We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yum... it hit the spot”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rosita's Fine Mexican Food
Ranked #189 of 948 Restaurants in Mesa
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Mesa, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Yum... it hit the spot”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The Girl and I stopped in for a Saturday night "tired-of-eating-leftovers" dinner. We ate in the lounge for immediate seating and they offer a full menu in there.

I had the shredded beef Chimi enchilada style. It was great. The flavor of the meat was very good and the tortilla was crispy. Next time I think I will have the machaca beef. The Girl had the mole which she said was one of the best she had.

It seemed as though the guacamole was packaged and not made fresh at the restaurant.

Our server was great new the menu very well and made some great suggestions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidFancher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
342 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Simply average”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Rosita's doesn't look like it is special from the outside. Doesn't look special when inside. It looks tired and worn down and in need of a good cleaning.

We were hoping that the appearance would be overcome by wonderful food. They don't have a gluten free menu and our waiter didn't have a clue what was gf there. We had to have him go back a second time to ask the cook what items my wife might be able to safely eat. This was the part of dining at Rosita's that was below average. We had called earlier that day to find out about gf options and were assured our server would be able to get that information from the kitchen.

Nothing to rave about from the kitchen. Their chili relleno platter was well plated. Beans, rice, some lettuce and a good sized relleno. Hot in temperature, mild in the mouth. Lots of cheese, a good breading, and a good sauce. Beans were good as was the rice. Nice job.

Other meals were lackluster.....average. The chips and salsa others have written about making special stops to get there......were nothing to rave about. There were 3 hungry adults sharing one basket of chips, and we didn't get around to finishing them. Lackluster.

The Valley of the Sun has many great places to go for Mexican food. We recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuc7k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great Mexican food!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I love the enchiladas at Rositas! And the chips with fresh salsa is great, too! The kids love the cheese crisps

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dcaswell1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Family Restaurant in Mesa”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great Food at reasonable prices. Located in Southern Mesa near Chandler, Gilbert and Tempe. The food was better than its nearby more famous competitors at a much more reasonable price. Service is good. Food and drink specials change daily. This is really a family restaurant with a family atmosphere. I've had the shreaded beef Chimichangas and Chiquitos. The beef is marinated and very flavorful. I thought they were the best I've had in may years. My Wife and I plan on eating there often.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darius M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rosita's Fine Mexican Food also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Rosita's Fine Mexican Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing