We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commemorative Air Force Museum
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
An Aircraft Enthusiast's Historic Paradise

We arrived a tad late but we were not disappointed. What a museum. Had a look inside a B-17 Flying... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
thewanderer300
via mobile
Commemorative Air Force Museum

We live just 3 miles from this fascinating museum. The B17 is our favorite exhibit, and we love... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Melody P
Read all 469 reviews
  
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
351
98
13
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
98
13
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display sentimental journey vintage aircraft aviation history world war ii flying fortress wwii planes falcon field great collection air show answer questions great planes offer rides greatest generation nice gift shop open house volunteer staff
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

We arrived a tad late but we were not disappointed. What a museum. Had a look inside a B-17 Flying Fortress and Douglas DC-3 and saw many other aircraft and exhibits and even the workshop and maintenance hanger. A lovely giftshop. A terrific museum.

Thank thewanderer300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We live just 3 miles from this fascinating museum. The B17 is our favorite exhibit, and we love hiking the mountains around Phoenix and seeing her fly by. Yes, you can book flights on this plane, and a couple of others! Excellent experience for the veterans in your family. We also like the exhibits of WWII bomber jackets, and the Tuskeegee Airmen. This museum is worth a visit!

Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Learn from the pilots who flew these planes at the CAF. My son love the visit and enjoyed learning from the real pilots of these planes.
We got to tour several of the planes. A great idea for an afternoon to learn about REAL history.

Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

See history unfold right before your eyes. This is wonderful. Would like to take a ride in one of these nice planes.

Thank Brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

What a terrific experience. The tour guide is so knowledgeable of the history of the aircraft and the museum it self. Mr. Greg Ferguson was terrific. I learned so much very informative and interesting. The aircraft arfe amazing and many still fly.--WOW Recommend everyone that comes to AZ put this on their list to visit

Thank johnmorton2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our visit to the Air Museum. The displays were well marked and informative. If you had questions there were knowledgeable volunteers to answer any and all questions. It was fun to watch the the WWII planes take off and land as they give rides over the desert (for a fee). It is worth your time to check it out.

Thank bluekitchen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are retired Air Force, and love the history of aviation. The exhibits were very well done, they had some amazing aircraft/components, and the staff were just incredible. You could tell they love helping out the visitors. The attraction is free to active duty military and disabled vets. You can sign up for flights in vintage aircraft--for a price of course. An unexpected pleasure in Mesa.

1  Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

Staffed by all volunteers, this museum has displays of many types of aircraft, as well as a hanger of old aircraft that still fly. You can arrange a ride in one of the vintage planes if you desire. A worthwhile stop.

Thank TFitz134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

A delightful trip to the past Air Force events and air craft. Refurbished to it glory days. For a sample tax deductible contribution you can ride in history!

Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

My reunion group stopped at the Commemorative Air Force Museum. There are a good number of planes on display. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Do not pass up if in the area.

Thank frankt413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews