We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tale of competing interests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tale of competing interests”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I stayed at the Painted Mountain Resort from Jan 28 to March 1, 2013, so I think I have a pretty good perspective on what worked here and what didn't. I made my booking through the corporate sales office of Westgate Resorts which is located in Florida, I booked a 1 bedroom suite for a month. Upon arrival I was assigned a room but was told that I* would be required to move to a smaller studio room after 2 days as they were overbooked. I reluctantly agreed on the understanding that I would be moved after 2 days to a 1 bedroom suite in the back of the property. When the time came to move again I went to the front desk and was told that the room that I had been promised had been given to another guest and that I would have to take a 1 bedroom room in the front part of the hotel, complete with road noise and gawkers looking into my suite as they walked by. I was so ticked off I called the corporate offices of Westgate and told them that my treatment at Painted Mountain was completely unacceptable and that if I wasn't moved to a quieter suite I would find other accommodation and check out. After many apologies and offers to make things right, they finally did get around to moving me to a quieter room at the back of the complex. To make a long story short, I moved 4 times in 8 days, really not a good situation. I would say that the management of the hotel is somewhat lacking and the only excuses for such an situation was that they were overbooked. Hardly the problem of the paying guest and completely the fault of the management of the property.
The rooms themselves were clean, and adequately stocked with cooking utensils, dishes, cups, glasses and cutlery, enough for 4 people. The room also had a washer dryer which was a great thing for a long term guest, the TV was ok but limited channels made it somewhat boring. The pool area was small and could sometimes be crowded but generally was ok, towels were provided at the pool area and there were tables, chairs and lounges all around the pool deck. You are close to grocery stores and shopping and the golf course is a short walk along the path to the pro shop and clubhouse. This is a timeshare so be prepared to deal with timeshare sales people who want you to buy in to Westgate Resorts.....it wasn't for me. Would I stay here again , probably now that I know what I am dealing with, generally after the hassel of the first week was over the rest of my stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMartin1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize for the inconvience of the first part of your stay and are glad you found the rest of your stay enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    117
    79
    44
    32
See reviews for
148
156
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a great three star property. I stayed here for a one night staycation. Initially I wanted to return to the Legacy Golf Resort, but this was about half the rate for the night and I figured why not try something new. It looks like they've upgraded some of the furniture and threw some paint on the walks (based on other reviews I've read). But they're far from done. Box tv's, a stereo with a tape deck, old carpet, and dining room chairs and bars tools that shouldn't even be legal. It was very clean, bed was comfy, and I had a wonderful view of the golf course. David Siegel once said that Westgate Resorts is the Rolls Royce of the timeshare industry. I'm not so sure how much I'd agree on that statement, but I enjoyed my stay and would come back again. The $9.99 wifi didn't bother me, but the slowness certainly did. And the 10am checkout time was not popular with my party and me.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclark702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are still in progress with the updates and changes. Hope you will take the time to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Leon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our first visit to AZ for a family event. Got a great deal on a two bedroom villa and couldn't have been happier. Villa was clean and spacious and grounds were well-kept. Finding our villa at night (upon arrival only) was a little difficult, however, we highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: We were in a two bedroom villa on the second floor and it was completely private. First floor vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are very glad you enjoyed your experience with us. I hope the family event had a good turn out. Hope you will come back and visit us again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed a Westgate Painted Mountain resort in November 2012 for a week. I had a studio that was comfortable but I thought there should have been a dvd player for an alternative to limited tv programming. Staff was helpful but one of them should brush up on giving directions. Didn't use the pool but did the hot tub once. My favorite part was the restaurant next door with a great happy hour and deck overlooking the golf course and a view to painted mountain. The bartenders and staff were excellent, friendly and some great options for food. I would stay there again just for the happy hour with friendly people.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank busterkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northiam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just stayed at the above resort from 15.12.12 to 29.12.12., the two bedroomed, two bathroom apartment was very spacious and the grounds were very well kept. Not far from the resort (top of power Road) was a Golden Corral and once we discovered this we were able to dine out very cheaply and well. The staff at the resort were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The only down side was the noise from the traffic on Mckellips Road. Would highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room at the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie1118035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a great review. It is our goal to provide an exceptional vacation experience for each of our guests. I will pass on to the staff your comments. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night in a one bedroom villa that was an excellent value for Westgate owners. The ground floor villa was clean and appropriate for our stay. We have stayed often in the 2-bedroom villas; sometimes twice a year. Our experiences have all been A to A+. The location on McKellips is great, close to grocery stores, pharmacies, gas stations, restaurants and shopping malls along McKellips Road or a block or two off McKellips. It is also close to the 202 expressway that takes you to the airport in less than half an hour. You need a car when staying here.

The grounds, golf course, and pool areas have always been immaculate. If you’re lucky enough to get a villa on the golf course, you’ll get a glimpse of the area’s wildlife in the mornings and evenings. We love it and with the exception on one time, our visits have always been wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing golf course are very nice, quiet and secluded from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveler74508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad we were able to provide a quality vacation experience for you and your husband. We look forward to seeing you next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife & I were there in mid-Dec. Recommended by my daughter who lives in Mesa. Have paid more for Holiday Inn,La Quinta, etc. & not nearly as nice ! Great grounds, unbelievably green grass & well-maintained grounds! And QUIET !! Wish we could have stayed more than the 2 nites !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you giving us a great review. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
8.7 mi away
Mesa Mezona Hotel
Mesa Mezona Hotel
#18 of 57 in Mesa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
10.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort

Property: Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort
Address: 6302 E.McKellips Road, Mesa, AZ 85215
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful, Desert Landscaped Resort A remarkable vacation destination, Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort in Mesa, Arizona, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions, restaurants and a championship golf course. With a variety of onsite amenities, Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Painted Mountain Country Club Hotel Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing