We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definetely not a 4*, very poor value. Perhaps ten years ago?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raices Esturion Hotel
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Curitiba, PR
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Definetely not a 4*, very poor value. Perhaps ten years ago?”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We've been there on the last week end of Jan 2012 and you can see that the hotel lost its lustre over ten years ago.
Staff is aloof (receptionist does not even look at you when taking your name and giving you your keys, both at check in and out, no cordial greeting, no smile), gives wrong directions as for shopping times in Ciudad del Este and duty free shops nearby. Hotel shops do not take credit cards. Poor quality breakfast (foul watery coffee among other), and the rooms which must have been very nice over a decade ago in a minimalist - cozy - ish way, have not been renovated since with long passe worn out upholstery fabrics. Room was not ready at check in time and had not towels when we got it, which were worn out and discoloured when they finally arrived.
The beautiful veranda sports a series of lounge beds which would be great if they were not so worn out, lost shape and upholstered in a brown faux - leather tattered fabric. Imagine sitting on the plastic at 30C in the evening. The plants in the balcony fence of my room showed that they were rarely watered and the pots were full of cigarette butts. Horrible really.
It seems that the ownership is not investing enough money for a much needed ongoing careful maintenance. No fitness centre and even if at 35C at 8pm, they close down the outdoors swimming pool switching off the ligths.
Definetely not worth the money. You can find a lot better for a few more quid.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    439
    216
    88
    55
See reviews for
341
448
46
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed only one night whilst visiting the falls, which were spectacular. The room was very small but clean with a good jungle view. It is situated about a 15 minute walk to town along some very poorly maintained paths. I ate in town because I couldn't understand their menu, even the English translation didn't make sense. It rained that evening so I didn't get a chance to use the pool. The reception area was nice and spacious. When I tried to print a boarding pass for my flight the next day, I was told that printing from the business centre computers can only occur after 8am, which was no good as I was leaving before that for day 2 at the falls and not returning to the hotel. I couldn't see why they couldn't let me print at any time to a printer that was virtually beside the receptionist. The buffet breakfast was plentiful in a nice restaurant. All said and done, I liked the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonRSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2012

The showers definitely sucked. I spent usually 20 minutes trying to get the temperature right and the water pressure was very low. I actually preferred not to shower, even though it was like 100 degrees Fahrenheit outside, because of the showers. The rooms also did have that old smell, which was a bit weird. The color scheme is also something from the 70s. The lobby was really nice though and the staff were also friendly. There is no wifi in the rooms, by the way. Only in the lobby.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Pros: They had lots of variety/Item for Breakfast. There is a city bus stop just outside of the Hotel, which takes you to the Falls (Via Downtown/Centro). This city bus runs every 20mins and covers the time the Falls are open to the public. The City Bus takes approx 50mins to reach the Falls.

Cons:
The Bathroom (Sinks/Basins/Bath Tub etc) need serious overhaul. They are old, show cracks and the metallic knobs have been replaced by cheap plastic knobs.

The location is not very helpful. It is a 20mins hike to the Centro or haggle with the Taxi/Remises . (Note: The Taxi/Remises in Iguazu, do not go on meter and there is a city bus stop just outside the Hotel that takes you to Centro or the falls.)

Overall: For the tariff they charge, they need to invest in upgrading their rooms.
There are many other Hotels, located closer to the Centro.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhi65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

First impressions were good - lovely gardens and reception area - thats the plus. On the negative side, sheets were stained and not changed when reported until we spoke with the manager - when he is around things get done! Most of the staff unhelpful and surley to the point of extreme rudeness. Poor to non existant wifi connection in the rooms. Rooms are a bit jaded, but some better than others - we managed to change rooms when the noise from the club rattled the windows and we couldn't hear ourselves speak - not something under the control of the management. There are also cruising cars/speakers on wheels at 4am in the morning. Buffet breakfast good but didn't try the restaurant - too expensive.
Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Iguazu hotels

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

While the hotel staff are friendly & helpful, best to avoid the restaurant. The food is average, very expensive, service non-existent, and the staff bordering on rude- our waiter even demanded a tip! Also being more than 1km out of town & not stocking Quilmes does not help its cause!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nakkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

It’s common when perusing Trip Advisor to disregard the various posts of previous hotels guests. You think to yourself, ‘it can’t be that bad, a few people have written positive things about this place”. You consider yourself a fairly tolerant and experienced traveller and you are not fussy. So, you are willing to be a bit flexible and give it a go, take one for the team, as it were.

I also make it a policy when writing comments for Tripadvisor, to have some positives and negatives to say about the place, to give a review some balance. This is the first review I have written, that I can honestly, say nothing positive about this hotel.

I was booked in to the Esturion as part of a longer tour of Argentina and Chile by a local travel company and was willing to go with their recommendations.

But I will say here and now, everything negative written by previous guests about this hotel below – is 100% accurate. The Esturion has to be one of the biggest let downs of all time. The terrible service and disregard for guests by the staff, as noted by previous guests, time and time again, the tired state of the rooms, the appalling excuse for breakfast here (yes, the bread for the toast has to be three days old).

The location is pretty lousy too – about a 20 minute walk from town (which in itself is hardly appealing).

You enter the carpark and all looks OK. The lobby appears pleasant enough. You are greeted with a scowl, thrown a key, taken to your tired old room and there you go. The view across the river is pleasant enough (just wait to nightfall and the techno music to start…)

Take a walk down to the pool. Why is the colour of the water all cloudy and murky? Would you really want to swim in that? It’s hotter than hell at Iguazu, and you don’t want to swim in the hotel pool because it is murky and full of floaty bits. So, you go back to the room, have a cold shower and put on the rattling old air conditioner.

Then, you feel like heading into town, and you don’t have any small Peso notes to pay the taxi drivers, so you ask the reception/cashier to swap a 100p note for some smaller notes and you are met with a look of surprise/mirth/disgust “no, sorry, we don’t make small change”. OK, so how about swapping some USD for Pesos? “No, sorry, can’t help you either”. Are you serious? You call yourself a 4-star hotel? Who are you kidding?

Coming back to the hotel after a reasonable dinner up in the restaurant strip of Avenida Cordoba, we arrive to the room and the sound of BOOMING techno music coming from somewhere down below the hotel, near the river. The kids in Iguazu have taken to fitting their dilapidated cars with enormous sound systems that would do a London night club proud. They pump out doof-doof music from around 9pm, to …. 6am. Yep, they loiter in a park, next to a road, about 100 metres below the hotel and crank out insanely loud techno music ALL night. Having arrived off an international flight a few nights before and desperate for a good night’s rest, the kids outdoor party just did my head in. Why the hotel can’t call the police to come and move them on, is beyond me.

I was sorely tempted to just change hotels, but the place had been paid for already. I did start writing this review at 5am on the aforementioned morning of the techno party outside, but thought I’d give it a week to cool off. It occurred to me after the fact, that hotel management has not ONCE ever come here to reply to negative or positive comments about the hotel, which sort of shows you how much they regard feedback from their clients.

With a major refurb and some love, this place has potential. You’d also want to put all staff through some sort of client/customer service school, prior to reopening. The site has potential, the layout is OK. Just do something about the negatives, and whatever you do, stop the kids and their all night techno parties.

Iguazu Falls is stunning by the way, and worth the time, effort and energy to get to. One night is enough. You can see all the best parts of the falls from the Argentine side in a day. It's a hassle for Australian passport holders to get a Brazilian visa for just a few hours visit. I don't think I missed anything by not going to the Brazilian side. Arrive on the first flight from Buenos Aires in the morning, and you can see all the Argentine falls that day. Spend a night in Iguazu, then head back to Buenos Aires the next day. Other than a couple of nice restaurants, there is more or less nothing of any note in the town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RicardoMartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,667 reviews
2.4 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,866 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#11 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,930 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
#25 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raices Esturion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raices Esturion Hotel

Property: Raices Esturion Hotel
Address: Avenida Tres Fronteras 650, Puerto Iguazu N3370AWT, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#18 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raices Esturion Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Raices Esturion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esturion Hotel And Lodge
Esturion Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing