We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secret Garden B&B, Iguazu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Ranked #1 of 52 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Secret Garden B&B, Iguazu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We had a single night at John Fernandes's B&B, with visits to the Brazilian and Argentinian sides of the Iguazu falls on either side of that night. We can only confirm other reviews about the excellence of the accommodation, of John's hospitality, and of the arrangements which he made to facilitate our visits to the falls. Everything was entirely simple and all we had to do was enjoy ourselves, which we certainly did. By the way, if you go to the Brazilian side from Argentina (easy for us, but apparently rather more complicated for U.S. citizens), take the opportunity to visit the Bird Park just across the road from the entrance to the Falls Park.

Alan, Scotland

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    71
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
78
473
72
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

From the very start John, Roxy and his staff made myself and my friends very welcome. John arranged our pick up at the airport and a tour of Puerto Iguazu which was great. No worry about finding where we were staying. We cooled down with an iced mata which was delicious while enjoying the atmosphere of his tropical garden. Following this his cocktails and canapes hit the spot before walking to the steak house for dinner. It was particularly nice to have his company and conversation while relaxing.
Our rooms were spacious and cool which gave relief from the tropical temperature outside.
John had a wealth of information and tips for our site-seeing and use of transport.
My friends and I have travelled to many corners of the world over many years and this would be the best b and b we have stayed at. Thank you John and Roxy

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

We are a well travelled couple in our 30's and have stayed in all types of accomodation you can imagine in the past. We use Tripadvisor regularly to scope out places before we book, but up until now have never left any reviews ourselves.

We stayed at The Secret Garden for two nights in March 2012.

We pre-arranged collection from the airport with John. This may have cost a bit more than doing it yourself but was well worthwhile as the Secret Garden (as per its name) would not be that easy to find on your own. Also, our flight was delayed by over 5 hours, yet the driver was still there waiting for us as soon as we cleared customs. On arrival, we received the town orientation tour in the car by John, which was very useful. Note. Accom is about 10-15 mins walk from the centre of the town, shops & resturants.

We were offered a cold drink and taken through a mini "Secret" garden to our room which was clean and comfortable and fitting with the location. Air-con was good.

Each evening at 7pm, John arranges drinks (Excellent Caipirina's) and nibbles (Bruchetta's, mini pasties & tapenade's etc) for all guests which was complimentary. We thouroughly enjoyed this both evenings as it gives you a chance to chat with the other guests and compare experiences. During this time, John is happy to reccomend and book a resturant for you in town at a time that suit's.

Quick note on Resturants. (We love good food)
The nearest steak-house to the B&B we found to be the best. Most authentic, and their English understanding was not good (Our Spanish is almost zero) which made ordering more difficult but the food was excellent and huge portions.
We also ate at Aqua resturant, recomended by John and other guests but were sadly dissapointed with our meal there (more orientated to tourists in our view).

There are plenty of other choices in the town, perhaps best if you take a walk and find what apeals most to you.

Breakfast at the secret garden is good, although fairly simple. Coffee or Tea, fruit and toast with various fresh jams / Dolce de Leche (mmmm) and homemade banana bread.

Others notes on the accomodation are very secure and a good wi-fi connection (in communal area only)

John is willing to arrange tours for you and a car to and from the Fall's, but public buses are frequent and much cheaper

One more note, the Iguazu Falls are amazing. We spent a whole day on the Argentina side and loved every part of it.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wheretonow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We selected the Secret Garden B & B after reading about it on Trip Advisor. From our very first e-mail reply from John Fernandes, we felt welcome and knew we would be taken care of.

John arranged pick-up and delivery to airport as well as our daily trips to the falls. He gave us a personal tour of Puerto Iguazu. He obtained restaurant reservations for us during a holday weekend (Carnival) which were otherwise difficult to obtain.

A special touch is the evening 7 pm get together for drinks and tapas. This encouraged guests to meet each other and chat. This made a big difference from large hotels where intermingling is difficult.

It is a rustic place with excellent service. John runs a tight ship.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rita and bob s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Everything you read about the Secret Garden is true. We arrived at the B&B and met this wonderful man, John Fernandes, the owner, who exudes such genuine warmth and kindness. Our room had a queen and twin bed in it and private bath, spacious, bright, clean and well appointed The walls and ceilings are all tongue and groove woodwork painted in warm tropical colors. The beds are firm with pressed cotton sheets and lots of pillows that are fluffy and fresh. Large and quiet A/C unit and a large standing room fan gave us lots or ventilation options. There are only three guest rooms that open out onto a communal sitting area that connect to the main house by a elevated walkway through the tropical garden. If you believe in the power of attraction that like attracts like, then the Secret Garden is a classic example of this. John has created an environment where an evolved man is attracting other evolved people from around the world to share his space and his enthusiasm for his corner of the world. In short we met the most interesting and delightful people at the B&B. John does a very nice cocktail hour for his guests at 7pm and creates a delightful ambient enviroment for people to connect and share their world with others. At breakfast there was lots of fresh tropical fruit, banana bread and good strong coffee with hot milk, toast, home made jams and fresh queezed juice. John also took the time to give us a little drive around town and dropped us off at Bocamora Grill for lunch. This is where the corners of Brazil, Paraguay and Argentina meet and you get to see it all from the terrace of this great restaurant and have a wonderful meal to boot. If you are going to Iguazu falls, then this is definitely the place to stay. I will never forget my stay at the Secret Garden. Thank you John.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToTravelQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at the Secret Garden Iguazu and fell in love with the place. The proprietor, John Fernandes, is an expert at helping visitors maximize their time at Iguazu, suggesting all sorts of itineraries and helping arrange transportation. His Jack Russell Terrier, Roxy, is a cute addition to the premises. The nightly sit-down with drinks and lively conversation were the perfect end to the day at Iguazu as we compared notes with other travelers about our experiences at one of the world's most breathtaking spots. There's no pool at the Secret Garden Iguazu but John has an arrangement with a place about 30 km away where guests can swim and enjoy lunch for $45.00. We recommend it highly!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed for one night in February. Our room was well furnished, with a comfortable double bed, air condition (key in Puerto Iguazu), a stand up fan, and was very clean and quiet. The room had a private bathroom which was small but clean. Outside of room was a lounge area with garden chairs. Between the guest rooms and the main house is a nice assortment of trees and plants, creating a bit of an oasis. By the main house is where breakfast is served; it is also where the happy hour takes place.

The happy hour was really great, I think. A lot of times you stay in a place and don't get a chance to meet the other guests. The happy hour takes care of that problem. Over some refreshing drinks and a variety of delicious appetizers, we got a chance to chit chat and get to know the other guests and John. It was really quite nice. We actually filled up so much that we passed on dinner.

I like the location of the place. It is on the outskirts of town (mind you, the town is very small) which is actually nice. It is on a quiet street, tucked away. That being said, you are a three minute walk to the major road. At the intersection of Los Lapachos and the main road is (a) a supermarket and (b) this is where you can catch the bus to the National Park to see the falls. We actually were quite happy that we did not book a place in the center of town. There really is nothing to the town. The center can be noisy and a bit on the grungy side. If you do want to go into the center to grab a dinner it takes less than 10 minutes walking.

Breakfast was simple but refreshing, with a plate of fresh fruit (pineapple and papaya), homemade bread, some pastries, homemade jams, fresh OJ, coffee, tea, etc. It was a bit on the pricy side, $120/night, but it seems that prices for accommodations, in general, are pretty high in Argentina, unless you're willing to rough it in a hostel dormitory.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michwolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
1.1 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#7 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#10 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secret Garden Iguazu B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secret Garden Iguazu B&B

Property: Secret Garden Iguazu B&B
Address: Calle Los Lapachos 623, Puerto Iguazu N3370JMC, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ideal place to jump-start your visit to the Iguazu Falls in Argentina. High on concept the Secret Garden is populated by tree ferns and other shade-loving plants salvaged from the slash and burn rural and logging activities decimating the surrounding rain-forest. Our location allows you to get a feel of living in a small South American frontier town and has easy access to urban amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Secret Garden Iguazu B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secret Garden Iguazu Bed And Breakfast
Secret Garden Iguazu Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing