We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good Value; Gallery Menu Rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
Ranked #2 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Value; Gallery Menu Rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Hyatt Place is a new (to me) price point in the Hyatt line of hotels. The price point is right around what one would expect for a hotel that is geared towards the business traveler. The rooms are terrific -- spacious with comfy beds and a big L-shaped sofa that just invites relaxation. The only quibbles I have are that the closet is a bit on the small side and the bathroom sink is open to the room. The sitting area and bedroom are nicely separated and the TV swivels back and forth between the two.

The staff are very friendly and hardworking -- service with a s mile seems to be the order of the day. The restaurant food is yummy and there are also options for to go meals to take up to your room.

Bottom Line: Clean, spacious rooms. Good dining options. Great price point.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool -- which is the side away from the road and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    111
    24
    11
    6
See reviews for
152
107
28
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Haven, MI
Level Contributor
163 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Hyatt Place has spacious rooms with a wonderful L shaped sofa for relaxing. The breakfast selections are excellent with choices of egg sandwiches, oatmeal, fruit, pastries, juices, etc. You can also have the staff make you a Starbuck's latte (fee). The breakfast is included. The pool area is very well kept and although planes are landing at the airport it is not real noisy. The fitness room is basic but has high end equipment. The staff was pleasant and friendly.
The area includes many restaurants, a Walmart and a Bass Pro Shop along with other small stores.
The location was great for us to get to hiking outside of Phoenix as well as within the city.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was on the east and had a view of the air conditioning units as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runandbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Finding this hotel was a little interesting, but once I found it, our stay was terrific. The thing I liked the most was the fact that there was a sport team that had scheduled rooms there and they were very good at isolating them and keeping the kids as quiet as can be expected. The other people staying there were given rooms far from the team and the rooms were very clean and very quiet. Thank you management!!! I was in town to study for a serious exam and it was a great place to do so -- though my jaw dropped when I saw a school bus in the parking lot!

I thought, "oh crud, I'm not going to pass this test because I won't have peace and quiet and I won't get any sleep." The opposite was true.

As to the rooms, they were on the superior side, though a little smallish. The breakfast in the morning was only so-so. Nothing to write home about, but adequate for a start of the day.

There was a lounge that was staffed into the late night -- it was pretty empty, but it was nice to see that it was an option. Parking was safe and ample. I really did like the location as there are plenty of places to eat around the area and it is a reasonable drive straight to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the North side on top floor for absolute quiet and isolation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nvlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This location is one of the newer Hyatt Place hotels and was not a renovation of an Amerisuites that Hyatt bought out.
It is immaculately clean and the staff are very friendly with a can do attitude.
I am particular about my rooms due to being claustrophobic and they worked with me on making me comfortable with the right room.
The rooms are technology friendly with a huge < for a hotel room > 42in High Def TV which can be seen very well from both the bed and the comfy sectional sofa. There is a panel to the side which has every connection that you need to charge and connect. Wireless internet is FREE and the speed was great. Some Hyatt Place hotels are being updated to include walk in showers in the bathroom my room had a bathtub here with shower. I assume as this was built in 2009 that was before the move to renovate the older hotels in the chain. However that was not an issue. The comfort of the Hyatt bed was as always great. The room also has a small fridge to stock up on those needed refreshments for your stay ;)
Your rate also includes a complimentary extended Continental Breakfast - extended as they also offer some hot items which are unique to the brand. They also have the normal goodies but it just seems to be at a higher level - than lets dare I say - Springhill Suites - uh hmm - They have varied juices - varied milks - varied coffees and a huge selection of teas. Oatmeal and cereals - fruit - various pastries and toasting items. They now have a few hot selections which appear to vary each morning. This can save you up to $20 vs eating out for 2 people so is a great value in my opinion. If you are on business that leaves more in your per diem for later in the day ;) This area changes to what amounts to a Cafe during the remainder of the day. This menu has also changed over the last few years and includes a lot of very good items to choose from vs eating elsewhere if you so wish. < the club sandwich is particularly good >.
There is a well kept pool and putting green and also a small workout room - none of which I was able to partake in - but I am returning this weekend for a 4 day work trip that I plan on using the pool Sunday !
The location of the hotel is in a quiet corner of a huge shopping center with a great movie theatre - Bass Pro Shops - and shops and restaurants too many to list so you won't get bored. It is also located off the 202 Eastbound from the Airport about 15mins and its easy to get to Mesa, Tempe, Scottsdale and Downtown Phoenix from this hotel. You will need a car.
I work in the travel industry and I have stayed in many places for both work and pleasure - this is one of my favorites when traveling - Hyatt Place as a whole - and this will be my 2nd stay in Mesa property. It is worth saying that there are closer hotels to my place of business but I choose to make the drive and stay where I know I will be most welcomed and comfortable.
The value for money and service is key within this chain. Whatever management and sales <Elena> are doing with the frontline team at this particular location is working great. Thank You! :-)

Room Tip: Pool View rooms appear to be nice as that is what I had and have requested again for my upcoming tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pitouareg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel seems very new and is very clean. The room was comfortable with a sofa sectional that made it seem classy and homey. It also included a refrigerator. The staff that I interacted with were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was especially good for a free continental meal. It included hot oatmeal, breakfast sandwiches, waffles and fresh fruit.
It is located next to a mall with a large movie theater, a bass pro shop and a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Three-men-and-a-babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This gorgeous new hotel is a real winner! It's located 10 minutes from Sky Harbor in a beautiful, new shopping center with a multi-plex movie theater, great stores, restaurants, sports bars. The property is superb, and you notice it the moment you walk in the front door. The rooms are great, there's a very nice breakfast, and the staff is extremely accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splitvote46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here while attending an event in Tempe. It was an easy drive over. Plenty of restaurants in area and some shopping. The staff was friendly, the breakfast selection excellent, and the room was very comfortable. Would use again.

Room Tip: Corner room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AikiJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
13.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Phoenix Mesa
3.4 mi away
Hilton Phoenix/ Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Days Hotel Mesa Near Phoenix
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
3.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Mesa West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa

Property: Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
Address: 1422 W Bass Pro Dr, Mesa, AZ 85201-3806
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mesa
#1 Business Hotel in Mesa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mesa
#3 Green Hotel in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax and enjoy our resort-style pool featuring 14 person hot tub, Shade and Mist Canopies with State of the Art Audio Visual System and 80" HDTV or our nine-hole executive putting green. You'll also have access to the fitness & business center along with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The Phoenix/Mesa hotel is just 8 miles from the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. It is minutes from Tempe, Scottsdale, Phoenix and Gilbert, and has convenient access to local attractions/venues including Golfland/Sunsplash, Phoenix Zoo, Arizona State University Mesa Arts Center, and Casino Arizona. Located in the Mesa Riverview Shopping Center, the Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa hotel is adjacent to a variety of shopping, dining and entertainment options, including Bass Pro Shops, and the Cinemark movie theater. The hotel is also two miles from Tempe Marketplace. You’ll never have to settle for anything less than a freshly made meal, an ice-cold beverage, a selection of specialty beverages made with Starbucks® espresso roast, or a delightful bite of your favorite dessert. Experience the convenience of our a.m. Kitchen Skillet™ that is free with your stay. The onsite Cafe is available 24/7 to order food & beverages. You may also enjoy beer, wine and cocktails at the hotel bar. The Hyatt Place is within walking distance to the Chicago Cubs Spring Training Stadium & just a few miles to the Oakland A's Hohokam Stadium. Complimentary transportation service is available within a five mile radius of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa Hotel Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing