We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big mistake!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arizona Golf Resort
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is advertised as something it isn't. The hotel is scattered across many acres. Parking your car near your room is nearly impossible. To access second floor there is no elevator. The grounds are very dark at night and seems a bit unsafe. The room we were assigned had a horrible funk. The air blowing through the old vents irritated my eyes. I would never book through Expedia again because it made canceling this room more difficult. An adventure in 'staying' that was NOT a vacation!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cookchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHammermeister, General Manager at Arizona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear Cookchic - thank you for the kind comments and rating on our cleanliness and general location - I'm disappointed that the location of your room did not have adjacent parking - we have six lodging buildings on our 130 acrea golf resort and all but one have very adequate and convenient parking - thank you for the comments and maybe give us another chance in one of our less remote lodging buildings - Jeff Hammermeister / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 396 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

I spent 3 weeks here and loved every minute. The staff is very friendly. Ryan made me feel right at home. Any time I interacted with the staff they went above and beyond to make sure my experience was excellent. I was here for business but I plan to revisit for my next vacation.

Many kudus to the whole staff. From the front desk to the bartenders to the maintenance crew... all super friendly people that made my stay great.

Room Tip: the 500 building has a great pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHammermeister, General Manager at Arizona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Atlanta - your kind comments regarding Ryan and the rest of the front desk, housekeeping, and maintence staff are appreciated - I will pass them along - also good to hear that you plan on returning - see you then - Jeff Hammermeister / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The staff at AZ Golf resort was very friendly. Efficient check-in process and accommodating of requests. The room decor was dated. Old tube TV with no more than 20 cable channels and the remote worked about half of the time. The bathroom had some stupid glass thing instead of a shower curtain so it was impossible to shower (in the impossibly tiny tub) without drenching the room. The shower head was also about 5 feet high so pretty tough to use if you're a normal sized person. The towels smelled like fried chicken, the sheets smelled like chemicals. We got a great deal online but after staying there, I would say we got what we paid for. We won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHammermeister, General Manager at Arizona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Dear Brookfield, WI - thank you for the nice comments on the staff being friendly and accommodating - also good to here that the checkin went well - the other issues you bring up are noted and will be discussed here so that they do not reoccure in the future - Jeff Hammermeister / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Older facility with well maintained rooms and manicured resort. Air conditioning was excellent-not controlled- and the beds were comfortable. We did not golf but the grounds appeared to be very well groomed. Would rate 3.5 stars.

Room Tip: Nice location to Mesa gateway airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHammermeister, General Manager at Arizona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Springfield - always a pleasure to see positive guest feedback - very glad you liked our resort - hope to have you back next time you are out this way (and play some golf next time) - Jeff Hammermeister / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Booked through the Hotwire discount rate and this was the first time we were disappointed in room quality. The hotel shows as three stars and that is due to the golf course and other amenities. The room was dated and not to the standards of typical 3 star places. I will give the front desk some credit, they were pleasant and helpful, even when we move into the third room. The first two nonsmoking rooms were clearly smoked in and an unacceptable. The other issue was wifi coverage, we stayed in 413 and could never pick up a signal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctallen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHammermeister, General Manager at Arizona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Dear Chandler, AZ - good to see that you were pleased with our service, location, and value - regarding the non-smoking room, all of our rooms are non-smoking but some guest before you may have compromised the rule - will check into this as we do have equipment to clean the air of a smoked in room before the next guest arrives - thanks for taking the time to reply - Jeff Hammermeister / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We reserved 2 rooms through Hotwire at a good price. We had good luck with Hotwire in the past but were disappointed this time. The rooms were smelly, grungy carpets, our tub drain area was chipped and rusted, old tv, the front door of our room appeared to have been damaged earlier, rooms were not as clean as we would like, one room had bugs! The location was convenient. It looks like it was a nice place in the past but is outdated and needs to be renovated and better maintained.

Room Tip: Don't go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nebraskan850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHammermeister, General Manager at Arizona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear Nebraskan850 - pleased to see that you were satisfied with our service, value, location, and sleep quality - disappointed that you found the room unsatisfactory - we are taking steps to ensure that the room quality you experienced is corrected and perhaps on your next visit to Mesa you will give us another chance - thanks for the feedback - Jeff Hammermeister / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

After reading one of the latest reviews, I was skeptical as we had reserved a casita. My friend and I was pleasantly surprised on the cleanliness. Even the shower tiles gleemed!!!. Pluses: Comfortable furniture, especially the beds, spa 10 feet away, friendly staff, quiet environment. Cons: No glassware (though wine in coffee cups work, too). No cookware except a lid. Only one teaspoon, 2 tablespoons and 3 soup spoons. One sharp large knife. It would have been helpful if the check -in person had informed us that it was too hot for the ice machines to work--the security person saw me wandering around with the ice bucket.
All in all, I definitely would reccommend it; just take stock of the kitchen before you need something. The front desk certainly could have provided needed items, if we had called but we made do as it was only one night. I do plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tucson_AZAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHammermeister, General Manager at Arizona Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Tucson - thanks for the kind comments on our cleanliness, quietness, comfortable beds, and especially your comment on our friendly staff - what you experienced is what we strive to provide each guest, every time - hope to see you upon return - Jeff Hammermeister / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
10.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Mesa-Superstition Springs Center
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Mesa
6.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Golf Resort

Address: 425 S Power Rd, Mesa, AZ 85206-5296
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range: $90 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arizona Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arizona Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arizona Golf Hotel Mesa
Arizona Hotel Mesa
Arizona Resort Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing