We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Exe Hotel Cataratas
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Reviewed August 19, 2014

But then again you're paying for the location, not the hotel. We had a problem with our reservation as in they couldn't find it! Whoever's fault it was, either the hotel itself or the booking agent we used, we shouldn't have been made to sit in Reception for an hour whilst they tried to work it out - that was quite embarrassing.

We were finally chaperoned to our room only to find it still hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupants so we went for lunch and by the time we were finished it was ready. Shoebox in size - the guy who showed us the room said it was one with a nicer view (errrr rooftops?)! Received a bottle of sparkling wine from mgmt. re. earlier mishap with reservation - that was a nice touch.

Couldn't get a table in the a-la-carte restaurant on either night of our 2 night stay so first night we had room service - shrimp risotto was devine (can't remember what my partner had). Next night we went for the buffet - nothing really to shout about but nice enough. Breakfast was sufficient - bit of a free for all and too long a queue at the egg station for my liking.

So..... back to location - AMAZING!!! Great viewing platform in front of the falls and easy walk down to Devils Peak (we went before the hoards arrived!). Got wet, went back, got changed and went out again! Booked Jet Boat through Iguazu Experiences - enjoyed that immensely!

Overall a lovely stay but not quite a 5 for me. Would we stay again though - probably..... once we've saved up again!

Room Tip: We were middle of the road room and thought it was quite small. Saying that we do live in the Middl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hufflepuff33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014

The hotel is quite big, large room and coridors.
You can see that it was a nice hotel.
But- today the maintanance is bad, carpets are ripped and dirty.
We got a room with bad smell, but as we asked, it was replaced.
The SPA is very good open hours 09:00-21:00 and so is the swwiming pool.
It's not close to the city nor to the falls

Room Tip: check the room before you take it. Enjoy the Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oferta10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Well what can I say. In 1973 a 5 star hotel opens, and in 1973 this hotel was the talk of the town, in2014 it is still the talk of the town, but for many other reasons... It has not changed since. This includes the 1973 processed food menu!!!! The 1973 service, the 1973 furniture, towels, bedding.... It truly is stuck and can't get out of 1973. Ok if you like this grot and mould around you bath but I for one don't.....
And be warned!!!!!!
As I went to pay my bill which was $340 or A$2668 (ex VAT)for 3 nights, as my booking on booking.com indicates. Jumped up to A$3720.... (Ex VAT) as I had my iPad with me shown reception my original booking which indicates A$2668 or $340. (Ex. VAT). He said yes when u booked it was this price , but in $ it has not changed, I said I don't want to pay in $ I want to pay in A$ peso. He said I couldn't, I said I can as I am in Argentina and the currency here is peso, and you can't stop me. He said ok then said the exchange rate had changed from A$7.5 per $ to. A$10 per 1$. I said no the exchange rate was fixed at the time of the booking the bill is A$2668 as my booking here says in black and white.
Any how after them ringing his manager at my request and then ringing booking.com at my request (who were excellent I may add) which they were on the phone to for 30 mins to, I spoke to booking and they said I was correct and the fixed price at the time of booking is the only price you are liable to pay, as for the exchange rate at the time this was happening is A$7.5.... So basically they were lieing about the exchange rate to gain more money .
There for when paying at this hotel pay in peso and check on the internet at reception what the rate is your self as if they are doing this to every none Argentinian making a 20% plus on your expense. Pay in cash to as you will save as we'll. remember it's not your fault there economy is in trouble so don't be an escape goat to be ripped off... Better still book at the grand next door, it's more a 5 star. Even tho it's a 4.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Silvergost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast more than adequate plus the snack bar menu was very good.
Hotel is getting a little tired in places, a bit like the whole of Argentina. Even so we enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you.

Room Tip: Either front or rear, about the same, although rear are over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johngittings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights with friends during our trip to Iguazu falls, and booked the hotel because it was advertised as being 1km to the falls and as a 5 star hotel. When we arrived at the hotel after a 17 hour bus journey from Buenos Aires, we checked in at reception but were just thrown a form to complete and left standing for half an hour with no explanation as to what was happening. There was no porter service and the rooms are incredibly dated, much like those of a holiday inn. When we booked our trip
To the falls we discovered it was actually a 20 minute drive away.
Additionally the buffet breakfast was incredibly basic, much like that of a hostel - snotty egg and bread and fried sandwich ham, plus the women working in the restaurant were the rudest I've met in South America. No smile and no conversation, just cups and plates slammed on our table....

All in all, no where near a 5 star hotel experience

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Guzenda1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in Hotel Cataratas for 3 nights. Each morning, the breakfast was identical. Not one item was changed or added. Very boring. Also, the hotel must have received its stars a long time ago and one can certainly see that it was built on a grand scale. The rooms are huge but the curtaining and bedspreads are very old, as are the worn out towels in the bathroom. The shower is inside the bathtub and the shower enclosure has seen better days.
Its redeeming feature is the very nice pool area, indoor pool and spa.
Our pickup on departure was at 06h15 so the night before we asked for coffee and croissants to be prepared for us "to go". Notwithstanding assurances, these were not forthcoming in the morning.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed 2 nights there and i can say it is good base for visiting Iguazu waterfalls. Big room and very good service, breakfast simple, restaurant quite ok, but enjoying eve next to swimming pool with glass of wine - great! Very important - people from hotel always are very friendly and open for finding the best solution for you as a customer

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Magda_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,918 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
Gran Hotel Tourbillon
#28 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
Orquideas Hotel & Cabanas
#22 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yvy Hotel de Selva
Yvy Hotel de Selva
#23 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exe Hotel Cataratas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Hotel Cataratas

Address: Ruta Nacional 12 4, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina (Formerly Hotel Cataratas)
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $78 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Exe Hotel Cataratas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Exe Hotel Cataratas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cataratas Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Hotel Cataratas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing