We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good bbq”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #53 of 941 Restaurants in Mesa
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Description: Famous Dave's best Phoenix barbecue restaurants and catering. BBQ ribs, chicken, burgers, sandwiches, appetizers and salads. Open lunch and dinner.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good bbq”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

food is usually great ribs and brisket are awesome prices are reasonable for a bbq place and the adult beverages are also a win cant wait to try there new moonshine drinks

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    40
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't ask for better”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

BBQ at it's finest. Lots of choices, fast service, and a great atmosphere. My daughter took me there for Fathers Day and we were immediately seated and had two different servers asking us if we needed anything else. Looking forward to going back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've been a big Famous Dave BBQ for years. While the service was excellent the ribs really let me down - HARD. I tried the meal with three different types of ribs. Serve on a small cookie sheet, it was a pile of meat. Only problem was that it didn't have any favor. Looked as if they baked the ribs in a oven and added some sauce and put the meat on the grill to add alittle bark. No pink meat from the smoker or grill as it tasted like turkey. Unlike previous visits, the ribs were mainly bones which I felt was rather odd. In a end, a pile of odd shape bone. Meantion this to the waitress and she didn't seem surprised. Sure hope it the Dobson location and not all famous daves that are cutting corners.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scotty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite family restaurant!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We came on a promotion, Dave's bday so anyone named Dave got a free meal. We eat here regularly now. We also order the large meals often to feed a big group at last minute. There's something delicious for everyone on the menu. Salads to brisket. The staff is always great and it's priced fairly. Not a single negative thing to say about the place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“I wasn't sure what to expect...”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My dad had memories of eating here on his last trip to the area so we got together with a couple of his friends and checked it out. The place was huge and absolutely full of people. That said, we were seated fairly quickly and the service continued to be prompt and friendly throughout our visit. The four of us decided to go ahead and order the garbage can lid full of food, which is what dad had such fond memories of from the past and I was curious to see. It really wasn't bad. Temperature was my biggest complaint, as with the volume of the place I am sure it must be an assembly line sort of kitchen arrangement with items waiting to be served. The actual flavour and of the different things and the way they were cooked was quite good. I requested a hotter sauce than the three standard offerings, and was provided a bowl of one with a good kick. I would go again if looking for this kind of eating experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredheadsaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing