We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Server was helpful navigating the family style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buca di Beppo

Buca di Beppo
Ranked #235 of 924 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between Baseline and US60
Description: Buca di Beppo serves authentic Italian cuisine in an eclectic, vintage setting. Our dishes are served family-style, meant to be shared by everyone at the table. Two sizes are available: BUCA SMALL feeds two or more and BUCA LARGE feeds four or more. At Buca, guests delight in our lively atmosphere, enjoy the classic tunes of Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin and admire our decor, including family photos and candid shots of Italian-American icons, such as Sophia Loren and Joe DiMaggio. Our energetic atmosphere, delicious food and friendly staff make Buca di Beppo the perfect place for great Italian food and fun.
Apache Junction, AZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Server was helpful navigating the family style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This review covers the Buca Di Beppo on Val Vista in Mesa. We had a party of four, which in Buca Di Beppo can get tricky because of the family style. Will the portions be too small or too big? Our table was in the bar area and we were being served by the bartender, who was doing double duty. Nevertheless, his service was excellent and he did a good job advising us. A large salad, a large lasagna, a small chicken parmagian and a small veal parmagian turned out to be just right. The atmosphere was quite unique and enjoyable with all the references to Italy and Italians. The food was delicious, but over-priced. Overall, an enjoyable experience, but be prepared to pay more than it's worth.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gtrjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    18
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
192 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our dinner at this Buca. Our waitress was very helpful explaining their family style dining and portion sizes. The four us shared small portion sizes of spaghetti and lasagna which was enough food for all of us. The food was served hot and delicious. There are often coupons available which can make the food prices even more reasonable. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank B L J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Not so good food.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I've been there twice, both times have felt sick after I've eaten. I'm not sure if the food's too rich, heavy, or just not cooked properly. I've known many people that have gotten food poisening from here.

Helpful?
Thank Erica A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“SLOW and tastless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

My daughter had a $25 gift certificate and invited me to join her for lunch. The place is dead except for a birthday table and although there was plenty of staff no one was quick to bring us a menu. Lunch should not take 2 hours.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maga48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bland, uninspiring, and over-priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our third visit in 9 months, and I think our last. The food was bland and uninspiring, the waitress was hyper and a bit manic, and a bill of $65 for two without wine was over[-priced for what we got..

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prescottclearwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucalove, Guest Relations Manager at Buca di Beppo, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Please accept our apologies for your experience. We have forwarded the information to management and would love to have someone reach out to you. Could you email us your contact information to mamacares@bucainc.com? We always appreciate opportunities to better serve our guests. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buca di Beppo also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Buca di Beppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing