We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Carmen
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Saint George(Puerto Iguazu)
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$80
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loi Suites Iguazu(Puerto Iguazu)
$202
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tupa Hotel Boutique(Puerto Iguazu)
$63
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akwati Suites Iguazu(Puerto Iguazu)
$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yvy Hotel de Selva(Puerto Iguazu)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
$128
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveler rating
38
71
113
33
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
71
113
33
30
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 285 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights, booking through GAP Adventures. I would not stay here again and found it hard to believe they consider this a 3-4 star hotel.

The room was clean but failed to meet basic standards for these reasons:

1) There was mold growing on the walls. This is a health hazard!
2) The room smelled funny.
3) My clothes were all damp and smelled funny upon leaving even though I kept them in the suitcase.
4) The hair dryer in the room caught on fire when I turned it on and started melting.
5) The bed was very uncomfortable.

The hotel itself needs to improve:

1) The pool is nice but needs to be cleaned. There were dead bugs and other items floating around.
2) Have staff that can speak English and other languages to appeal to the tourists that arrive there.

Also, the hotel is too far away from the town and one needs to take a cab back and forth.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Stayed here as part of a GAP adventures "comfort" level trip - I'd hate to see the lower quality hotel!! The room was unpleasant, smelled musty with damp on the walls. Awful decor and uncomfortable bed, air conditioner barely worked and was incredibly loud. Bathroom was clean but there was a general feeling of dirt about the place!

A few people have mentioned location as an advantage but I don't see why! It is still several miles from the National Park and also a couple of miles from the town.

Breakfast was poor too....I'm trying to think of something positive to say about the place but to be honest I don't think it has any redeeming features!

This hotel almost ruined my trip to the Falls, I couldn't wait to get out of the place and I would never book another GAP adventures trip based on this hotel and the activities included in the trip.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flynnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

The hotel's lobby was very tropical and stylish and very clean. However, the room we got was very dirty. The carpets were wet and moldy, and the bathroom was pretty bad - the shower heads had brown crusts on it. I realize this is a budget hotel, but it could at least be a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mondalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We ended up here as part of a package deal inculding flights from Buenos Aires, it is not my typical way to travel, but it was for a short trip and the price worked out better. Like many lower end tropical hotels it has that damp, moldy sort of feel which immediately makes the place feel a bit iky. There is a staff literally cleaning non-stop so the place is defiantely clean, maybe too clean as the scent of cleaning chemicals is cloying to say the least.
The food is pretty bad and what makes it worse is that Agrentina as a whole has such good for, so to get food like this is a big downer. The "Wifi" only works in the lobby and VERY slowly.
On the plus side, the place is cheap and the pool is nice. It is also quite close to the National Park. If you are just staying a night or two it is not so bad, but more than two of those dinners and you will be pushing it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess5705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

This was a really disappointing experience - although it was cheap ($54 per night), I still thought this was overpriced for the 'experience'. I checked out after one night having originally planned to stay three.
The room looked 'grubby' and it seemed that it was many years since it had been renewed. The sheets on the bed were not clean and hence I asked to move to an alternative room - which was just marginally better.
Room was extremely noisy at night and I did not feel very secure (I was on my own). To avoid the impact of noise, I suggest you request a room that is far away from reception (if you are unfortunate enough to stay in that hotel)/
Food was included and was a buffet at breakfast & dinner - but after seeing the flies swarm around it, it was not so appealing.
Helpfulness & politeness of staff was very mixed - some being extremely good and others expremely poor.
Overall - really very poor hotel - i had stayed in hostels during the rest of the trip - all of which were a much more pleasant experience- cleaner, less noisy & more secure than the Hotel Carmen -

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank skyisblue30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews