We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
28
62
114
53
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
62
114
53
35
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 292 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2016

The Howard Johnson hotel in Rosario is unfortunately not of the usual (high) standard you expect of this hotel chain. The hotel is in a good location in the centre of Rosario, however the place looks quite dated and is in places poorly maintained.

The lifts look ancient and the rooms shows signs of poor maintenance. Flaking paint, scuffed finishes and a shower tap handle that fell off, to name a few details. The staff was helpful but some did not speak English at all which is an unpleasant surprise in an international hotel chain when you are a traveller with limited Spanish skills.

Overall, a good location but rather poor value for money and this is the only Howard Johnson hotel I have encountered sofar that I won't be going back to.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexander V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dto de Reserva D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Howard Johnson Hotel Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Thank you very much Alexander for your time to qualify us. During this time we were working and we managed to improve the quality of our Hotel a lot thanks to your opinion and that of other guests, in order to provide them with better service. Regards! Estefanía.-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016

The hotel is old and outdated. The room was ok in size but furniture was from the 80's. The bed matres was not the best since I woke up with back pains. The staff was nice and helpful but the rooms needs renovation.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dto de Reserva D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Howard Johnson Hotel Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Thank you very much for your time to qualify us. During this time we were working and we managed to improve the quality of our Hotel a lot thanks to your opinion and that of other guests, in order to provide them with better service. Regards! Estefanía.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016

The hotel is in very good state of repair nor basic maintenance, basic and dirty, would avoid at all costs, there are so many other hotels that are in the same price range or even cheaper at times. Service could improve as well, parking a disaster, very noisy with buses and traffic, aircon noisy, bathroom dirty and old

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank julian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dto de Reserva D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Howard Johnson Hotel Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019


Thank you Julian for your time to qualify us. During this time we were working and we managed to improve the quality of our Hotel a lot thanks to your opinion and that of other guests, in order to provide them with better service. Regards! Estefanía.-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2016

Stayed here twice as my company had a corporate rate, must say that from now on, I will be booking myself somewhere else. Where shall I start? Don't let the brand fool you, this is not like some other basic HJ (and I am not comparing this hotel with some HJ resorts in Arg). Overall it is very poorly designed and clearly the architect had no idea about hotels design, the materials used are cheap and the maintenance is almost non existent. I am not expecting luxury as you get what you pay for, however, even though its over 10 years old, looks like 25 year old building.
The TV had really poor picture quality, walls are paper thin, A/C sounds like a truck, smell in room, pillows are horrible, fridge with "growth" inside, safety box issues, separate charge for parking and the food, if you can call this food, its very poor and I don't wanna even think about the cleaning standards of the kitchen.
And they are expanding the hotel next door, so be prepared for loads of noises from the building site! Internet is almost non existent. Pool area very dirty. Good luck

Room tip: go to another hotel
Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DamoBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dto de Reserva D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Howard Johnson Hotel Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Thank you for your time to qualify us. During this time we were working and we managed to improve the quality of our Hotel a lot thanks to your opinion and that of other guests, in order to provide them with better service. Regards! Estefanía.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2016

This HJ is basically a rebadged, older hotel within the downtown district of Rosario that is plastered with Howard Johnson stickers and signs all over the place. This is downtown, do not expect a shiny new hotel when you get there. When I visited it was being remodeled, I guess the building next door was also purchased and was being converted into additional parking so the afternoons were filled with the lull of jackhammers and pickaxes. The room passed the initial black light inspection (I travel a lot) but upon removal of the pillow covers, well let's just say that the pillows by themselves did not pass such inspection, you could tell they had been accesories to friskyness at a bad time of the month. The elevators do not have sliding metal doors on them, you have to open the wooden door once you reach the floor (don't worry, it has interlocks so that you don't fall into the elevator shaft by mistake, they worked. The room smelled like they were spraying it with cheap stripper perfume (so I've been told that is what cheap stripper perfume smells like) but you can air the room out pretty quickly. The bathrooms are pretty small, watch your head if you get a stomach cramp while on the throne or you'll smack it on the edge of the sink. Let the water run for a bit before using it, as it has a riverish tint to it first thing in the morning (could be the pipes) and the hot water takes a while to get there if you are the first one to take a shower in the morning (trust me, you'll know if someone takes a shower next door). I found the european style assrinser a nice addition, once you start a typical argentinian meat based diet, you'll be glad it's there. Now for the good points: there are several excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, about four blocks away there is the wide street where you can walk or run and it is safe to do so since many people are out walking their dogs and plenty of police are there. Overall I'd compare this hotel to a rundown Motel 6 on the outskirts of Cleveland, just to give you an idea.

Room tip: Get a room away from the main street, you'll get less traffic noise.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Saul693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dto de Reserva D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Howard Johnson Hotel Rosario, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Thank you very much for your time to qualify us. During this time we were working and we managed to improve the quality of our Hotel a lot thanks to your opinion and that of other guests, in order to provide them with better service. Regards! Estefanía.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews