We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good & Bad.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of de la Cruz Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
de la Cruz Bistro
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Center Street
Transit: Metro bus line stops in front of the restaurant and plans for light rail expansion will run directly by the front door.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good & Bad.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Restaurant has good food but theater or concert nights at the Mesa Arts Center affects the service greatly. Our waiter was slow and inattentive which made for a negative experience which is a shame because our meal was excellent. We ordered the filet mignon - a great price compared to other steak houses - the preparation was perfect - the mashed potatoes to die for. I have eaten here for lunch when the service was excellent. I recommend for great food but be prepared on busy nights.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TERESLILLIAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    5
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed emotions”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

We went to de la Cruz Bistro back in July of 2011 and absolutely loved it. Tried going back one other time but didn't get reservations and the hostess was not any too nice and said it would be over an hour even though there were multiple tables open both when we asked and after we came backa few times as we walked the area.

We tried to go again on 7/18/2012 and they were closed. We didn't stop to read what the sign had to say but someone on Facebook had mentioned that they were closed until the 16th so not sure what is going on. I hope Mesa doesn't loose this great gem and they just closed for a short summer break due to the road construction also going on.

But the reason for the low rating more comes to the lack of information. I called their main phone line several times and no answer and no message of if they are closed or what. Their facebook page says nothing about it and it appears that their website has been hacked because my Norton flagged a potential threat and would not open it. Because of those reasons I have no choice but to give it a low grade. Any restaurant owner should know that in this information age you have to inform people of what is going on and why you are not open.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank douboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very poor quality”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

Me, my partner and two friends went tonight to enjoy dinner before a play at the Mesa Arts Center. I am typically not inspired to write a review but this food was AWFUL. The lamb was overcooked, though we asked for medium rare, the escargot was disgusting, and the prawns were tiny and overcooked..or microwaved several times. Never again.

Helpful?
Thank L E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice patio on a sunny afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We spent part of a lovely Friday afternoon on the patio enjoying a bottle of Pinot Grigio. The food was great and the service was excellent. They have a fairly good wine list although their "by the glass" prices are high. A bottle is the price of 3 glasses. I guess that encourages patrons to buy a bottle. Anyway we enjoyed our visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABTraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“very bad service, untrained and unaware servers, very slow service, so so food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

train your staff, clean your floors, tighten up your menu.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donniesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de la Cruz Bistro also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing