We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great corn chowder”
Review of Flancer's

Flancer's
Reserve with OpenTable
Flancer's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 967 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: $9 - $15
Cuisines: American
Description: Owned by a Culinary Institute of America graduate. Flancer's was established in 2000 in downtown Gilbert. The Mesa location on Higley & McKellips opened in 2008. Elevating the taste buds of everyday folks! Friendly, professional service with incredible food in an atmosphere that is like your favorite place when you were growing up! Come visit us and see what we're serving up.
Restaurant details
Description: Owned by a Culinary Institute of America graduate. Flancer's was established in 2000 in downtown Gilbert. The Mesa location on Higley & McKellips opened in 2008. Elevating the taste buds of everyday folks! Friendly, professional service with incredible food in an atmosphere that is like your favorite place when you were growing up! Come visit us and see what we're serving up.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This place makes the bread and is just wonderful. They make the best sandwich and salads. This is a must place to check out, you will be happy you tried them.

Thank jonkpocker480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, Owner at Flancer's, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Hi Jonkpocker,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review of Flancer’s. We are so happy to hear that you enjoy our house made bread, sandwiches, and salads. Hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,

Jeff Flancer
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 63 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

Three of us went for lunch. We were seated immediately and then the hard part came, choosing just one thing to eat from a varied menu with lots of choices. I finally ordered the special sandwich, BBQ pulled pork. The others had Spicy Chipotle Pasta and an It's About Thyme Chicken sandwich. The bread is very special and they make it themselves. We all inhaled our food, everything was very good. I noticed a sign about WiFi and gave it a try on my phone, it was very fast. No question we are all coming back here, there are so many other choices we need to try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BillJoyce2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, Owner at Flancer's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi BillJoyce,

Thank you for the great review. You are right about the various menu items making it difficult to make one decision. All of your dishes were great choices. We are so happy that you enjoyed our freshly made bread and that you were able to jump on our WiFi so quickly. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Flancer
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Visited Flancer's Cafe recently and had high expectations. I had heard they have really good sandwiches and it was a fun place. To start on the positive side, the service was excellent. We were quickly seated in a side booth near several others, which were busy with senior citizens. There were crowded tables everywhere, but no customers. The food was mediocre at best. The sandwich and fries were not special, nor was my dinner salad. I did order wings that were quite good, though a little dry on the inside. I didn't try anything else and some of the salads served to others looked like they may have been interesting. I don't think it was good enough for a second look.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, Owner at Flancer's, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Hi ANZO,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you were quickly seated and that the service was excellent. We are grateful for your feedback on the sandwiches, fries and wings. We do hope you come back to try some of our salads.

Best regards,

Jeff Flancer
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

A small neighborhood place - first visit was with locals and they keep going back. This time family/friends from OR & WA went on our own. Menu varied enough and not overly pretentious! Great menu - pay attention to the creative names and how they tie the food to movies/rock songs. The food is just as creative. Had a great pork sandwich with some unusual ingredients combined in creative, visually appealing, and very tasty. Probably the best pork sandwich that I have had - much like a Hawaiian Kailua pork.
Had a choice of sides (fries, soup, etc.) I went with the Cole Slaw. Server had an informal attitude that was happy, positive and just plain nice to be around!! Had great suggestions for what were obvious non locals. Fun place - decor is suspect at first but give it a chance and you will see how it fits the place. I will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JimScubaDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff F, Owner at Flancer's, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Hi JimScubaDude,

Thank you for the great review of our restaurant. We are so glad that you like the pork sandwich and appreciate that you noticed the creative names on our menu! We are pleased that your server had a positive attitude and was very informative. Thank you for complementing our decor and we are happy that you found it a fun place to eat. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Jeff Flancer
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place has good food, dont get me wrong there, but the price is way to high for this area and I am not sure how they can justify the costs. Yes it is fresh but there are a lot of restaurants that have fresh food and dont charge as much as this place.

Thank jpatchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flancer's also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Flancer's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing