We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Rooms! Poor Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Reviewed November 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in Nov. 2010 while we were in town to see the Falls. The hotel (actually a motel) was so terrible that it took away from the beauty of the falls. We couldn't wait to get out of Iguazu and spent as little time as we could at the hotel. I only wish we had read other reviews before we booked it, but we planned our trip to the falls at the last minute. Knowing how beautiful the falls are now, i would have paid more money to stay at a nicer place!

The location is average. Its along the same major highway between National Park and downtown, and only a 10 minute drive to both. There are several hotel and hostels in this area, so pick something else!

Our room was AWFUL! Mold in the hallway, patched ceiling in the bathroom, toilet not well connected to the wall, old smelly mattresses, and damaged locks. The air conditioning barely worked and was loud. As such, the room remained damp. The walls hadn't been painted in years and were several different shades of colors, not to mention there were several holes/patches.

The WiFi only worked in the lobby and the breakfast was subpar (i found a dead fly on one of the pastries). The internet barely worked but cost only $1/hour. There are 2 pools, although only 1 had water. The outdoor deck wasn't fully furnished and had several broken lamps. It appears as if the owners haven't spent any money on this hotel in ages.

Definitely stay somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citykitty10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 273 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights, booking through GAP Adventures. I would not stay here again and found it hard to believe they consider this a 3-4 star hotel.

The room was clean but failed to meet basic standards for these reasons:

1) There was mold growing on the walls. This is a health hazard!
2) The room smelled funny.
3) My clothes were all damp and smelled funny upon leaving even though I kept them in the suitcase.
4) The hair dryer in the room caught on fire when I turned it on and started melting.
5) The bed was very uncomfortable.

The hotel itself needs to improve:

1) The pool is nice but needs to be cleaned. There were dead bugs and other items floating around.
2) Have staff that can speak English and other languages to appeal to the tourists that arrive there.

Also, the hotel is too far away from the town and one needs to take a cab back and forth.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed here as part of a GAP adventures "comfort" level trip - I'd hate to see the lower quality hotel!! The room was unpleasant, smelled musty with damp on the walls. Awful decor and uncomfortable bed, air conditioner barely worked and was incredibly loud. Bathroom was clean but there was a general feeling of dirt about the place!

A few people have mentioned location as an advantage but I don't see why! It is still several miles from the National Park and also a couple of miles from the town.

Breakfast was poor too....I'm trying to think of something positive to say about the place but to be honest I don't think it has any redeeming features!

This hotel almost ruined my trip to the Falls, I couldn't wait to get out of the place and I would never book another GAP adventures trip based on this hotel and the activities included in the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel's lobby was very tropical and stylish and very clean. However, the room we got was very dirty. The carpets were wet and moldy, and the bathroom was pretty bad - the shower heads had brown crusts on it. I realize this is a budget hotel, but it could at least be a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mondalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We ended up here as part of a package deal inculding flights from Buenos Aires, it is not my typical way to travel, but it was for a short trip and the price worked out better. Like many lower end tropical hotels it has that damp, moldy sort of feel which immediately makes the place feel a bit iky. There is a staff literally cleaning non-stop so the place is defiantely clean, maybe too clean as the scent of cleaning chemicals is cloying to say the least.
The food is pretty bad and what makes it worse is that Agrentina as a whole has such good for, so to get food like this is a big downer. The "Wifi" only works in the lobby and VERY slowly.
On the plus side, the place is cheap and the pool is nice. It is also quite close to the National Park. If you are just staying a night or two it is not so bad, but more than two of those dinners and you will be pushing it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

This was a really disappointing experience - although it was cheap ($54 per night), I still thought this was overpriced for the 'experience'. I checked out after one night having originally planned to stay three.
The room looked 'grubby' and it seemed that it was many years since it had been renewed. The sheets on the bed were not clean and hence I asked to move to an alternative room - which was just marginally better.
Room was extremely noisy at night and I did not feel very secure (I was on my own). To avoid the impact of noise, I suggest you request a room that is far away from reception (if you are unfortunate enough to stay in that hotel)/
Food was included and was a buffet at breakfast & dinner - but after seeing the flies swarm around it, it was not so appealing.
Helpfulness & politeness of staff was very mixed - some being extremely good and others expremely poor.
Overall - really very poor hotel - i had stayed in hostels during the rest of the trip - all of which were a much more pleasant experience- cleaner, less noisy & more secure than the Hotel Carmen -

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skyisblue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

If you go expecting an upscale hotel, you'll be disappointed. This is definitely a budget hotel, but still nice and clean. The rooms feel more like cabins than hotel rooms. It has a very "campy" feel. We paid $55 per night and that included breakfast and dinner, which were both good. The staff was all very helpful and kind. Just make sure you don't go with expectations of something extravagant. This place is one of the closest to the falls, so location is key, it's just not your typical hotel accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HondaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
Marcopolo Suites Iguazu
#31 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
453 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#46 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
47 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Hotel Iguazu Royal
#37 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
#26 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
46 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Del Lenador Hotel
Cabanas Del Lenador Hotel
#32 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
113 reviews
2.1 mi away
El Libertador
El Libertador
#39 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carmen Iguazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carmen Iguazu

Address: Ruta Nacional 12 4.5, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $51 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carmen Iguazu 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carmen Hotel is located in Puerto Iguazu, 15 minutes from the waterfalls and 20 minutes from the international airport. This Argentine hotel features two swimming pools and a large garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Carmen Iguazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoteles Carmen Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Carmen Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing