We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - central location, pool, wonderful staff”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Saint George. The staff was very helpful. They booked us cabs and a restaurant reservation, gave us directions, and answered our many questions. The hotel pool was a great place to relax and spend a day. We swam and ordered food and drinks. Our only complaint was that the water pressure in our shower was very low one day. We called the front desk and they said they would send someone up. After an hour or so, my husband went downstairs and had to get someone to come up to fix it. That was the only negative during our stay. The location of the hotel was great. There are many restaurants near the hotel (within walking distance). The falls are a cab ride away (about 100 pesos, or $25). We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 2,220 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2011

I selected this hotel because it was reasonably priced, was located near the bus station for Igauzu, it had a pool and it was not a hostel. I was pleased with the pool area - not crowded and a nice place to relax after the Disney Land type journey to Iguazu. The breakfasts offered a great choice of breads, teas and coffees and fresh fruits. My other half was like a little kid with the fresh fruit. After so many bread only places in S. America, this was a welcomed change. The rooms are fine. Yes, definitely outdated, but the do the job. It is noisy and the sound proofing is minimal. We had some very loud and promiscuous Japanese next door to us who kept us awake before and after, but it didn't hamper our enjoyment of the area. I would stay here again and it is definitely family friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank intlwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Good location, clean, great pool and lovely friendly helpful staff who speak fabulous english

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathrynSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

Great hotel with 4 star facilities, pool, bar, spa (awesome massage & facial).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbugforever78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights in November 2010. We did not have a car, so we wanted a place that would be convenient for getting to the Falls and for getting to restaurants and shops. The St. George was perfect for us. It is right across the street from the bus station and it was a real advantage to be at the beginning of the route to the Falls rather that being picked up along the way, as other hotels would require. A remis stand is also close to the hotel. Restaurants and shopping are just a short walk away.

The St. George is a well-run, well-designed, medium-size hotel. The lobby is large and welcoming, with a t.v. area, a bar, and a lounge area. The desk staff were friendly and efficient. We were upgraded to a very large room (#314) with two large comfortable beds, a table with two chairs, t.v. stand with minibar, lots of counterspace and storage, and a built-in closet with a safe. There was a small balcony overlooking the side street. The tiled bathroom was huge, with an attractive stone vanity that had two sinks and plenty of counter space. There was a separate tub/jacuzzi and shower. The a.c. was fairly quiet, effective, and *not* directed at the bed which I appreciated (this can be one of my pet peeves).

The breakfast buffet was served in the attractive ground floor restaurant, a pleasant setting. It was quite good. There was a wide array of fresh fruit, juice, pastry, eggs & meat, sliced cheese, and a yogurt drink.

All in all, we highly recommend this hotel if you don’t have a car or if you want to be in town as opposed to in a jungle setting. We opted not to stay in the very expensive Sheraton that is in the park, and we really don’t regret that decision.

Tips: If you don’t have a car, a reasonably-priced way to get from the airport to the St. George is to use the shuttle bus. You can buy tickets just outside baggage claim – go past the remis desks that you see first, and there will be a ticket stand just beyond the baggage claim doors.

Tickets for the bus to the Falls can be purchased at any travel agent in the bus station, including the one right by the loading point – all prices are the same.

Visit Garganta del Diablo in late afternoon – the light is much better then.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NaMakani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Hotel Saint George is located in the town just across the road from the bus station, where you can easily catch the bus to Iguazu falls. They arranged pick up from the airport and the service, staff & rooms were all very good. No complaints. Buffet breakfast & dinner were also good, with a different hot food options each day. Double master room on the 4th floor was quiet and very spacious.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brissieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Hotel clean rooms with in room safe and tv.Pool was cold and much leaves and need cleaning. The Juacuzzi was look warm and not good jets.Breakfast for argentina good, fruit, eggs, bread, ham and cheese. Good location near bus terminal and off street with restaurants. I was facing the pool on an end on second floor-- so quiet. However people complained about hostel next door that plays loud music late. They are in the front of hotel so request back with pool view. They have a spa which runs about $60 for an hour massage.
Front desk very helpful for me. I lost my passport my first day at the missions. It is a 3.5 hour drive away. The front desk Juan went out of his way to call the place and discovered a guard that found it. He arranged a cab to bring it back( 7 hour round trip drive) since no tours that day. Yes I had to pay an expensive cab fare, but my trip was not ruined. Just do not use their phone. I had to use the phone to call the consult and it was $5.00 a minute. It was a $30 dollar phone call.Wow!.The place was about $80 per night. Internet is not free. If you want to print your boarding pass they charge you. Because of the service I received, by Argentina standards good breakfast, clean, safe place-- I would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishtea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,441 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
La Cantera Lodge de Selva by DON
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,932 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#19 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#30 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Avenida Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $97 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing