We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This place is ok, not super awesome, but a good atmosphere....”

Macayo's Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #113 of 924 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Macayo's Mesa, located at Baseline and Dobson! We're one of many Macayo's family owned and locally operated restaurants. We celebrate Happy Hour Mon-Fri from 3:30 pm - 6:30 pm with $3 off appetizers and $3 drink specials. When You're Hungry for Tradition! Hours: Mon-Sun 11:00am - 10:00pm
Tombstone, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“This place is ok, not super awesome, but a good atmosphere....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

This place is ok, not super awesome, but a good atmosphere....

I would eat here again, but look for other places first. the food was fine, and service was ok the times I visited here, but nothing great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank TLWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macayo M, Guest Relations Manager at Macayo's Mexican Kitchen, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to make each guest experience exceptional. What can we do to make your next visit "super awesome"?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    19
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average food, nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

it was very nice sitting by the lake to eat. The food was average. The salsa was flavorful but not at all spicy by anyone's standards. The "special" margaritas had no tequila in them that I could taste. I got the spinach/fish tacos and they were really very good, although I expected them to be fried and they came out grilled (the server didn't bother to ask which one I wanted). The guacamore you mix yourself at the table was good, but not great (needed lime, and we had to ask for it). Reading the reviews, I'm not sure if we hit them on an off night, but I suspect not.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malicetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Always excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Macayo's in Mesa is an annual visit for me. If you love Mexican cuisine and are in Mesa, you cannot go wrong here. The hard thing is what to choose: Relleno's, Chimichanga, Enchiladas or Tamales all are very good. Or try the sampler plate if you cant make up your mind.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank edwabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macayo M, Online Marketing at Macayo's Mexican Kitchen, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi edwabe!

Thank you for sharing your experience at Macayo's! We love that you come dine with us during your annual visit here! I often have a hard time deciding what to order as well. Next time try our chicken poblano - it's one of our signature items!

We'll see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday Celebration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We enjoyed the fun and food of Macayo's sitting lakeside and celebrating our son's 21st big day!! Good service and plenty of food for all.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NextCruisePlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macayo M, Online Marketing at Macayo's Mexican Kitchen, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi NextCruisePlease,

I want to thank you for sharing your experience at Macayo's! We are very happy you chose to celebrate your son's 21st birthday with us! We look forward to having you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

You will enjoy the restaurant and the food is great. Facilities will accommodate any size of group. It has a great bar too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macayo's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Macayo's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing