We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Review”

Arizona Museum of Natural History
Ranked #7 of 60 things to do in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Arizona Museum of Natural History is the premier natural history museum in Arizona. It is dedicated to inspire wonder, respect, and understanding for the natural and cultural history of the Southwest. Explore Arizona and the Southwest from the creation of the earth 4.5 Billion years ago to the present. See the origins of life on earth, meteorites and minerals. In Dinosaur Hall, discover some of the biggest dinosaurs that ever lived, and on Dinosaur Mountain see how some appeared and sounded in a natural context. In a Walk through Time, explore ancient Arizona's Paleozoic Seas, Triassic Petrified Forest, monsters of the Cretaceous Seas, and the first animals to fly. "Rulers of the Prehistoric Skies", our newest exhibit, presents the amazing diversity of Pterosaurs, the flying reptiles of the Mesozoic. Neither dinosaurs nor birds, Pterosaurs ruled the skies from about 225 to 65 million years ago.
Whiteriver
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Review”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This place was awesome. I liked the exhibits and we also went to the dig site. It was great. My kids had a great time. The little kids area was great for my 3 and 6 years old. My 9 year old had a great time with the dinosaur and mineral exhibit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank April D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    67
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Coolest outing for kids”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

My daughter thinks that this is the coolest place, with all the dinosaurs . You can hear them roar throughout the museum. You can pan for gold outside and also search for fossils. They have a room where u can watch dinosaur movies, they have puzzles and things to do everywhere. They do dinosaur camp, night at the museum and the coolest thing its to go hunting for dinosaur eggs during easter.

Helpful?
1 Thank jolieee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect for the whole family”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This natural history museum is located in downtown Mesa, AZ. It has nice dinosaur exhibits. It has rock displays. Kids love the chance to touch the rocks and crystals formations on display. The museum also has an activity area for younger kids. There is a regularly scheduled flash flood for some added excitement. You can pan for "gold" or dig for dinosaur bones in outdoor section of the museum. Kids love the prospecting. They have replica of old mines and jails from the early days of Arizona. It is definitely woth you time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wish this had been around when my kids were young”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My daughter took a friend and me to visit the museum. She volunteers in their lab. We had a great time, and were both surprised to find this wonderful museum tucked away in downtown Mesa. There are a lot of hands on activities and many big, showy exhibits, including a flash flood at Dino Mountain. You're not just reading descriptions of artifacts. I kept thinking how much my daughter, the museum volunteer, and her sisters would have loved this place when they were in elementary school.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lois B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Take a trip through time”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you enter under the giant shark jaws you will take a trip through time as the walkways spiral around and around into ever newer time periods, leading you back to the entrance hall. Everything is really well done, the lighting is good, the displays are well lighted and the signage is informative. The dinosaur skeletons are fantastic! Ive never seen such small dinosaur bones before, and the flying dinosaurs took my breath away, I had no idea they were just that large. Prepare to spend at least 2 hours, 3 is more likely.

After a long trek thru time you might well be hungry, no need to jump in the car, the museum is in downtown Mesa and has many cafes and restaurants all within walking distance of the museum.

Also, if you have a library card for any of the surrounding libraries, step in and get a culture pass. It admits 2 with your library card, they are time sensitive however and only last for a week.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lolgillygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Museum of Natural History also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Arizona Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing