We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goat track”

Superstition Springs Golf Club
Ranked #12 of 27 Outdoor Activities in Mesa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This course is highly regarded and used for many top state events.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Goat track”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A group of 12 of us played this course on March 13, 2014. We headed over to the driving range to warm up and I was shocked at the condition of the range and practice green. There was very little grass to be seen on either. Unfortunately, this was the condition of the entire course. A good portion of the fairways and rough were brown. The greens were in slightly better shape. A lot of the trees were dead, dying, or required significant care. There was garbage all over the course and some of the shorelines had dead birds.

The pace of play was very slow. It was not uncommon to have two or three groups piled up on one tee box. The marshal was very rude and uninformed. He lectured our group on playing "ready golf" (which we already do) and picking up our pace. When I explained to him that we had been waiting on the tee for the last 3 holes, he told me that there was a hole open in front of us. We finished that hole and moved to the next hole where there was a group on the green, and one still on the tee box. To his credit, he did apologize a couple holes later where we had three groups waiting on the tee.

The course layout has a lot of potential. It could be a really great course. But I would strongly advise against playing it until it is maintained properly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Candicemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    16
    12
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK golf , but expected more”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Joined with friend and family for our first golf in Arizona. Was told that this was a good course - and at a mid week price discounted to $75 , i was looking forward to an better than average experience. We played two courses later in week , paid less and got more , and in one case ( Sedona Golf Resort ) much more. Club house was fine and staff were friendly in their welcome. The practice area showed lack of attention, we were hitting off more dirt than grass surface. The course layout was very good , but again the turf conditions and general maintenance were not up the standards we would expect. Despite late morning start, most bunkers had not been tended to , still laying tight and tough in many cases, a few had been dealt with by that time . General turf conditions were merely acceptable , playing later in the week at a lower priced course in the same general area ( Viewpoint) we experienced much better course conditions. As a positive , greens were not easy but still fair, i don't mind a challenge , but do expect price to reflect conditions.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontfarmer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Tough course but recommend”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We played this course for the first time and we felt that it was a course that you needed to play once before you understood it. My brother-in-law and I elected to play from the middle tips but do not let 5921 yards fool you. It was very tough and the short par 4's beat us up because we did not manage our shots. The greens were tight and you had to be exact or else you found water,sand or else these dreaded valleys which were as bad as sand. The last 4 or 5 holes were challenging and again course management would have saved us strokes. Lots of water which we both managed to find. The washrooms were clean but cannot comment on the staff because we had no interaction with them. My major complaint was the pace of play - 5 hours is too much. In spite of our spotty play at times, we continually had to wait for the group in front of us. The ranger was non existent and after five hours in the Arizona sun, I was done. I would play this course again but with all of the choice in Phoenix, I would not rush back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stefanop54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's about time”
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Finally, management has been changed around and things are getting done, its always been a challenging course but poorly run, now it is just challenging

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank poppa_dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For the desert, there is a lot of water”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a course that you have to play at least twice. The first time to understand how it is laid out, the second to see if you can really play it. Despite the GPS in the cart, distances to ponds and streams are tough to locate and since the ball rolls a lot, you should be careful that you do not over hit the ball. Overall, a good layout but since it meanders in around highway 60,
It is not necessarily a quiet experience. We were disappointed that there was a lot of garbage and jetsam in the water areas and our cart needed maintenance. Pro shop & course personnel were friendly but seemed like it was getting close to the end of the season. Our round was super slow as the group ahead was extremely inconsiderate & no marshall ever made an appearance to speed them up. Overall, there are better tracks in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Splicebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Superstition Springs Golf Club also viewed

Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Superstition Springs Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing