We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Cuisine at its Best”

Nunthaporn's Thai Cuisine
Ranked #74 of 937 Restaurants in Mesa
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arizona
Level Contributor
527 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Thai Cuisine at its Best”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We read your great reviews and decided to give Nunthapron’s a try. Thank you all for pointing us here. We enjoyed it thoroughly.

We are not generally Thai fans having only been to maybe one other Thai restaurant in many years. The love of my life is more of a meat and potatoes girl than a fan of vegetables and spices.

We went here after a late afternoon performance at Mesa Arts Center. We were seated promptly and felt very welcome. My wife ordered “Shrimp Paradise” and it was delightful with mango, shrimp, onion, and basil in a mild chili sauce it was so good I wished I’d ordered it. I had beef with cashews, garlic, onion, snow peas, pineapple in a mild soy bean chili paste that was really, really good too but… I loved her “Shrimp Paradise” even at that I’d still order the beef dish again.

It didn’t take too long before the place was packed, there were two performances at Mesa Arts Center and on a Sunday evening it really helped pack this restaurant. There were only two servers and they were really busy. That would be our only complaint the service was a bit slow albeit after our meals were served. We waited quite some time for the check but even at that it was not really neglect but the two guys were simply really busy.

If you have even the slightest taste for something different this is the place. We loved the tastes and the freshness of the ingredients.

We’ll make it a point to return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelertoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    25
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Loved the fresh veggies---WE WILL BE BACK”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are trying to alter our eating habits to less meat and more veggies so we have been experimenting with curry at different Thai restaurants. We felt as if this was one of the best we have had yet. I had fried tofu. Hubby had shrimp curry of some sort and raved over it. Our waiter was very attentive in spite of being a one man show with a lot of tables our needs were always met. The kitchen was a bit slow but well worth the wait.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Not really a Thai food person but gave it a try after having a terrible experience at De La Cruz across the street. Not bad at all, the even accommodate those of us with milder taste buds. Have a nice patio - unfortunately that will now provide a view a tearing up the street for light rail.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Thai selection and value”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The green curry was amount my favorites. Very other curry dishes offered. Dishes come with Brown or.white jasmine rice.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank finefrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Authentic preparation makes this place a diamond in the rough”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I hadn't had good Thai food in a long long time (disclosure: I'm half Thai). I was pleased to find this spot while in a business trip. Mesa doesn't know what it's missing apparently because this place was dead when I came in on a Tuesday evening. Truth be told all if downtown Mesa was dead.

I ordered the Laab with ground pork with sticky rice and it was excellent! The Tom kha soup was very good as well. Prepared like you'd find in Thailand, dishes here are truly worth coming into downtown Mesa for.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sojoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nunthaporn's Thai Cuisine also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Nunthaporn's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing