We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Locally owned restaurant”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Serrano's Mexican Food Restaurant
Ranked #206 of 923 Restaurants in Mesa
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Locally owned restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Good food served in a clean and comfortable setting. We love their chips and gather here with family often. Better than the big chain restaurants and a bit more trusted than some of the smaller locals for quality. I need a margarita so off I go ! We eat here regularly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Favorite Mexican Food - Fifteen Years Running”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Mexican food is pretty much the same wherever you go. Same ingredients, same spices. Serrano's food is not particularly different from anywhere else. But it is always good, fast, and a good value.

One thing that is different is what they bring you before the meal. Most places it's just chips and salsa. Here you get piping hot chips, a very tasty salsa, and spicy bean dip. You can of course do them separately, but since Serrano's always has a small plate already at your table, you can concoct your own mix of salsa and dip for your chips. I normally go through at least a bowl of chips and two bowls of both dip and salsa before the meal arrives.

My favorite menu items are the muchaca chimichanga and the pescado fresco, but I've never had anything I didn't like, and I've been going there half a dozen times each year for over 15 years.

Service is fabulous, and management is always very willing to work with me when I bring a large group there for a special celebration.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gkmchardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good, inexpensive food and drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

While visiting my sister in Mesa, I asked to go out for good Mexican food. There are at least 3 Serranos Mexican Restaurants in Mesa, and we went to the one on McKellips. It was crowded but we went into the bar. I had the pork chimicanga with beans and rice for $10.99 They were having a special on drinks, but I stayed with the Modello. Service was quick, and the atmosphere was okay. Our waiter Arturo was very pleasant and friendly. I will plan to go here again when I return in the fall.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabojim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Back in the Pack”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

It was our first Arizona vacation, and we were pretty much flying blind. In a metropolis riddled, with Tex Mex, we went in search of authentic Mexican cuisine. This was not it. The service was friendly, the ambience adequate, and the price was close enough to right. But judging by three staples of Mexican cuisine, this was a disappointment. (1) Maybe it's just me, but when I've had burritos in the past, they've usually come with one or more garnishments on the side, to place on top. Hot, mild, whatever. Here, there was one all-purpose garnishment already on the table alongside the tortilla chips when we first sat down, and we never saw another. And the chicken inside, while adequately tasty, was nothing more than that. Adequate. To me, this was a blown opportunity for Serrano's to set itself apart from the pack; a way to make people want to tell their friends, "you should check out Serrano's." Instead, it was the same burrito you can find at any Tex Mex restaurant. (2) Same with the guacamole. It was clearly from stock. Undistinguished. It could have come from a grocery store shelf. (3) And finally, the margaritas. We ordered ours on the rocks. When they arrived, they were *warm*. Room temperature.

If you want off-the-rack Tex Mex, you'll probably be happy here. If you want memorable Tex Mex, or authentic Mexican, keep looking.

Helpful?
Thank SouthsiEEED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Consistently good Mexican food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I believe this restaurant is owned by the Serrano family based in Chandler. That being said I have eaten 3 of the restaurants in Chandler, Gilbert and Mesa and have found they all share the same good menus. My favorite is their the rellanno the house Margarita. The Gilbert location on Val Vista is only about 2 miles into Gilbert just south of Mesa. This location has booths in the dining and bar areas. However, the bar is mulch quieter die to the lack of children. It is a family restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gailybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serrano's Mexican Food Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Serrano's Mexican Food Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing