We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice play to stay but prepare to drive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice play to stay but prepare to drive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Westgate resorts are OK if you get a deal. My parents are owners so I stay for free. I would not pay to stay here. The room is a good size if yup get a two bedroom (which is a one bedroom with a living room and full kitchen/washer and dryer) and a studio. I would not stay in a studio by myself or with one guest. It is too small and not comfortable.

When we arrived, our room was not ready and we waited 3 hours. When we got there, the kitchen table and end tables had drink rings on them so I don't know how clean it room was. Housekeeping did come three days later but we did not see them again.

People at the resort are nice, but there are no amenities. Game nights are ok but not organized. We played bingo and it was unorganized. It was fun, but could have been planned better. And we were offered expired soda.

When I called to see what movie was playing on movie night, no one knew. I was told "probably this or that" with no effort to even find out.

If you like golf, you would like this resort. We played 9 holes one day and got a free steak dinner. (It wasn't good steak) Everything is a bit of a drive away from Mesa if you want to sight see. We drove over 500 miles in less than a week and we didn't go too far or see a lot of sights! So this is more of a do-nothing expect-nothing place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Skap234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your thoughts about your visit. Our studios, at 300 sq. feet, offer a king bed, a kitchenette and a balcony or patio. Our 1 bedroom, at 750 sq. feet, has a fully equipped kitchen, whirlpool tub, washer/dryer, living room area and a balcony or patio. We have different sizes to accommodate everyone's needs. Our housekeeping team does their very best to clean the units from top to bottom. Our apologies if they missed a couple of items. There is a mid-week cleaning so as not to disturb your vacation. Regarding amenities, we do offer an outdoor pool, 2 hot tubs, BBQ facilities, steamroom, playground, horseshoes, basketball court, volleyball court, shuffleboard and a fitness center. A small drive away will find Silverstar Playhouse, Broadway Palm Dinner Theater, Sunsplash, National Comedy Theater, Usery Mountain Park, Mesa Arts Center, Commemorative Air Force Museum, Arizona Cactus League and a lot more. Again, our regrets that you were unable to enjoy the amenities and the local area. We hope to have another chance to show you why so many others enjoy their time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    100
    72
    38
    27
See reviews for
133
127
20
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Dawn, front office manager and Jan, Supervisor, thanks for your time and information.
Our stay was wonderful. Spacious and comfortable was the room.
Check in was very pleasant and helpful. Everyone else was very friendly.
Highly recommend

Room Tip: Corner suite was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback on Westgate Painted Mountain Resort. This always helps us to improve the customer service experience. We are thrilled to hear that Dawn and Jan were able to assist you during your vacation. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a wonderful stay.

Ariel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Its a nice area and the weather was great.I went to my nieces wedding and had a great time. When my girlfriend told me her necklace was missing that made the whole trip less enjoyable.These hotels should offer some kind of dishonest employee insurance and hire people that speak english.

Room Tip: get trip insurance for stollen items.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. Congratulations on your niece's wedding! We are sorry to read that your friend's necklace went missing. We do provide safes in all of our units to safeguard your items and to ensure that they are not misplaced. We also have a security team that would be glad to assist you in contacting the police if you feel that it was taken. We also have a lost and found that you can check. We hope to have another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Only stay here one night in a studio on the first floor. If I was about to stay here again, I will book a one bedroom, studio was ok for one night but not impress by it. Did not see much of the resort. But room was clean. Checking in was quick. staff was friendly. Before you enter a room, there is a little sitting area like a lanai with chairs. The grounds are well kept.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sushinestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for your thorough feedback about your stay at Westgate Painted Mountain. We appreciated having you here. Thank you for enjoying the cleanliness of your studio, our friendly staff and our beautiful grounds. Please feel free to come visit us again if you are ever back in town so you can experience our onsite amenities such as the steam room, heated pool and exercise facility.

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

the stuff was rude, my room hadn't Been cleaned at all. The bath reaked of bleach, the room was terrible and most of all the staff stole some of my belongings and they are also nosy cop calling pigs. WORST hotel to ever think of staying. Don't stay here. Shut the place down.

Room Tip: all the rooms are terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tgang d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your opinion. We're not sure what you mean by "rude". All of our rooms are cleaned thoroughly by our housekeeping team, and we are quick to respond to any requests. Our apologies if the bath smelled of bleach-it's important that it be cleaned well. We're not sure what you mean by "terrible". We take any accusations of stealing very seriously, and that is why the police are summoned if a guest is serious about reporting a theft. We have many guests and owners who enjoy their time in spacious units, most with fully equipped kitchens and living rooms, giving you the comforts of home. Besides being located next to a professional golf course, we also offer a large pool, hot tubs, steamroom, sport courts, a fitness center and more! Our guests and owners are our priority, and we hope that next time you're able to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The condos are very lovely. Liked having a separate Jacuzzi for adults. Like most Westgate properties, it was large with good in-room amenities: huge bathroom and a working spa tub, king bed, large living room and well supplied kitchen. Mostly a golf area, but within a mile of the freeway and easy to get to all central south and east parts of the Phoenix area. The new loop also got us to Sedona and Tucson within 2 hours.

Room Tip: Recommend upstairs since it seems quieter. Do be prepared for the lights outside to be bright at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinPsyched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
We are honored you chose to stay with us here at Westgate Painted Mountain Resort! We are happy to hear you had a great time! We pride ourselves in many things, from superior customer service, to our beautiful grounds. We also work hard to provide a diverse assortment of amenities that all of our guests can enjoy. It’s great you took part, we love it! Please come back and visit us again soon!

Josie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went down to visit our son in Mesa and stayed at the Painted Mountain Country Club for 5 day's. This was a great place to stay. The room was great. There was a comfortable patio area looking out over the golf course. Very relaxing. We spent a lot of time by the pool which was very nice. It's close to food and shopping. Staff was vey friendly and helpful. Over all and excellent experience. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agent_330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for calling us a great place to stay! It is a pleasure to be able to accommodate you and your family at Westgate Painted Mountain. We are delighted that we were able to provide a relaxing vacation. We hope the next time you’re in town to visit your son that you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesa
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
10.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
9.0 mi away
We-Ko-Pa Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort

Property: Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort
Address: 6302 E McKellips Rd, Mesa, AZ 85215-2821
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful, Desert Landscaped Resort A remarkable vacation destination, Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort in Mesa, Arizona, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions, restaurants and a championship golf course. With a variety of onsite amenities, Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Painted Mountain Country Club Hotel Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing