We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hostel So Far” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residencial Uno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residencial Uno
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worst Hostel So Far”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

FIRST IMPRESSION Despite having bad reviews, we thought since the last review had been written, things would have improved...how wrong were we.
STAFF; The female who works there is nice enough but no one else speaks english and the owner has a face like a dog chewing a thistle. Even though the female was helpful, neither myself or my partner felt comfortable nor trusted them.
DORMS: Snelt nice when we walked in... until the air freshener had worn off and the vile mouldy dirty smell resurfaced. There were dirty marks on m duvet - i hate tho even imagine what thew were and bugs ALL over the wall.
BREAKFAST: Dry crusty bread and some spreads. Awful, just awful.
FACILITIES; Open PC cases with wires hanging out was what was offered in terms of internet (wifi wasnt too bad). Never found the kitchen...didnt particularly want to. Oh and a pool that hadnt been cleaned for god knows how long.
OTHER; This place is filthy throughout and there are 6? friendly but immensely smelly German shepherds, as well as a few cats. Hairs were everywhere and the entire place had that vile wet-dog smell.
Would you stay again? We slept in our own silk liners so not to touch their sheets and pulled the bed away from the wall so we didnt get infested with bugs. I cried before getting into bed it was that disgusting. we DO NOT recommend staying here and will NOT be returning. EVER.

Room Tip: Go to another hostel, seriously!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephieAlice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    20
    22
    17
    24
See reviews for
14
31
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hostel is very unwelcoming, the rooms have very bad and unstable beds, and you should be thankful for electricity. the toilet is literally attached to the shower which has no water flow. the worst part about the hostel is the owner, he is very rude and arrogant I was in shock with his behavior. I advise anyone who reads this to find a better place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niro22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

I booked two nights in this hostel after a 30 hour bus ride from Montevideo, only to arrive with no reservation. The hostel had over booked and there was no room for me and my boyfriend. The man running the hostel was extremely rude as he tried to find another hostel for us to stay in, which was the extent of his helpfulness. We politely asked him if there were any camp sites where we could stay, and he snapped that he would answer no more questions. He finally allowed us to sleep on his balcony, which smelled of dog pee. We woke up early to leave, and when we asked how we could get our deposit back he went off on us, saying that we were ungrateful. We quickly told him it was a misundertanding, and said thank you and goodbye. As we were walking away, the man followed us outside, yelling obsenities and theatening to kill my boyfriend. i have never had such a horrible experience at a hostel before, no one should ever stay at this one. It was also more expensive than other hostels that we found in puerto iguazu, and was dirty and extremely hosile.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

In January 2012 we spent 3 nights in this hostal. We were met by a very unfriendly man who did not even say hello, but just showed us our room. We did not succeed in making him say hello any of the 3 days ! The room was very bad too. The mosquito net was broken, and that we could feel on our bodies! The door to the toilet was hanging so you could not close it. This was the worst place we visited for half a years travel in South America - mainly because of the unfriendly atmosphere. We only stayed there because all other hostals were full!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bente Kruger A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Ugh. We had one night here. It's budget and the room was relatively clean. Just the room though, five dogs and a few cats patrol the communal area and there is dog hair everywhere. A smell of animals pervades the place and the pool is manky. We had a private room - the aircon was a fan and it was basic but adequate. The male staff are slightly menacing. And the breakfast was inedible. But it is super close to the bus station and for one night it didn't kill us!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Close to town, clean. Nice patio outside to sit outside in the evening. I noted complaints in other reviews about the pool, and we did not use the pool but it looked quite clean.
The rooms are basic, the bathroom standard with plenty of hot water for showers.
The breakfasts were spare: bread/rolls, cream cheese and jam or dulce de leche packets, juice which tasted like Tang, and lots of coffee. Nice breakfast room.
WiFi in the common area, not in the rooms.
Large common area with a TV and many movies. Furniture in that area completely worn out but functional.
And the dogs. There were actually 5 of them. Large, German Shepherd/lab mix dogs. We really like dogs, and did not mind them at all; found them charming and friendly. Especially when we ate snacks out on the patio, they were grouped around our table on the tile floor, waiting for something to fall on the ground. We enjoyed them despite the strong doggy smell at times. But I can see how some people would not find them amusing.
Overall good value for the 4 in our family in a single room with private bath.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeattleAnnieOakley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yavne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

The pictures are missleading, the place that in my opinion can't identify as an hotel look very poor and smell as a zoo
Not recomended

Room Tip: It any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yosef y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostel Park Iguazu
Hostel Park Iguazu
#78 of 124 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Guembe Hostel House
El Guembe Hostel House
#32 of 124 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residencial Noelia Hostel
Residencial Noelia Hostel
#24 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Mola
Hosteria Mola
#82 of 124 in Puerto Iguazu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Iquazu Falls
Hostel Iquazu Falls
#22 of 124 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residencial Amigos
Residencial Amigos
#29 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Uno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Uno

Property: Residencial Uno
Address: Calle Fray Luis Beltran 116, Puerto Iguazu N3370DLD, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Uno 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Puerto Iguazu, Residencial Uno offers you a warm and comfortable environment that allows you to experience one of nature's beauties: The Iguazu Falls. We wait for you just two blocks from the bus station and the city center. We provide you with single, double, triple and quad private rooms with air conditioner, private bathrooms and hot water, as well as shared facilities. We offer you a wide range of services to enjoy your stay, such as free Breakfast, free Internet access & WI-FI area, swimming pool, kitchen, BBQ, TV/DVD room, bilingual staff, daily maid service and tourist information, among others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Residencial Uno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing