We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never a Disappointment”
Review of Il Vinaio

Il Vinaio
Ranked #131 of 937 Restaurants in Mesa
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: il Vinaio, "the Wine Merchant" is a unique, casually elegant American Fusion Restaurant with Beer & Wine Bar open all three meals.Always family owned and operated in the heart of Historic Downtown Mesa, featuring Fresh, Local, Organic and Sustainable ingredients, plus a comprehensive Gluten Free Menu, and regular Live Entertainment.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Never a Disappointment”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Been 3 times, and never a disappointment. The service may not be speedy at all times, but the food is always excellent! We usually get steaks, chops, wine & cheese. Sometimes soup. Our next trip will be to try breakfast, if they still offer it.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaatmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    7
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“So many much better resauarants... Don't bother with this one”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Granted, had a Living Social deal for the wine tasting of six one oz. pours for 2, and the cheese/ meat platter. However, if you are going to give a deal, make sure that it will make customers want to come back. There wasn't one of the six wines that we would consider getting more of (and we aren't wine snobs), and the cheese tasting plate bore absolutely no resemblance to the picture that accompanied the special - there was fraction of what was portrayed! So, still being hungry, we decided to order a couple of appies. For $9, we got 4 smallish coconut shrimp that were so-so at best. For another $9, we had a chicken flatbread that was also much smaller than usual, and just okay. To add insult to injury, the bill showed a $2 increase in the cost of the wine- something I have never experienced on a Living Social deal.
Overall, not a good experience, and it is very doubtful that we will return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dms214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level Contributor
154 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Special evening- good gluten-free meal”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The atmosphere is romantic, the wine and food is excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed the special treatment. Great staff!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gogirlWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the 3 Biggest travel mistakes of my life!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We arrived at 6:03 p.m. local time. We left at 7:42 p.m. The intervening 1 1/2 hours was restaurant hell! There was exactly 2 people in the restaurant when we arrived- ok, I thought, a slow Sunday night. BUT 10 minutes to get water (it was 108 degrees at the time we walked in), 5 more to get a good wine, and 50 minutes in addition to that to get the news that they had no cream to make my daughter's pappardelle pasta Florentine and did she want something else - how about the bread we'd asked for at the 35 minute mark of waiting for food because we were starving. When the order did arrive, my wife's dish and my daughter's replacement dish of pasta pomodoro was a handful of barely warm linguini topped with chopped tomatoes- period. My nilgai antelope burger and hand cut fries were VERY good.

BUT I don't think anyone was surprised at my $0.00 tip- and this from a guy who usually tips in the 20-25 percent range. We received ao apology, no acknowledgement for the atrocious service or our long, long wait.

I CANNOT ADVISE STRONGLY ENOUGH - if you go to Il Vinaio in Mesa- and I'd think long and hard about that, order the burger and fries as a takeout item.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, great meal”
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Had dinner here because it is so close to Mesa Arts Center. Cannot say enough about the fine food, friendly staff and super surroundings. Add to that an outstanding wine list and that special evening out is perfect.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eisenteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vinaio also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 
Mesa, Central Arizona
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Il Vinaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing