We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Gracious Host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very Gracious Host”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Mr. Fernandez was an excellent post. He actually took us on a short tour of Iguazu in his truck on our arrival. The Bed and Breakfast is very clean and somewhat spartan. The mattress in room 3 needs replacement. At about 7 p.m. Mr. Fernandez put out a some tasty tapas and drinks. Breakfast was an excellent.Value was excellent!

Room Tip: since this place is in town you need to take a taxi to the falls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    73
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
80
479
73
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

After much research we decided to stay at Secret Garden for 2 nights and were not disappointed. John is a very interesting person and a great host. He was able to explain everything we needed to know whilst visiting Iquazu. He arranged good transport for us and had good recommendations for dinner. Breakfast was great as were the evening drinks and snacks. Fantastic value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I just wanted to particularly mark the excellent service and support I got from the owner John. I had just a short time at Iguazu and he was totally supportive in getting travel and access sorted out. Definitely to be recommended especially for short stays. Bedrooms are spacious and atmosphere is tranquil. Bill

Room Tip: Look for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyo722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moe, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I learnt about Secret Garden via Trip Advisor and even before arrival I was extremely impressed with the service I received as I arranged my stay via email. John and his team were brilliant. I had a car arranged from the airport and Juan then took care of my transport needs for the rest of my stay. We arrived at Secret Garden, where John joined us in the car and provided a tour of the town, including a lovely photo taken overlooking the border of Argentina, Brazil and Paraguay.

Given my total lack of Spanish, it was so refreshing to have John there to assist in planning my stay, each day I had Juan collect me and deliver me to my desired destinations - obviously the magnificent Iguassu Falls, but also the bank, Bird Park, Helicopter Rides...whatever I wanted.

Each morning at breakfast (which was fresh and delicious) and again in the evening for Drinks and nibbles, all the guests congregated with John and his partner Rosina, to discuss the plans for the day, or the events of the day, it was such a friendly atmosphere, and the drinks and nibbles were excellent also. It was lovely to sit around and chat, rather than just retiring to rooms, as tends to happen in hotels.

John is an excellent host and I would highly recommend Secret Garden for a place to stay and see the Iguassu Falls. I was travelling alone and the inclusive atmosphere of the place was most welcoming.

Room Tip: The rooms were airconditioned which was a necessity in the humidity of Iguassu, given there are only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoff4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I finally had time to visit Iguazu Falls after several years living/working in Argentina. I choose John's B&B based on the tripadvisor reviews and I certainly was not disappointed. John is a great host, and his advice helped a lot, not to mention his arranging transport to and from the falls. Apart from the falls themselves (and the spectacular boat-ride into them) the highlight of the trip was enjoying drinks, appetizers and good conversation with John and the other guests in the evening. Exactly the kind of experience I look for when travelling. All the staff were very friendly and helpful as well. Service was top notch. Not sure how John keeps everything working in a small, tropical town in remote Argentina, but he does. Everything was as clean and comfortable and functional as one could reasonably expect. I'd love to go back and spend a few extra days to visit Brazil and Paraguay too, although I really don't think you miss much if you can't view the falls from the Brazilian side, so those who don't have a visa for Brazil don't need to get one, in my opinion. More than enough to see from the Argentinian side. Best compliment I can think of for Secret Garden is that it is a great 'traveller's' hotel. It's for people looking for a nice place to stay where you'll meet other like minded people in an exotic location. Maybe not the place to stay for people who prefer the Ritz-Carlton (although I'm sure there are people who enjoy both kinds of places!), but I think most people understand that. John has created a wonderful place that perfectly suits the location, and I'll stay there again without doubt. (p.s. I took the Via Bariloche overnight bus from Buenos Aires, and it was first class. A long trip, but I was easily able to sleep in the 'cama suite' seats which really did fold into a flat, comfy bed.)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesinBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights recently while visiting Iguazu Falls after a cruise. John is a delightful host and we very much enjoyed discussions over drinks and appetizers in the evening. He was very helpful in arranging taxi rides for us (be aware that the Falls are 20 km away) and suggesting restaurants in town. The three rooms in the B&B are very basic but the air conditioning works just fine (and in the height of the summer, it's very much needed.) But nothing is provided except soap...so bring your own lotion, shampoo, kleenex, etc. I think that John could take the B&B further by providing some basic amenities (and he could charge a bit extra...the price is very low) Breakfast was toast, fruit, and banana bread...enough to start the day. The caipirinhas and empanadas at night were yummy. The wifi is free but it's not in the rooms...just in the patio area. All in all, good value and a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gotthetravelbug48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, british columbia, canada
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We certainly lucked out finding this lovely B&B located on the Argentinian border close to the amazing Iguazu Falls. Run by a charming gentleman, John goes out of his way to ensure the comfort of his guests, from giving them a personal orientation tour of the local area and tips on where to eat, to making arrangements for transportation to and from the airport and the Falls themselves. The rooms are very comfortable with great beds and up to date amenities - a home away from home. John hosts an evening cocktail hour so that guests can meet and mingle and share stories and travel tips and relax after a day of sight-seeing. Thankyou, John, for taking such great care of us. One of our outstanding memories of this epic trip through South America!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,777 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
Falls Iguazu Hotel & Spa
#2 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,916 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Property: Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Address: Calle Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Secret Garden Iguazu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing