We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good space, tedious shows”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mesa Arts Center

Mesa Arts Center
Ranked #1 of 62 things to do in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
763 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Good space, tedious shows”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Lively building, with good subterranean gallery, but the art on show was pretty tedious. Maybe we just hit them at a bad time. Their annual calendar made up of artists prints was an interesting idea, though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    72
    12
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
524 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Great Venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We have been members at Mesa Arts Center since the first year.

We love it. There isn’t a bad seat in the house and the acoustics are excellent. The interior of the building itself is beautiful.

We have heard every type of music and seen Broadway plays and musicals and really have attended no “duds”. The area has ample parking and restaurants are nearby many within walking distance.

We have not been into the Mesa Contemporary Arts Museum. On the campus there are art classes available with everything from pottery making to glass blowing.

We also attend the weekly free “Out to Lunch” series an hour long free concert outdoors from November through March a varied and entertaining hour with local musicians providing the entertainment. You can bring a lunch or there is a caterer on site.

Mesa Arts Center is a well run and maintained venue with great entertainment.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelertoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mesa Arts Center”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

Housed in an interesting building, the Mesa Arts Center is on the lower level. Very quite the day I was there. In fact there was no one in the place at that time. Visited the various works of art typical of what one would expect. The odd piece was of interest to me but my overall impression was it was just ok.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heptiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful arts venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

A friend and I made a whirlwind trip from Tucson to Mesa to hear Peter Yarrow and Noel Paul Stookey in concert. The Mesa Arts Center is simply stunning. The architecture is innovative but not cuckoo. It is very easy to navigate and there are plenty of people to point you in the right direction. Our seats were smack in the middle of the last row of the balcony, the so-called nosebleed section (I did not get a nosebleed but I did experience a moment of vertigo ...), but the view was spectacular and the acoustics just fabulous. Parking is plentiful. I am sorry we did not get to stay longer and visit the art gallery. The Mesa Arts Center is like Washington D.C.'s Kennedy Center, except the Kennedy Center is horizontal and the Mesa Arts Center is vertical. Both have multiple theaters for different types of events. This place is a real gem and Mesa is lucky to have it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanK0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mesa gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We have been several times. I believe the at gallery is free. The exhibits change and are relevant. Interesting events are often held at this forum.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesa Arts Center also viewed

 

Been to Mesa Arts Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing