We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Pleasant Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was a little skeptical when we booked our timeshare here because of some of the reviews. It was booked less than a month before and all that was available was a hotel unit/studio. The check-in process was great! We were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary and our daughter and son-in-law surprised us and booked a stay for a few nights there too. We were able to get rooms close to each other and I had requested a golf course view, which we got. But, my daughter's room was facing the front of the resort and said that the walls were very thin and could hear the children running and playing very early the next morning. As far as I know, they didn't complain to the front desk as they were only going to be there a couple nights. We leave the a/c fan running to circulate the air and create white noise - therefore didn't hear our neighbors. The resort wasn't crowded, so many rooms were vacant. Also the golf course was closed due to over-seeding at this time of year. (End of September) The rooms were very clean, although a little dated. Since it was considered a hotel unit, there wasn't a sofa but there was a small table and two chairs in the small kitchen area. Only a coffee pot, microwave and small fridge but adequate for our needs. There was a nice patio table and four chairs right outside our room overlooking the golf course with a nice ceiling fan to keep us cool while sipping cocktails :) Pool and whirlpool was very nice. Lots of lounge chairs and tables with umbrellas. Basketball hoop and volleyball net in pool was enjoyed by a lot of guests. Lots of large and well maintained grills around the property. A small mall with grocery store and cafe was within walking distance. Restaurant by clubhouse was beautiful and we enjoyed the food and entertainment. We enjoyed eating lunch on the deck facing the golf course with the misters keeping us cool. There are lots of activities for kids and grownups too! We are looking forward to visiting again soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the upper floor facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvTOTrvl2_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of Westgate Painted Mountain Country Club. We love that you had a "Pleasant Surprise." We appreciate your kind words about our decor and grounds. Our staff works very hard to keep our resort well-maintained. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    104
    74
    40
    29
See reviews for
139
137
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were meeting my parents in Phoenix to celebrate my birthday and as we had stayed at this resort when it first opened (10-11 years ago) and loved it we decided to stay again.

My boyfriend booked online via Westgate website about 6 months prior to flying out, everything seemed fine, confirmation was emailed etc. When we arrived at the resort my boyfriend was told that the booking had been cancelled, which we had received no notification of, we were told the payment was never taken which is why it was cancelled, due to no computer access at the hotel we couldn't check this. We received no apology from the woman on reception. Luckily I had a credit card with us so that we could book another room, otherwise we would have been stranded 5000 miles from home with no where to sleep for 3 nights.

We were given a room at the front of the hotel which was very loud from the road, as we are both somewhat light sleepers, it just wasn't acceptable, I went back to front desk and requested another room away from the road. The lady gave us a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the golf course, unfortunately this room had either not been used in a VERY long time or simply not cleaned. There were small black bugs in the bath, a dead cockroach on the bathroom floor and the blinds were clogged up with spider webs. At this point I had simply lost patience with the 'resort' and we went looking for another hotel nearby, of which we could not find one. We went back to reception and the lady who was there before wasn't there, instead a young guy called Matthew saw us and told us that 'now she isn't here I'll give you the room I wanted to give you', he was extremely apologetic and couldn't have been nicer.

The room we finally got was acceptable. It is obvious that the rooms have not been updated since the place opened and it is greatly needed. The studios are very small and cramped.

The service and rooms ruined what should have been a great birthday. I will never stay in this hotel again.

On a good point: thank you Matthew.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestgateGuestRels, Guest Relations Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We apologize you were not satisfied with your accommodations or our service during your stay with us. We have received your comments and have reviewed them with the staff as a learning tool to provide better service in the future. We appreciate you taking the time to respond to us regarding your stay and we will follow up with Matt on a job well done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, ON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

this resort was very nice located close to where we wanted to play golf staff was very friendly and helpful the pool and other equipment was in very good shape had a good number of BBQ to use around the resort it was also very peace no noise to worry about

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyandmason5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpaintedmountain, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Westgate Painted Mountain and took the time to write us a review. The area has a lot of great golf courses close. Glad you took some time to enjoy our amenities. Hope you come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Rented the 2 bed room which is really an apartment with a 1 bedroom attached. There is certainly plenty of room and the washer/dryer are great to keep the travelling baggage down. Although sold to me as 5* I would only rate this as 3. It is tired with plating worn off taps, cracks in bathtub and floor tiles and cracked paint. The apartment was clean though. Where they have re-painted there are splashes on the floor. They also still have the monster old TV's (not LCD) although there were 3 of them. Saying that if you can get this for a good price off season do it as you wil struggle to find accocomation as spacious as this. I would stay here again but only if it was cheap.

Room Tip: choose one away from the road as it can get a bit noisy at rush hour (which seems to be for most of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank strasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpaintedmountain, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We apologize if we did not exceed your expectations. We are updating and remodeling rooms and hope to complete the updates by the end of the year. Thanks again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our second stay at Westgate within the last year. The rooms and grounds are beautiful. Lots of fun at the Kareokee Bar: Here's the one problem - The A/C units outside most units are the noisiest I've ever heard! If you should wake up in the middle of the night, the vibrating A/C units turning on and off, drive you nuts! This occurred both times, at different units..
I did note it on my survey to them (and I'm not a "complainer" - other guests also mentioned it).
I would stay there again and hope they serviced their a/c units - it seems like an easy fix - If they can quiet them down - I'd rate the place as a 10.

Room Tip: See remarks about a/c noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpaintedmountain, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your second stay with us. We do apologize for the noise coming from the A/C units. We will share your comments with our maintenance team. Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moraine, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Not the fanciest resort, but a very good value for the price. We started out in a studio, which was pretty small; not much more than a hotel room, just a bed, TV, bathroon and small kitchenette (sink, fridge and microwave). Switched to a one bedroom midweek for only $40/day more; much more spacious and comfortable, with lots of extra amenities (spacious living room area, full kitchen, dining table, washer/dryer). For that small of a price difference, I would definitely recommend upgrading to the one bedroom.
The staff was exceptionally friendly, and generally very helpful. The facilities were generally good. Especially enjoyed the pool area, which was very well maintained. In a nice location; easy access to highways, lots of shopping, restaurants, entertainment nearby. Also not far from the airport. The restaurant and golf course next door are also nice.

Room Tip: As stated above, pay the extra for the one bedroom vs the studio. Difference in price is small; dif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Big Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpaintedmountain, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our one bedroom villa. Our villas are spacious, fully furnished and well equipped. We appreciate your kind words in describing our staff as “exceptionally friendly and generally very helpful.” Guest satisfaction is our highest priority so we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wow, we were really surprised. We stayed in a 2 bedroom and found it very spacious. Loved the big tub/spa. The unit was clean and everything worked. The grounds were also well kept. I do agree with a previous review that black-out curtains would work better. We ended up using the blanket to cover the windows. We didn't do much else except go to the pool and stay indoors during the heat of the day. Would definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: From reading previous reviews, we choose a room upstairs and away from the street. My kids were lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank darylavril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpaintedmountain, General Manager at Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for your review of Westgate Painted Mountain Country Club. We are so glad that you were “pleasantly surprised” with your stay as we work hard to exceed our guest’s expectations. Our two bedroom units are spacious, fully furnished and well-equipped to provide our guests all the comforts of home. Our goal as always is to provide you with a quality vacation experience that exceeds all expectations. We are glad that you would visit us again as we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesa hotels
9.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Phoenix/Mesa
10.0 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton at Phoenix Mesa Gateway Airport
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Mesa Superstition Springs
7.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Mesa
8.0 mi away
Phoenix Marriott Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort

Property: Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort
Address: 6302 E McKellips Rd, Mesa, AZ 85215-2821
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Mesa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 57 Hotels in Mesa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Beautiful, Desert Landscaped Resort A remarkable vacation destination, Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort in Mesa, Arizona, provides guests all the comforts of a fully furnished home, all within minutes of area attractions, restaurants and a championship golf course. With a variety of onsite amenities, Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort offers something for everyone! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity and Vacatia so you can book your Westgate Painted Mountain Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westgate Painted Mountain Country Club Hotel Mesa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing