We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jasy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jasy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
259 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Not really sure how to rate this place, I definitely do not share the almost uncritical rave about it. The grounds and setting are splendid, so is the swimming pool with its adjacent deck, the neighbourhood is quiet and almost country-like (yet just a few steps away from all the city amenities) and the staff - perfectly knowledgeable - would go out of their way to accomodate your requests. So far so good.

However once inside your cabin, the story is different. Beds and other pieces of furniture are cheapish and definitely not in line this place attempts to present itself in, matresses and linen are way past their best times, curiously enough such a large room lacks adequate storage (most of our stuff had to be laid out on unused beds or left in the suitcases for lack of any drawers), bathroom is hostel-style with a door that did not fully close due to uneven floor leaving a direct view of the toilet (and whomever using it) and the heating unit made the whole structure vibrate when turned on, besides a considerable noise. At nighttime, when the outdoor terrace is not an option anymore for the quantity of insects, a proper sitting area (not considering the plastic table and chairs) would be welcome - how about rearranging the downstairs space and replacing some beds with a (convertible) sofa? In my opinion, this place needs to define better which segment of the market it aims to attend, as now it is a blend of everything from a youth hostel to a jungle lodge and its overall performance does not correspond to anything.

Room Tip: Rooms are arranged in line copying a slope. Upper rooms have better panoramic views, lower rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    167
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
158
304
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at "Los Troncos" in july 2011, and it was maybe the best service experience we have ever had, my girlfriend and I. The staff was most helpfull and kind, and offered us assistance for just about anything. The restaurant conected to the hotel served really good food and drinks, and we would advise anyone to stay at this beautifull place! The rooms are quite big, over two seperate floors - witch gave us plenty of space.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvikSaebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Staying at Jasy hotel has been a great experience. Catriel and all the staff were so friendly that they really made us feel like home. Hotel atmosphere is very relaxing, it has an small and very cool restaurant, a nice pool and accomodations are simple but clean and with everything necessary for your stay. Surroundings are quiet and safe. I have been there for three nights with my wife and our three little children, and the staff have been so patient ad helpful with my little boys that made me enjoy my stay even more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buchanansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

Hotel service is excellent with great care taken in the maintence if the hotel. Very clean and feels like a well loved home. We stayed 3 nights to visit the falls and all in all been a fantastic trip. Only down side to the hotel was the restaurant food, it was limited and of average standard for the price, not to say it was bad and to be avoided but certainly better in the town. Breakfast was very good. only other point is noise- rooms are not that soundproof . Location is great and very safe, pool side was an excellent addition when we had a spare afternoon to relax. Based on hotels and hostels we have seen here, this is for sure the better option. The rooms are 2 storey with a double bed upstairs and 4 singles downstairs- groups or families should consider this hotel as makes excellent value if there are a few of you, we thought so for just two!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucyPenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I can't say enough good things about Jasy! They're very affordable but you don't skimp on quality by staying here! They're really a 5-star hotel at a nice reasonable rate!

My boyfriend and I stayed here by ourselves, but each 2-story bungalow has 3 singles downstairs and a double bed in the loft upstairs... not a lot of privacy if you're traveling in a group of 5, but would be cheaper than a hostel if you're splitting the room-cost 5-ways!

Jasy has a nice pool, a convenient restaurant, an impressive breakfast spread with lots of tropical fruits, home-made baked goods, and made-to-order eggs. They also have amazing service. Upon our arrival, Aerolineas Argentina had lost our luggage (big surprise!) and Jasy called to get it tracked and make sure it was delivered to us... even moved it to our room for us since we were at dinner. We didn't bring insect repellant so they gave us a bottle, and even brought it over to the restaurant where we were eating so we could get sprayed immediately! They arranged our private driver (very reasonable cost) for a full-day trip to the Brazilian side of Iguazu falls, Itaipu Dam and Bird's Park. They also arranged our airport transport. Overall, excellent service!

It's amazing that they're able to make any profit at all given the high quality service/food, great prices, and the fact that they only have 9 rooms... Definitely book early since I imagine they fill up quickly!!!

Location is great too- about a 10-15 minute walk to the bus that will get you to Iguazu falls for $10 pesos (about US $2). The falls are about 15 miles away (bus takes about 30 minutes) so it's definitely worth it since the cab fare would be expensive!

Only downside is the crazy mosquitos- but that's not the hotel's fault... just part of being in Iguazu. Bring some heavy DEET with you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvidovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

Fantastic little charming hotel.
Nice rooms, excellent dinner at the terrace in the evening, friendly and helpfull staff. Value for money.
Really worth staying at, when visiting Iguazy Falls.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jens Frederik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great hotel - staff were helpful and attentive, pool was well kept and never overcrowded, rooms were large and would be great value if you're a family staying in one (they have two floors and several single beds, as well as a double bed). You also have a fridge and microwave. Nothing flashy about the decor but not an important factor for us. It's a short walk into town for the buses to the park and for other restaurants, although the hotel restaurant is good and has a nice outlook.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#10 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#9 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.3 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#11 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasy Hotel

Property: Jasy Hotel
Address: Avenida San Lorenzo 154, Puerto Iguazu N3370JLO, Argentina (Formerly Los Troncos)
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 49 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jasy Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely huts, built in a typical regional style and comfortable facilities, perfectly matching with nature, with an amazing view from each balcony. Its location offers the quietness of the surroundings but a few blocks from restaurants, bus station and main attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jasy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing