We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great crab boil in the desert? Heck yeah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Angry Crab Shack

Angry Crab Shack
Ranked #19 of 924 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great crab boil in the desert? Heck yeah!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

After reading an excellent review in the local underground paper, we made our way to Angry Crab. Fresh from yoga class, we were ready to get our seafood on. Holy cats! This place is awesome! We ordered one pound each of shrimp, snow crab, and mussels--everything was fantastic and we had enough left over for lunch the next day, We could have ordered potatoes, corn, or even sausage to go with our seafood--but why? Seven choices of spice (we chose the Trifecta: Kajun, Lemon Pepper, and Garlic) and 6 levels of heat (we LOVE *hot* yet chose the medium) allowed us to get exactly what we wanted. A couple of cold hard ciders made the meal complete, Heck, I have had the best Cajun shrimp in Alabama, and paid loads more in California--this is tops!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    47
    20
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Messy fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We've eaten at angry crab three times and each time it's been great! You can come feeling bad but it won't last. There's something about eating with your hands that is so much fun. The music, all the happy people, a cold beer and a big bag of king crab in trifecta sauce will make the worst day seem like the best! We've had the shrimp, crawfish and king crab and all were delicious.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing food but get there early! Great tip for ya.,....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to the Crab last weekend after hearing that they were better than Hot n Juicy in Tempe. We decided to go about 430/5pm on a Saturday to be safe of a wait. Wrong. Place is packed and had a 40min wait- which was not too bad bc they have a patio and a waitress to bring drinks. The waitress also said they are always busy Once inside they have a very comfortable fun atmosphere and place smells delicious.
Once we sat down and given the rundown on how place works we gave our drink order and left to look at the menu. After the waiter came back we gave our order and here is the *TIP - they ran out of crawfish and blue crab hours ago. They give no inclination of this or have anything posted until you order and then are left to scramble for the food you want.**Arrive early or get what's left*
Apparently this happens a lot so we now are going back next Saturday at 1pm to try the crawfish
The food is amazing in taste and cheaper than Hot N Juicy. I will be going many times.
TIP2- get the extras in the bag -corn,sausage,etc- they are really cheap and add a lot of value to the meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aztocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not good gumbo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

My review pertains only to the Gumbo from The Angry Crab Shack. The gumbo is full of veggies and shrimp, which is nice. However, the flavor is more of a tomato stew, and not a true gumbo. Strong tomato flavor, which is not what I like in a gumbo, relatively low in terms of spice. They don't skimp on the ingredients, they just don't come together quite like gumbo should. The cost was around $6. Other seafood, charged by the pound. I would not go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deedeeg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“seafood galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

we celebrated my nanny's 87th birthday last june 15 together with the family coming from different places: florida,seattle & california and me from norway. since they didnt have reservations,we had to be there early. they have first come first serve concept and at least 50% of your group should be there to get seated right away. it was worth the wait and there is something for everybody even the ones with seafood allergies. highly recommended!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alecxbartender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angry Crab Shack also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Angry Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing