We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
House of Africa(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
Tupa Hotel Boutique(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada del Jacaranda(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Akwati Suites Iguazu(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Latino Hotel(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Paraiso Apart Hotel(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelta Hotel - Iguazu(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bosetti Apart Hotel(Puerto Iguazu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (829)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveler rating
742
75
6
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
742
75
6
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscocktail hourjohn fernandesother guestsevening drinksbanana breaddog roxythree roomshomemade jamsjohn makesbed and breakfaststimulating conversationbird parkplace to stayboth sidesthe busthe great reviewsvisiting the falls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 829 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My partner & I stayed here for two nights, after having read all the rave reviews of the B&B, and were quite disappointed.
The pros: the lush garden setting, the convenient location (we appreciated the 10-15 minutes walk to the restaurants), the 'homey' feel.
The cons: frayed towels, stained sheets with holes in them, dirty floors, motel-finish (especially with the plastic curtains on the windows).
The place was not 'bad' but we had quite high expectations as it's a bit of splurge (we were only paying 90USD for a luxurious boutique hotel in B.A. and spent 120USD for Secret Garden) and the room's qualities did not match the price tag.
In regards to John's hosting skills, we must have just caught him on a bad day as he didn't seem to be in a particularly friendly mode while we were there. And since we were there midweek, we had the place to ourselves and hence cocktail hour was rather dull & flat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tetua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a lovely stay with John at the Secret Garden B&B. As other guests have described John is an excellent host, who gave us a really informative tour of Puerto Iguazu on arrival, as well as lots of advice and assistance in planning our stay. The room we had was spacious and clean, and we were served a lovely big breakfast with fresh fruit, homemade jams, and delicious banana bread each morning. Every evening at 7pm John organised snacks and Capirinha's for the guests who were staying. This was a lovely addition to our stay, and we really enjoyed having the chance to swap travel stories and chat with the other guests, John, and his friends. We really valued the stories and knowledge John shared with us and felt our stay at the Secret Garden B&B really made our time in Puerto Iguazu extra special. We would highly recommend staying at the Secret Garden B&B and visiting the falls.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Secret Garden was indeed a hidden gem and a wonderful discovery. We were welcomed to it's heart by it's owner John Fernandez, Roxy his Parson's Russell Terrier (a distant cousin of our own dog, George!) along with his team of staff in Soledad, Sophia and Daniel. On arrival John and his pre arranged aiport pick up driver, Paolo gave us a tour of the town and enabled us to get our bearings without the use of an upside down map and a debate on which direction to take. Paolo also had great music in his car!!
For a smooth passage on the outside world Jon had a good team of drivers at hand in Paolo, Claudio and Rene, who made the ease of getting around as well as going to and for the Brazilian and Argentinian sides of Iguazu, all very simple and for reasonable costs in comparison to local public transport. There was no need to negotiate bus timetables which were few.
The 7pm cocktail hour was the perfect opportunity to meet other guests and share travel stories and probably more tales after one or two of the delicious but potent Caipirinhas!!! It was also a time to be contemplative in the beautifully created Secret Garden John has nurtured and cultivated often from small ferns rescued during smouldering bush fires and deforestation.
His educational desires to impart knowledge not only teaches the weary traveller about his new surroundings but also locals who take for granted the beauty around them, as we so often do in familiar places.
Rooms were spotless and comfortable and hot water in abundance. Breakfast was delicious and healthy with beautiful homemade breads, especially banana and homemade jams. All in all we'd highly recommend the Secret Garden over impersonal high end chain hotels any day.....

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hookyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Secret Garden. It was a very good fit for us, as we prefer casual and personable places where we can get to know the people who work there a bit and enjoy sitting around in a home-like atmosphere rather than a hotel lobby. We loved meeting both John and Bernardo (and Roxy) and really liked the 7 pm cocktail hour. John helped arrange a taxi to the wildlife rescue and then to the airport on our final day, and it worked wonderfully. We were also able to get our laundry done - another plus. The room was very comfortable (and cleaned very attentively each day), and the garden is lovely. We liked the location - quiet and just a few blocks from the restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Everything about this place in wonderful. From the moment we were picked up from the airport to our departure, The Secret Garden dealt with all our needs. John was a fantastic host who welcomed us into the guest house and his home. The rooms were clean, with great bathrooms and very good showers - exactly what we needed after a not that warm day at the falls!! His evening drinks (complimentary) were amazing (and very strong!), and the snacks were delicious. His recommended drivers, both Pablo and Rene were great. Rene drove us to the Brazil side of the falls and was even our guide for the day. I would highly recommend The Secret Garden - we stayed here 2 nights, and then stayed on the Brazillian side for 2 nights, in hindsight, 2 or 3 nights here would have been better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philippa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews