfast is wonderful...sausages, scrambled eggs, hash browns, waffles, cereals, fruit juices, coffee etc. If you need your expresso, Starbucks is directly across the street. Macayo's, one of the most beloved Mexican restaurants, is a short walk (on the sidewalk) down Dobson Road. The swimming pool and hot tub are sparkling clean, clean towels are furnished, the water is warm. I was happy to see more people there last weekend than I've seen for a while. I only wonder why everyone who is visiting the valley doesn't stay here? It's a value that can't be beat!

Room Tip: Ask for a pet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Prior to staying here, I read the reviews and the good outweighed the bad. After staying here 5 days, I have only good things to say about this place. No complaints. The staff was very friendly. Room was clean. Breakfast buffet was good. The grounds are beautiful. No question - I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GBinFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2011

this was our hotel choice with our package. We looked at the pics & read the reviews & took a chance....it's a nice place!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jntdruery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Our daughter had her wedding at Dobson Ranch Inn in October 2011 and we had a lot of family book rooms here. They booked a variety of rooms from the Standard King, Executive King, 2 room Suite, to the VIP room. The price was great since they were all discounted because we had the wedding here. Everyone loved their rooms, they were all clean, had refrigerators, coffee makers, iron & ironing boards, hair dryers and additional seating areas, plus the upgraded rooms had even more amenities. The rooms all included a free breakfast buffet the next morning which was excellent, they had eggs, sausage, potatoes, bagels, toast, muffins, cereal, juices and batter to make fresh waffles. All of the hotel staff are fantastic and we dealt with most of them since we also had the wedding here. The Front Desk staff were very friendly and able to answer any questions we had. The room attendants cleaned our rooms first so we could check in early and did a very thorough job.There was a turnover in the Catering Manager position in the middle of our planning but both of the Sales Managers, Jennifer and Amber,stepped in and took care of everything fantastically until a new Catering Manager, Jennifer, was hired and she took over the responsibilities seamlessly and did a great job. But the one person that stood out above all others was our Banquet Captain Adolfo, he did an outstanding job with all phases of our wedding! I cannot say enough about him, I needed more tables and he set up more tables, I needed more vases and he even arranged the flowers in them, he added the flowers to the arch and set up for the ceremony, and when our cupcakes arrived late he was the one putting them on the table and displaying them beautifully! He went over and above his duties and was a lifesaver for us since we didn't have a wedding planner and we had a beautiful wedding because of him. Adolfo's staff were very attentive during the reception and they were the same staff at the breakfast buffet the next morning! Talk about working tirelessly! I would definitely recommend Dobson Ranch Inn for weddings or even an overnight stay because it's a beautiful place, nicely located, but mainly because of the smiling splendid Adolfo!! And No I'm not related! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2011

After reading a few of the reviews I was a little leary of what to expect when I arrived at the Dobson Ranch Inn. I received excellent customer service when checking in with Carl, which started off a great stay. They have wonderful grounds, the room was clean, and the Restaurant was great. I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Mesa. I know alot of people don't write about the good experiences, and this definately was one!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the courtyard, it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Our experience wasn't nearly as bad as some of these reviews. Like I said, it wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. Good points: the room was large, there was a refrig in the room, the grounds were beautifully landscaped, the employees at the desk were pleasant,and the little bar/restaurant was good. Things that needed work: there are 2 hot tubs and neither one was working, the alarm in the room next door went off at 5:50am (nobody was in the room) and it took 2 calls to the desk and 30 minutes for someone to get into the room and turn it off, and instead of 2 normal sized pillows for a queen-sized bed, there were 4 little pillows-which was annoying as soon as you rolled over. The place is somewhat dated, but it wasn't a dump. It's also about a 20 min drive to the airport with no traffic and they have no shuttle.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Mesa - West
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Phoenix Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
2.2 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Near Phoenix
3.1 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area

Property: Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area
Address: 1666 S Dobson Rd, Mesa, AZ 85202-5610 (Formerly Dobson Ranch Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Mesa Phoenix East Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dobson Ranch Hotel Mesa
Best Western Dobson Hotel
Best Western Mesa
Mesa Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing