We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Motel standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A Motel standard hotel”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights whilst visiting the falls. As soon as we walked in to our room, we were taken aback by some unpleasant smell. Only later had we found out it was from the pillow cases and the bed sheet. They smelled musky. I think they hadn't been properly washed and dried. The room was very basic with no fridge, no safe or other amenities that you would rightly expect from a decent hotel. It also made it really inconvenient that they only accepted cash, something that they hadn't mentioned at the time of booking. With what we paid (just over $100 Australian dollar per night), we weren't expecting anything beyond a 3.5 star hotel can offer. But, neither did we expect a motel standard experience! The breakfast was less than average - a glass of orange juice, a small plate of cheeses and cold cut per table and a dull selection of pastry. Don't expect scrambled eggs, bacon, toasts and fruit platters - stuff that you would normally expect from a decent hotel. The pool seemed nice but the water was cloudy and there were not enough sun chairs. The staff was the only upside - they were friendly and speak English. And the location was quiet and reasonbly safe. It was only a block to the bus terminal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysiders18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    307
    125
    47
    31
See reviews for
150
363
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here while visiting the falls. It was booked as a trip by our travel agents so we didn't actually choose to stay here. The room was basic but ok. The bathroom ceiling was covered in dead mosquitos which was a bit off putting and the towels had numerous ants in them, which I only realised after having dried myself with one of them! We didn't try the restaurant however, breakfast, which was included was also a bit off putting as there were a lot of little flies surrounding the buffet. On a more positive note the staff were excellent. One of the receptionists even helped us change one of our flights by speaking to the operator in spanish which was an amazing help. All the other reception staff were also excellent. I don't think this hotel is a four star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcpake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. Area itself didn't have much, short walk to town area which had a few shops and bars, mainly this location was ideal for the Iguazu falls. Receptionist who greatest us on arrival spoke fantastic English, was helpful and friendly our whole stay. It's cold this time of year be warned. Rooms had everything you'd need. Restaurant food was good value for money and a really high standard of food. Overall really enjoyed our stay, would visit again, missing the delicious evening meals already. Well done to the team who work there

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxx26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuzco
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you book this hotel through a booking website like booking.com or venere etc. you will 1. get an inferior room and 2. have to pay cash.

We booked a room with 2 queen size beds through booking.com but on arrival were allocated a room with one queen size bed, on querying, we were told that none of the larger rooms were available. I said that I had paid for the larger room, but was told that all the rooms were the same price, regardless of size. Believe that one if you like!

Apart from the above, the staff were extremely helpful, and went out of their way to assist with transfers and providing information etc.

The location of the hotel is fine, within reasonable walking distance of both the town centre and bus station.

Breakfast is o.k. although monotonous, with hot dishes of scrambled eggs and sausages.

For an evening meal the Italian restaurant is good, A bit ott with their electronic wine list and box of coffee choices. The price of both is on the high side.

Tip, walk to the 3 frontiers view point for sunset and get a terrific view over Brazil and Paraguay. Get the bus back to town.

Tip. Avoid the so called Italian restaurant in Brazil St. I think it's called Alberto's or Angelo's. It is absolute rubbish. We sent two plates of tasteless stodgy pasta back almost untouched and were still charged for them with no explanation or apology.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meld8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Not bad, not great.

The staff and location were fine for our stay in Puerto Iguazu. However, it is often the little things that colour one's opinion - upon arrival we were handed a long list of hotel rules involving do's and don't's. In case you forgot, there were also plentiful signs around the place to remind you. Also, rather disappointingly the maid failed to make up our room during our stay.

Overall, a decent enough option but wouldn't rush back were we to stay in Iguazu again. Moved after a couple of days to the much more charming Petite Hotel Si Mi Capitan.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room gets at least some natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pentargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Shore, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2012

the meaning of hospitality. Welcoming, service orientated, clean, friendly, asking what more they can do to make our stay more enjoyable. These folks get it. Value driven, guest centric. Try them out. You will be happy you did.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tqmbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monthey, Valais
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Sorgente la Posada was a nice and clean hotel. The staff was very helpfull, polite and very friendly.

The swimming pool was refreshing after a 17 hours bus ride. Don't forget to look at the bananas tree, just wonderful !

The two receptionists, Francella and Jennifer were kind and extremely friendly.

A good place to stay even if in Puerto Iguazu, there is nothing special to do except for the falls and the people who like casinos :-)

Room Tip: Hopefully, you won't have snoring as hell in the room next door :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaCet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.0 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#15 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,867 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
#24 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sorgente Hotel Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sorgente Hotel Posada

Property: La Sorgente Hotel Posada
Address: Avenida Cordoba 454, Puerto Iguazu N3370COR, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Sorgente Hotel Posada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your La Sorgente Hotel Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sorgente Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing