We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a night out”

Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante
Ranked #15 of 941 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lindsay & McKellips
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“OK for a night out”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nice place to visit.....good thin crust pizza and other dishes. Large portions - so you will take home a meal! Friendly staff!!!! Got a coupon for a free appetizer - still pretty expensive for medicore food. We probably won't go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank masterofdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, Owner at Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello,
We appreciate your feedback, and hope you’ll give us another chance to wow you with our selection of menu items and our great service. We thank you for reviewing us.
Best,
Ryan V., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    46
    19
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Italian Food”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We have been here 3 times now. The first and last time were great the 2nd time was just mediocre at best. Both times that we liked it we had the calamari for an appetizer. It is the best we have had since moning to Mesa. Both times it was extremely tender and prepared in a very light batter that complimented the seafood as opposed to overpowering it. If you like calamari I strongly suggest you give Vito's a try. The first time we ordered it was off the dinner menu and the order was extremely large for the tow of us. Yesterday, we had the lunch portion of this appetizer and it was the same quality, a smaller portion, a little less expensive and still we did not finish the entire order.
The eggplant parm was very good and tasted fresh. It was firm, as opposed to mushy, and had a light breading. The shrimp parm also was very good with good size meaty shrimp. I only thing I did not care for with this dish was that they serve it with the tails on. To me that is quite a hassle when the shrimp are covered in cheese and sauce and you have to remove the tails. The only dish I had here that I didn't care for was the seafood lasagna. There wasn't much seafood and what was there was rather lost in the sauce.
On all three occassions, the service was quite slow. The staff seem to be composed of a younger group of folks and they seem to enjoy interacting with each other more than the patrons. With that said, you still can get a decent meal. One last note, they do have an outside patio but it is non-smoking.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, Owner at Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hello!
We appreciate your kind feedback and appreciate the time you took to write such a thorough review of us! We we’re happy to serve you and hope we’ll see you again. Oh!, The calamari is a favorite. We love it, too!
Best, Ryan V., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious and a gluten-free menu”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have loved all our meals at Vito's. They have a 2- page gluten-free menu which has a variety of choices. The pasta dishes are special favorites. The restaurant has a number of different rooms to sit in which adds variety, or you can eat on a patio. I hope this restaurant stays in business for a long time.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gogirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, Owner at Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We feel the best ingredients should be on the menu whether gluten free or not. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again! Thank you!
Best, Ryan V., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Haven't been to this place in years because we were very disappointed the last time. But a buy-one-get-one lunch coupon in the paper got us to give it a try -- glad we did. Not disappointed at all this time.

Service was excellent, not a thing to complain about. My wife had a shrimp and pasta in light red sauce dish (can't remember the name and they don't have the lunch menu on their website) -- she was delighted. I had a pizza that was very flavorful and generously topped, though a bit heavy on the sauce. They brought it out in a wire rack on a pan to keep the bottom from getting soggie -- and that made for a nicely crisp crust. Thought the prices were a little high, but the portions were quite large. Bread basket before dinner had three kinds of fresh bread - all scrumptious. The garlic bread that came with my wife's pasta dish was a bit short on garlic, though she loves lots of garlic so it may be ok for many customers. (My wife has the same complaint at most italian restaurants.)

Overall assessment: we certainly won't stay away as long again. In fact we have another coupon that expires in a couple weeks. We'll be there again soon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david-oberpriller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, Owner at Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your sharing how your dining experience went! We appreciate it. We’re glad you had a great meal, and were more than satisfied with your menu choices. We appreciate you stopping here and look forward to the next time we can serve you.
Best, Ryan V., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average pizza.”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had heard only good things about Vito's so decided to give it a try. The crust was ok, the toppings were plentiful, but nothing had much flavour. I think it was the sauce that let it down. Not a bad pizza....but definitely not good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinsFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan V, Owner at Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and letting us know your feelings about the pizza. We appreciate you sharing your dining experience, and look forward to the next time we’re able to serve you.
Best, Ryan V., Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Vito’s Pizza & Italian Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing