We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding desert park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Usery Mountain Regional Park

Usery Mountain Regional Park
Ranked #3 of 62 things to do in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Outstanding desert park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

If you want to spend some time in the Sonoran desert, come to this gem just a few miles from Mesa. We camped here for a week and took several hikes/walks and a ranger program. The facilities are first-rate, the staff and volunteers love the place and are very helpful. Skip the $44 Desert Botanical Garden (which felt like a Desert theme park to me) and come visit the real desert for $6.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mistersunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    104
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great for vigorous but doable hike ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

The Usery Pass trail is 7.5 miles and can be circumnavigate clockwise for easier hike than counterclockwise due to elevation gain. Easily add another approximate 3 mile hike to Wind Cave trail adjoining Usery Pass trail. Allow for 2.5 hrs (fast) or 3.0 hrs (relatively moderate speed) for Pass Trail. Few go faster but many take time and make a 4 hour hike of Pass Trail.

Helpful?
Thank FrenchMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great programs, hiking and views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have attended many of the programs including those on hiking in the desert, birdwatching, desert animals and they have been very interesting for our friends and our grandchildren too. There are good trails for hiking and the Wind Cave Trail offers some beautiful views.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Even for those of us who live in the Valley, Usery Mountain Park is a beautiful place to visit. Go at night and take your telescope - the stars are spectacular! During the day, it's a moderate hike with all sorts of wildlife (lizards, snakes, the occasional javelina) and really spectacular natural landscaping and rock formations. It's really cool that we don't have to drive a long distance to feel like we're waaaaay out of the city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZteacher85203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Camped here for one night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Wish we were here for longer although I donʻt think Iʻd be able to handle the heat in the summer. Beautiful desert area and lots going on at the park. Hosts were nice as were the folks in the Nature Center. We had obligations outside the park but would have loved to attended the programs that were offered the night we were there and done some hiking as well. I would love to spend more time in this park. Facilities were clean and well kept.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank joferer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Usery Mountain Regional Park also viewed

 

Been to Usery Mountain Regional Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing