We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Chain Mexican Food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macayo's Mexican Kitchen

Macayo's Mexican Kitchen
Ranked #90 of 914 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Macayo's Mesa, located at Baseline and Dobson! We're one of many Macayo's family owned and locally operated restaurants. We celebrate Happy Hour Mon-Fri from 3:30 pm - 6:30 pm with $3 off appetizers and $3 drink specials. When You're Hungry for Tradition! Hours: Mon-Sun 11:00am - 10:00pm
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Typical Chain Mexican Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Not the worst but not even close to being the best in Mesa. This chain plays it very safe and if that's what you are looking for, go right ahead. The service is pretty good but not worthy of such high ratings. Try one of the other Mex joints on the list- you will probably be happier.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    37
    19
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's fine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

I don't crave Macayo's. I've been there a few times, and it's fine without accolade.

Helpful?
Thank dreamchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
211 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Spectacular Chipotle Chicken Salad on the quiet patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stopped here for lunch since it was close to where we were meeting a real estate agent. Although we saw that it was right on the waterway, we didn’t realize that they had a patio area where we could enjoy it. It was a gorgeous day (as usual?), so we ate on the patio. Perhaps because it was close to 100 degrees, there was only one other couple out there. With the heat, we weren’t very hungry, so we shared the Chipotle BBQ Chicken Chopped Salad. We enjoyed the view and birds during the short wait for our order. Despite the restaurant being at the intersection of two busy streets, the patio was very quiet.

The salad was spectacular--a well-balanced blend of lettuce, black beans and chunks of saucy out-of-this-world chicken. With the fantastic cilantro lime dressing, Pico de Gallo and cheese, it was light and refreshing. There was plenty of chicken. We enjoyed it so much, we came back the next day and ordered it again. We also tried to re-create it once we got home. We’ll definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cake_of_Liberty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012 via mobile

Loved it! Stopped in only because we saw it and were hungry liked the lunch special. Will go again!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank njbkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a great place to eat. The food is reasonable and delicious. The atmosphere is really nice and sitting on the patio with the ducks swimming in the pond is a special treat. The "chimi" is really a treat.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macayo's Mexican Kitchen also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Macayo's Mexican Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing