We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Yacutinga Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yacutinga Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A very special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We spent two nights in Yacutinga and were transfixed by the beautiful surroundings. We saw lots of capuchin monkeys, gorgeous hummingbirds, some toucans, a coral snake and more (most of these in the grounds of the lodge itself). I identified many different species of birds.

The food was fantastic and the staff were very kind. My husband wasn't very well while we were there but they were very attentive and understanding.

A few tips. The journey to the lodge is long (about 2.5 hrs) - be aware that there is no scheduled toilet stop. The weather can be fairly torrential rain and waterproof clothes are advisable for the hikes (I was very, very wet at the end of one hike). Don't do this trip if you're not ready for a 'real' jungle experience - a mouse and a frog appeared in our room at one stage! Finally, be prepared to have to be patient and stay quiet in order to see the wildlife - it is not a zoo!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maisie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    36
    9
    6
    5
See reviews for
36
91
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I was visiting with my husband. We both love the outdoors and have a passion for "nature" photography. We not only were able to have amazing photo opportunities but we learned so much about natural habitats up close by the very passionate and knowledgeable staff. For someone like me, who wants to live as "green" as possible, I believe the lodge is a true testament to sustainability. We truly enjoyed being close to nature as well as comfortable, clean, and secluded accommodations. The staff were friendly and the food was fresh and with wonderful produce that is native to the region (mangos were delicious!). We recommend this oasis to anyone who is passionate about nature and the simple pleasures it has to offer!

Room Tip: All rooms are set in a bungalow style offering a good amount of privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We spent two wonderful days and nights at this remote eco lodge (about 2-1/2 hours ride on a mostly rocky dirt road from Puerto Iguazu). The lodge was deep in a lush sub-tropical region filled with exotic birds, butterflies, lizards, and the sound of monkeys high in the trees. A knowledgeable guide and a tribal chieftian made our hike a fascinating experience. There was a kayakying trip down the broad Iguazu River, a remarkable evening of entertainment by children from the local native Guarani, comfortable accommodations, and excellent food. The stay at the lodge was a fine introduction to the region and made our visit to Iguazu Falls all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

We had read several reviews on Trip Advisor that had mixed messages but when we arrived we were convinced. This is a unique lodge that provides fun with education.

We boarded the heavy duty bus in Iguazu and during the bumpy ride to the lodge we were entertained by our guide. On arrival we were greeted warmly and given a refreshingly cold drink and our luggage was taken to our lodge. We were handed our keys and headed to our home in the jungle. Don't expect 5 star luxury but do expect a comfortable room and bed with a fan and a functional bathroom where you can drink the water from the taps.

We changed and took a plunge in the refreshing pool, changed and headed to the dining room. The meals that were served were flavorful, filling and wonderfully presented. The staff was very friendly and tried to ensure that everyone was enjoying themselves.

After dinner we headed to the "classroom" for an introduction on the sub-tropical rain forest and conservation. The group we were with entered into a lively discussion on conservation which was great to see in such a mixed group.

The hike and boat trip were fun and we saw plenty of different species of birds and butterflies as well as monkeys.

The whole complex is an oasis of rest where you can spend your afternoon reading and relaxing in one of the many hammocks and be treated to a myriad of butterflies landing on you and hummingbirds feeding from the flowers.

Don't forget your insect repellent and camera.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are comfortable and whatever you get will be perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuAlAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cold Lake, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed at the lodge for two nights in November. The lodge is wonderfully designed as an eco-facility. The bungalows are charming and the common area where meals are served is stunning, with large timber design. The food was of excellent quality and the excursions were an enjoyable glimpse in to a jungle rainforest. The guide was extraordinarily knowledgeable and passionate about the environment. In our time at the lodge we had the opportunity to go on two jungle walks and a paddle down the river. My only wish is that the lodge provide the equipment necessary to truly enjoy the natural setting. I was backpacking for three months and was carrying only a limited supply of rain clothing - certainly not rubber boots. I think the lodge would benefit from providing rain gear to encourage people to get out and enjoy the amazing natural environment.

Aside from this one area of concern, the lodge and what it has to offer is certainly worth a visit. Their idea of encouraging eco-tourism in the region is a brilliant one.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2011

We had read the mixed reviews on Trip Adviser, and arrived with an open mind. Well that changed very quickly; the welcome we received was warm and informative and the cold drinks were appreciated on a hot day. We loved our cool, attractive room and the gorgeous ambience of the lodge- clean and well maintained. Best of all were the guides and staff. Enrique was a special person with his passion for the forest, and we joined him on his ""orchid rescue"' morning, as well as excursions into the forest. We loved the kayak trip to Iguazu river, quiet, cool and calm before it crashes into the falls 80kms away.
The food was great- local and fresh. We thought that the wine was expensive! Our time here was very relaxed; we learned about the birds, forest and local Guarani people. It was indeed a fabulous 3 day experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vangirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
170 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

Wecome to the extremely endangered Atlantic Forest jungle with first class cabins, warm hospitality, and formal dining in a Gaudi-esque setting among the exhuberant foliage and birds. As a tropical botanist, I have traveled extensively in the Amazon and other tropical forests, but never seen such diversity in a small place as in Yacutinga. My sons loved all the strange insects, moths and butterflies - like things you see in exotic books. Bring boots and ponchos (its a type of rainforest), and CAMERAs. One word of caution-- If you miss their daily transport in a 4x4 bus (as we did because our flight was late), it is not an easy place to find on your own. In the little airport at Iguazu, Argentina, the guy greeting tourists convinced a taxi to take us out to Yacutinga. It is about two hours away from the airport, eventually on remote muddy roads where we got stuck, luckily within walking distance to the gate of Yacutinga, and we had flashlights.

Room Tip: Individual cabins - all seemed to be similar. Be sure to bring a flashlight for walking at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janis857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
29.5 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
30.2 mi away
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
La Aldea de la Selva Lodge
#12 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
29.9 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#11 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,679 reviews
32.3 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#5 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
31.1 mi away
Hotel Saint George
Hotel Saint George
#10 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yacutinga Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yacutinga Lodge

Property: Yacutinga Lodge
Address: Calle Yacutinga | Upper Iguazu River - Misiones, Puerto Iguazu N3370HSA, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yacutinga Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nested in the Interior Atlantic Rainforest this is the first and unique jungle lodge of Argentina. Sustainable tourism. Eco oriented tours within the exclusive Yacutinga's Private Nature Reserve. 80 kilometres away from the fantastic Iguazu Falls and its massive tourism. This Lodge has been built JUST FOR NATURE LOVERS. Native meals, ecotours conducted by ecologist & biologist, 20 rooms and 1 suite with a very intense contact with the Jungle atmosphere. A list of over 570 species of diurnal butterflies, more than 320 species of bird listed. Do not expect to observe plenty of mammals, our ecosystem doesn't allow this kind of gift. Expect for capuchin monkeys, coaties, hundred of butterflies , over 40 to 60 bird species in two days of ecoactivities. There other mammals that sometimes show up. Remember this is not a Zoo, everybody is free here... Including us. We do not offer a luxury accommodation. We offer equilibrium. Thank you for your attention. Carlos Sandoval Owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Yacutinga Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yacutinga Hotel Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing