We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Matta's Grill and Cantina

Matta's Grill and Cantina
Ranked #235 of 914 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: MATTA'S RESTAURANTS HAVE BEEN SERVING THE VALLEY FOR 60 YEARS! Our family recipes have been passed down from generation to generation and we are committed to serving only the finest foods, made with the freshest ingredients. All of our dishes are made from scratch. Families and even out-of-town guests have grown up with Matta's authentic West Texas-style Mexican cuisine. Your dining experience will have the same great taste and familiar atmosphere you've grown accustomed to every time. The NEW Matta's Grill and Cantina will serve up your old favorites and some great new exciting dishes! If you haven't experienced Matta's Mexican Restaurants, we encourage you to stop in and start a new family tradition. We're honored to have you as our guest. Come taste the difference at Matta's!
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

This is authentic and good Mexican food from a family with decades of experience! Not your typical chain food....a great family tradition that has survived. Give them a try and you'll be glad you did. Try the marg with Patron.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Matta's is always authentic and always good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

I liked the old Matta's in downtown Mesa before it closed. This still had some of the rustic feel, but most importantly, it had good classic Mexican food.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nvlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food in the Valley of the Sun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My favorite is the shredded beef enchilada with green chile sauce, sour cream and guacamole on the side. Their new building has dining on the mezzanine, ambiance is great on both levels. The service and customer care can't be beat! Great place to take families, and they even offer take-out! We have eaten at Matta's for decades with family, friends, business associates, and I ALWAYS take my out-of-town guests there. My cousin, who hadn't visited in many years commented, "Yep, just like I remembered it."

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mir2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not the best I have Tasted”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

A relative told me that this was a great place to eat, but I was not impressed at all. We arrived around 7 pm and went through many chips and bean dip while waiting for our dinner. The waiter was nice but finally explained that they only had one cook for the night of 30 Jul 2012. When the food finally came, my family asked me "how was it" but I had to tell them I was not impressed, the food was good but as many Mexican Restaurants I have been too, this was average and everyone was hungry and tired from the Zoo trip earlier. Overall, the meal was plentiful on the plate, but partial bland and I actually used the left over salsa from the chips to mingle up the taste on my plate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miguel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stopped in for a late lunch and hit Mattas during 'Happy Hour'. First the good news: the service was good; the food was hot, plentiful and inexpensive. But tasty, it was not. My wife had a combo with a fish taco and a chicken enchilada. The fish in the taco was a deep-fried fish stick which both smelled and tasty 'fishy'- nothing fresh here. My combo burro had what was supposed to be red chile beef but was really just ground beef in disguise. Both dishes had beans and rice and mine had a small salad. My wife described the food as 'mediocre' and I would give it a 4.5 on a scale of 10. Don't waste your money here-there are several better choices for Mexican food in Mesa.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MesaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matta's Grill and Cantina also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Matta's Grill and Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing