We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Average” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Decorah, Iowa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Better than Average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay there even though the check-in staff who were also the snack counter servers, seemed on the edge of knowing what they were doing. The rooms were nice - better than most similar venues. The breakfast was a bit unusual and very nice. The one problem was - its not very close to restaurants. We ordered in a carry-out and there wasn't a whole lot of choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koolbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbersch, General Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear koolbill,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I know that one thing that makes a trip much more enjoyable are dining choices. In case you return, I wanted to let you know that we have;
Matas Mexican Restaurant
Chilis
Islamorada @ Bass Pro
Famous Daves BBQ
as well as numerous fast food restaurants in Mesa Riverview.
I am disappointed to learn that my team didn't offer our shuttle to you which travels anywhere up to 5 miles of hotel and the restaurant choices are endless.
If you find yourself coming back to Mesa, please call me and I will be happy to assist in setting up your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    132
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
194
132
39
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel is the kind where after staying, you are looking for an excuse to come back and stay again.

Quality, quality, quality, quality. That about sums up this hotel. You wonder why it has such a high Yelp and TripAdvisor rating? Because this hotel is that good. The moment you walk in the door to the lobby you can tell.

Personnel: 5 stars
From the first moment we checked in to when we left, every person on staff was friendly, acknowledged us, and was helpful. Everyone smiled and said hello. Everyone. The front desk, the breakfast ladies, the housekeeping staff--all smiled and said a greeting. What? You LIKE working here?

Location: 5 stars
The Hyatt is located right next to/is part of the Mesa Riverview Park shopping open air complex. Department stores, lots of restaurants, Walmart, Bass Pro Shop, professional services, specialty shops--you're all set. Even though the Hyatt is part of the complex, you would never know in the hotel that you were.

This Hyatt is also close to several attractions. We personally went to Papago Park which has the Phoenix Zoo, The Desert Botanical Gardens, Papago Golf Course, the Municipal Park for the Oakland A's training. This is a 15 minute drive or less from the hotel. 15 to 20 minutes away is Piestewa Peak, great for a vigorous hike with great sights of the city. And there are more. This is a nice home base location for Phoenix, Mesa, Tempe, and Scottsdale.

Facilities: 5 stars
The lobby is comfortable. There is a two computer workplace. Wifi is free with a clear and strong signal. 9 hole putting green. Exercise room. Swimming pool and jacuzzi. There is a handicapped assist lift for the pool and the jacuzzi. Plush towels for the pool. Others said there is a TV there, but I did not check that out.

There is a bar that is open all night where you can also order food. There is no room service, but you can order and pick it up. Alas, they do not have trays to carry your food back to your room so it is a juggling act or have others help carry it to the room. The menu is nice, though, and reasonably priced for hotels.

The halls are not narrow. Exit signs posted at crawl level in case of fire.Two elevators reduce waiting time.

Free Breakfast: 4+ stars
Hot skillet items. A type of egg on a muffin with different varieties each day. With basil or cheese or onion, or bell pepper or ham, etc. Actually tasty and not like an Egg McMuffin, thank goodness. Also alternating with pancakes or French toast. Plenty of drinks, cereals, tasty pastries, bread, muffins, oatmeal, fruit.

The breakfast area was really nice. Like a restaurant, not like an after-thought space or room like most hotels serve their breakfasts in. The dishes were all plastic, but designed to look like glass and porcelain so it still looked classy without the breakage safety issues. All the utensils were heavy duty, nothing cheap.

Rooms: 5 stars
We had a corner room with a King size bed. It had a living area built-in with a sleeper sofa, a love seat, and an ottoman. A nice 47" LCD LD flat screen TV with remote. This was mounted on a station so that you could plug in your own device (Bluray player, laptop, etc.) with an HDMI cable, 15-pin video cable, RCA cables, miniplug audio cables, and power. Easy switches, too. Really nice. Bring your favorite gaming platform and go for it.

All of the doors, the room door and the closet door were impressively thick and heavy. The walls must have been well insulated and thick because we heard nothing from anyone or anything at all during our three-day stay.

The beds were comfortable and gave a good night sleep. The room temperature was controlled by a thermostat.

There was free coffee and tea. A refrigerator. No microwave, you would have to use the one down at the bar. Drawers for your clothes was next to the refrigerator and was below the counter space where the coffee maker was. There were only three drawers. We managed, but it would be nicer if there were more drawers in the room.

The bathroom was nice and not cramped with enough space. The towels were full sized, but not the most plush I've ever experienced at a hotel. Plenty of hot water, was never an issue. Nice enough shower head and a curved curtain rod to give more room. Quality complimentary shampoos, conditioners, soaps, lotions, etc.

The room had two windows, which made for nice daytime light and a good view.

Very comfortable and enjoyable room.

Price: 5 stars
The price was a steal. Especially since this is the busy season for Arizona. Could not believe the price I got on this through their website. Other online pricing all had the same price as they. The rate was the same for this 3 star category hotel as it was for a 2 star hotel.

We loved our stay!

Room Tip: As for a corner room if possible. The rooms are very quiet and even the closest rooms to the elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bradtwotrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbersch, General Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear bradtwotrees,

What a wonderful review!!! Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know about our little gem of a hotel. I so much appreciate!!! Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I really liked this hotel, there's just one thing that bugged me a little. The floor was not well vacuumed in corners or under the bed. I found some trash under the bed.For some reason the climate control kept it warmer at night and cooler during the day although it was always set at the same temperature.

However not your standard continental breakfast. Hot breakfast items always include breakfast sandwich or egg on a biscuit or English muffin. Good cereal variety as well. This place also has a regular menu and bar that offers Starbucks brands as well as alcoholic beverages.

Allows pets for a one-time $75 fee. Lots of room, and every room has a couch with pull out bed. Good location not too farm from airport, downtown, botanical gardens. 30 min drive from University of phoenix stadium. Located on edge of a complex that has a good sized movie theater, sports bar, Walmart, Toby Keith's bar, and several fast food places. Grocery stores, gas, and Krispy Kreme are <5 min drive as well.

Room Tip: You should know that every room door has a 2 inch gap at the bottom so you can clearly see if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_riddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbersch, General Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear d_riddy,

Thank you so much for reviewing our property! I appreciate the very kind words you had about our hotel. I have also shared your comments with our Team Leader in housekeeping so that we can do a better job!
Come back and see us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

We had been staying at Homewood Suites but couldn't stand the stale cigarette smell. Found this thru Trip Advisor and loved it. Only negative was the hot water for tea was barely warm at breakfast. Nice variety at breakfast, room was clean and spacious.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbersch, General Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Gina J,

Thank you for your review. I do know sometimes that we can do a better job of refreshing the hot water and we will work on that going forward. We hope to see you again in Mesa soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Mesa doesn't seem to have a lot of upscale hotels and while I wouldn't classifying this as truly upscale it is newer and a solid 4 stars. The rooms are spacious and clean and very quiet. We had a four floor (top) room and never heard a peek from anyone and the hotel was quite booked up. The pool is a good size and was never busy. The breakfast had a good selection of foods - from breakfast sandwiches, toast, granola, fruit, donuts, pastries and always had a place to sit. The staff were friendly and efficient. Nothing bad to sad about this place! Close to many stores and could walk to them if you chose.

Room Tip: Top floor. Possibly looking over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allaboutthesun246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbersch, General Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank You for taking time to review our hotel. We very much appreciate the kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is very well maintained. They have a miniature practice putting green and a re-designed outdoor pool area. The pool area has music, misters, and LED lights. The restaurant and bar staff were very fun to be around. The rooms are huge with flat screen TV's that have all of the inputs for your laptop or other devices via VGA, HDMI, DVI, etc. to display on the TV.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReDxSiLLy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbersch, General Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recent renovation to our pool area! We hope to see you back in Mesa again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We throughly enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt Phoenix/Mesa. The hotel is very clean, room and room amenities were very nice. Breakfast very good and staff on top of cleaning and replenishing
juice, coffee etc. Would have liked shuttle service to airport. Internet log in process annoying.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jrbersch, General Manager at Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Candace,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on our hotel. We appreciate the kind remarks. We look forward to serving you the next time you find yourself in Mesa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
13.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Mesa Hotel at Wrigleyville West
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mesa Near Downtown
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
3.4 mi away
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa

Property: Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
Address: 1422 W Bass Pro Dr, Mesa, AZ 85201-3806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mesa
#1 Business Hotel in Mesa
#3 Green Hotel in Mesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy our resort-style pool featuring 14 person hot tub, Shade and Mist Canopies with State of the Art Audio Visual System and 80" HDTV or our nine-hole executive putting green. You'll also have access to the fitness & business center along with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Phoenix/Mesa hotel is just 8 miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. It is minutes from Tempe, Scottsdale, Phoenix and Gilbert, and has convenient access to local attractions/venues including Golfland/Sunsplash, Phoenix Zoo, Arizona State University Mesa Arts Center, and Casino Arizona. Located in the Mesa Riverview Shopping Center, the Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa hotel is adjacent to a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment options, including Bass Pro Shops, and the Cinemark movie theater. The hotel is also two miles from Tempe Marketplace. You’ll never have to settle for anything less than a freshly made meal, an ice-cold beverage, a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks® espresso roast, or a delightful bite of your favorite dessert. Experience the convenience of our a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ that is free with your stay. The onsite Cafe is available 24/7 to order food & beverages. You may also enjoy beer, wine and cocktails at the hotel bar. The Hyatt Place is within walking distance to the Chicago Cubs Spring Training Stadium & just a few miles to the Oakland A's Hohokam Stadium. Complimentary transportation service is available within a five mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa Hotel Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing