We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the desert, there is a lot of water”

Superstition Springs Golf Club
Ranked #13 of 28 Outdoor Activities in Mesa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This course is highly regarded and used for many top state events.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For the desert, there is a lot of water”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a course that you have to play at least twice. The first time to understand how it is laid out, the second to see if you can really play it. Despite the GPS in the cart, distances to ponds and streams are tough to locate and since the ball rolls a lot, you should be careful that you do not over hit the ball. Overall, a good layout but since it meanders in around highway 60,
It is not necessarily a quiet experience. We were disappointed that there was a lot of garbage and jetsam in the water areas and our cart needed maintenance. Pro shop & course personnel were friendly but seemed like it was getting close to the end of the season. Our round was super slow as the group ahead was extremely inconsiderate & no marshall ever made an appearance to speed them up. Overall, there are better tracks in the area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Splicebar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    16
    12
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Take a Mully and Pass this one”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The golf course is not bad, just the management of it. On some holes there were 4 groups and then they had the pro shop contest backing up every body while they went through their schtick. The carts have GPS on them so the pro shop knows who are the slow ones are and should get a marshal out there. How many Marshals did we see..... none. The pro shop was blaming it on the kitchen as quite a few had stopped for a bite to eat. Their GPS did not allow to order food nor did the starter mention it. It was not the kitchens fault as they were getting food out quite quickly. 6 hrs in 95 degree weather.... We will not be back nor will we golf any course associated with Fore Golf as I assume that they are all managed the same.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Priddis15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Poor Value”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had not played the course but a friend with me said the course had some quirky holes. I found it quirky alright and no fun to pay. The course is not well looked after and the greens are very small. Many of them are raised. I will not return to this course. They over charge for the green fee and sell coffee for $3.00 at the snack shack.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dderouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“golf and food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It's my husband rating the golf. I've only played there once several years ago, and have barely played at all since. He plays twice weekly at various area courses and finds Superstition Springs to be one of the best and often a good bargain in the summer months.

I'm speaking to the dining. The wait staff is particularly nice, and the surroundings (if the weather allows outside dining, and it usually does) on a covered terrace bordered with lush plantings overlooking a pond with mountains beyond and a green next to a small pavilion suitable for weddings is spectacular. The inside is nice, but standard.

Chiefly, they serve breakfast and lunch and a nice Sunday brunch for about $10. But what I particularly enjoyed was a special on Thursday evenings of a prime rib dinner for as little as $10, although it increased to about $14 last year. It included very little, just a very nice portion of prime rib, a baked or mashed potato, and a side vegetable of the day. For a little more, one could add salad, dessert and bread. In either case, the price was good as it was all prepared so well that every bite was a pleasure. They ended the Thursday evening feature for the summer (slow) season and may or may not have reinstated it. I haven't checked in the last couple of months. If they haven't, I'm hoping this will be read and they will reinstate it by popular demand.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ciervoaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wi
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“course is an absolute mess”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Where do i begin? Just played this course on superbowl Sunday morning.
To start things off on the wrong foot, we were charged a usage fee of 3$ per person, to, get this, Use their GPS on the carts. Then we needed to pay 6$ to warm up on the driving range prior to our round. This was very insulting, as a "Nice place" would not charge you extra for any of these amenities.
Our Tee time was 9:30 and the started was so backed up that we didnt actually Tee off until 10:10. They overbooked and stacked you up . So the pace was at a snails pace. "Nice courses" would never let this happen.
The course itself was the most dissappointing part of the day. The fairways were so bare and hard, you couldnt make a divot if you wanted to.
The rough was literally just Brown burnt out grass, no attention to the condition to the course had been addressed in quite some time. This is February, should be in the best condition it will see all year. Cant imagine what the summer would bring.
The greens are no differant than the fairways, just rock hard and bare spots all over. The pictures on there website are of the 18th hole only, we all laughed and said "This is the only hole on there website, how misleading.
Cant forget to tell you about the golfcart ride, under the freeway that seperates the front from the back nine. You thought you were playing an inner city course, and just paid 89$, for this rip off.
All in all it was a garbage course for a lot of money, Hidden costs, lousy conditions. This is Arizona , there is so much competition, i would stay away from here at all costs. Went and played Ocatillo in Chandler the next day for 59$. The range was included.
BEWARE,,,,,BEWARE,,,,,BEWARE.....

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank certlmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Superstition Springs Golf Club also viewed

 
Mesa, Central Arizona
 

Been to Superstition Springs Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing