We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Being right across the street from the bus terminal and 10 minutes walk to anything else (in town) makes this a great choice for a few nights stay. The rooms are average but the included breakfast is plentiful and starts the day right. Tip, we researched this hotel online and went to the counter to negotiate our stay. We paid cash and stayed 2 nights for 79 us dollars versus the 250 we would have paid online. Travel/tour companys in town will readily exchange your dollars (Iguazu airport excluded) for the best rate. We got 10 to 1 versus 6.5 to 1 with little chance of getting ripped off/counterfit due to being legitimate tour providers (didn't even hassle us to sign on for a tour).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stugillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    769
    262
    81
    54
See reviews for
697
816
89
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Splitska, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hotel itself is not bad. At least for a small town of Puerto Iguazu. The service though was ridiculous. We came to the hotel exactly for the check-in time. The room was not ready and one of a receptionists asked us to wait a bit. No problem. After an hour of waiting and watching the other people coming after us and having their rooms, we went to a desk to ask if we can get our room as well. The other receptionist (this time a nice lady) answered that she had no idea about us and our situation with a room. She explained that her colleague (the guy who served us before) just finished his hours and went home without telling nothing to nobody…

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank igorgaljasevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were actually here two years ago, but I feel a little guilty for not reviewing this hotel previously.
After two nights here, we crossed to the Brazilian side and later that afternoon flew to Rio. It was only when we unpacked at our hotel in Rio that we realised that we had left several hundred dollars worth of clothes hanging in wardrobes. From Brazil we went on to Peru and did not get home in Australia for another three weeks.

When we got home, we contacted the hotel, without much hope of ever seeing our clothes again. But the Hotel Saint George had found and stored our clothes. What is more, they packed them and sent them to us, only charging for the freight costs. This was outstanding honesty and service and deserves to be recognised.

Incidentally, their breakfast buffet was very good too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at the Hotel Saint George. The room was clean and comfortable and the pool and deck were good. It seems that they have so many one-night stays that they "process' guests rather that actual host them. The staff smile but everything comes across as routine. The breakfast buffet was good. It is a hotel and you are aware of it.

Being in town allowed me to explore other eating options.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cyrus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We came looking for another hotel when we did not accept staying at the hotel where we initially had the reservation. They had only one room left and the difference in price with the other hotel was very small, about 10 - 15 USD, but the difference between the offer was huge. The room was very nice, the bathroom also. The staff was very nice and friendly and the pool amazing and they also have a bar next to the pool. The hotel is close to the main avenue of Iguazu, nice restaurants and bars. We had a pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a good base for visiting Iguazu falls from both Argentina (30 min by taxi) and Brasil (~40 min by taxi ). The hotel is placed in the small center of Iguazu, and you could walk to different really good restaurants.
The hotel is rustic and our room was spacios and convenient.
The garden with the pool was a real oasis.
The staff was helpful and friendly . However we had some problems when booking a table for the first dinner, the hotel and the restaurant for our half board pension didn't have a perfect cooperation. But this was during
Christmas Eve so it was a bit busy. However the food was good, especially the pasta.
Our overall impression of the stay was really good!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

First stop on checkin was the pool! It was almost 40C and 80% humidity so we wanted to cool down. There were lots of lounge chairs and towels plus a couple hammocks. Room for everyone.

The shower felt like a waterfall - no low flow, environmentally friendly shower heads here! What a luxury.

Breakfast was a buffet of pastries which seems to be the Argentine custom. Not a lot of protein.

Centrally located close to good restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,144 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#13 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,866 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#6 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Village Cataratas Hotel
Village Cataratas Hotel
#16 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Property: Hotel Saint George
Address: Av. Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing