We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of India Oven

India Oven
Ranked #25 of 914 Restaurants in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alexandria, MN
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went for the dinner buffet. It was incredible! The price is amazing and the staff excellent as well. The naan was so fresh, and it includes hot tea and a great mango drink! The owner came over as well to ask how everything was, very nice and attentive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank T E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    39
    4
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Great Taste of India in Mesa AZ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Got to our hotel and hopped on Trip Advisor to find a near by restaurant for dinner (Friday night at about 7:30pm). My wife had seen the sign for Indian Oven on the way to the hotel and we both like Indian food so it was to my great pleasure to see this place come up 2nd on trip advisors list. We hopped in the car and were at the restaurant (just a block or two off the freeway) in minutes. At the front door there were two parties in front of us and the place was full, but the staff told us it would be just about 5 minutes and they were correct. The place has a menu but most patrons seemed to be partaking of the buffet. Our water suggested it and so we all gave it a try. It was great, but Meat and Meatless dishes, from hot to mild in seasoning, very flavorful. Also had condiments, NAN, and other items brought to the table. Buffet included Lasse (yogurt drinks) Ice water etc. NOTE They also have a full bar. Food was great, Service was Great, People were Great, both owners stopped by the table to see if everything was to our satisfaction, which was nice as they must of had 15 or 20 people doing the serving, busing, etc. very well staffed.

The sign out front says "BEST INDIAN FOOD IN ARIZONA" I would say this could be correct. :)

Also note they have a Banquet Room too, says they do catering, may do delivery?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnnieXXXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Liked it so much we came back the next day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I went here on Friday night for a quick date out. Really enjoyed the food and the variety of dishes. The self serve Mango Lassi dispenser was a nice touch! The Lamb Vindaloo was excellent as were all the dishes. Excellent flavors!
The next day the kids were so jealous we had gone without them we had to go again and take them with us. We'll be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsyboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. We drive here from Tucson twice a month because the food is just that good, and everyone is very friendly. We usually get the sag lamb. It is always so flavorful and consistently good. The saffron-infused basmati is incredible too. So excited to have found a wonderful Indian restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTraveler1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

First, the correct name for this restaurant is the India Oven, not Indian Oven.

This is easily the best Indian restaurant buffet I've ever experienced, and I routinely search these out wherever I am. All the food was wonderfully flavorful, and the selections containing meat were exceptional in their containing lots of beautifully trimmed lamb, pork or beef - no gristle or fat, which most other Indian restaurants don't take equal pains with. Service was friendly and helpful, and the buffet contained more selections than most.

While this isn't a true criticism, buffet items which are normally prepared very highly spiced were toned down for those unable to appreciate or enjoy this character - to the enjoyment and relief of my wife, for one. Example - the lamb vindaloo, which I prefer extremely hot. However, it was only necessary for me to add a good bit of chili pepper to get this where I felt it belonged.

If you love Indian food, or just want to try it, you can't go wrong here. Highest recommendation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boringoldguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Oven also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to India Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing