We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel but over priced”
Review of Hotel Saint George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Saint George
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Disappointing ! Expected more from pictures and words on adverts.

Not worth top price as charged - ok hotel for less but not for price paid.

Pool area was not in use at time of stay which was not stated at time of booking

Hotel staff did not speak much English and were not that helpful

Rooms were large but a bit dated and the bed was uncomfortable and sagging in the middle

Location was very good and central to town and the bus terminal which was very useful - close to restaurants

Overall disappointing!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 224andreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 205 of 2,133 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

When we checked in we were shown to a room and given our keys.

We hadnt been in there for more than 3 mins when our phone rang (couldnt really here it as it was a little broken), but it was the front desk explaining they had given us an incorrect room according to what we had paid . It was when I answered the phone that I noticed the bug crawling over the nigh stand. It was more than a few! The carpet was stained everywhere. The walls had marks all over them. The bathroom wasnt dirty, but it was as clean as something that well used could ever get.

We moved to our new room in the new section of the hotel and the room was much better. Very clean, very nice. I guess they are either renevating or it is a new wing, no idea.

The included breakfast wasnt great, much the normal fare for these type of things.

Great location in the heart of downtown Iguazu. Would personally pay the extra and go to the sheraton.

Room Tip: Master room please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Travelled with my partner between 7-9 July.
Expected a four star hotel for the price i was paying, however i was left sorely upset.
Many issues with the hotel -
1/ very dates rooms. Odd smell in rooms-combination of poor ventilation and no exhaust fan in the room. also old insect repellent smell.
2/ numerous bugs including cockroaches in the room!! Not a four star quality by any means!! when informing staff i was only answered by a simple apology.
3/ air conditioner unit had no dials and making it virtually unusable. the only way it could turn on and off was by calling reception to shut off the main power
4/wifi is extremely poor. ++slow in the room and continually disconnecting. Even in the lobby the wifi is too slow to be practical. only one working computer in a large hotel is also not very helpful.

Staff are courteous and efficient. the lobby is quite new and much nicer than the rooms.
Buffet dinner included was very tasty.
I would personally NOT recommend anyone stay here due to high costs, and what is more closely aligned to 2 star accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctoroftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We received your feedback and appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments with us.

Regarding the issues with the Hotel, we would like contact to you personally because we really like to know more about.

In accordance of your comments about the equipment of the Hotel I would like comment to you that the Hotel have not fan because Iguazú is a warm location and required air conditioner, usually a fan is not enough.
Constantly we are updating the equipment in the Hotel and unfortunately this not happened yet in the room that was occupied for you, was for this reason, that the air conditioner was turned on and turned off the front desk, we take advantage of the winter season for do it.

Your experience at our hotel does not seem typical of our guests, and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies again and we hope that if you choose to stay with us again in the future your experience will be a happy one too.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We had a room at the front of the hotel facing onto the street and only discovered the pool and surrounding gardens the next day. That would be a much nicer outlook and quieter part of the hotel to stay in. The rooms were fine, standard rooms with the facilities you would expect from most. The only water available is to be purchased from the bar downstairs. There is no bottled water in the rooms. The food was very disappointing. The first night we ordered from the restaurant. It was incorrect and some of it couldn't be eaten as neither of us wanted to eat what was delivered, or in fact could recognise what it was. The breakfast was very average. The fruit was tasteless and the range of bread was minimal. What was available didn't appeal to us at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the pool away from the front of the hotel. Maybe don't book a pac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel three nights whilst visiting the Iguazu Falls.

Location-wise it is excellent with the bus station (to get the bus to the Falls) just a couple of minutes walk away. The town centre is close by, as are a couple of very good restaurants.

The room was a bit dated, but comfortable. The reception and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

The choice of food at breakfast is vast! We ate in the restaurant just one of the evenings, my steak was just heavenly!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your comment! It is important for us to know what our guests experience was while staying at Saint George Hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed our prime location in the downtown, and the special attention of the reception and restaurant staff. Our staff is trained to continually improve the quality of the service and to be as helpful as possible.

Regarding your reviews about the rooms, I would like comment to you that we are updating the rooms and the Hotel in general.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Saint George Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

THE STAFF WAS AMAZING! JOSE was so helpful & friendly and Valerio, the manager, was very professional and courteous. Maria, at reception, was very pleasant all the time. They make you feel very 'at home'.

(Español abajo).

The restaurant was great! We had breakfast included, so we ventured out for dinners... The last night we ate dinner at the hotel - we wished we had eaten there every night, it was so good! Thanks to Tania, the hostess, we were enticed with a complimentary glass of champagne and we are so grateful for the fabulous dinner that followed!

An all-around very positive experience at the St. George... It is located right in town so easy walking to Iguazü Center - and also right across from the Bus Terminal to take you to the Park and other sites that are out of town!
The St. George is truly the best place in town! Everything else so centrally located is basically for backpackers! TWO THUMBS UP! A+++++++ LEAVE GOOD TIPS - They deserve it!!!

BUENISIMO TODO! Super bien ubicado - el personal, JOSE, VALERIO, MARIA fue muy atento y nos hicieron sentir como en casa. El restaurante, excelente comida y servicio. De hecho tuvimos incluido el desayuno entonces comimos afuera las cenas. La ultima noche, la encantadora, Tania (La Infitriona), nos seducid con champagne de la casa y le agradecimos después por la mejor cena de toda la semana. Deseamos haber cenado todo la semana!

Recomendaremos este hotel a todos quien quiere disfrutar mucho buen servicio, buena comida y un Hotel Centrico. Se mareen BUENAS PROPINAS!!!

Room Tip: HIgher Floors have view of Brasil... Upgrade to a Double room. Eat at the restaurant 'Doña Mari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARCICaboSanLucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your comment. It is important for us to know what our guests experience was while staying at Saint George Hotel.

We try our very best to make sure that our guests are comfortable and feel like at home during their stay and is really gratifying to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon again at Saint George Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Our experience was terrible. The reception staff checked another party into our room while we were still staying there. These people had a key to our room and actually came in while we were in there. Anything could have been taken if we had been out. The restaurant staff were very surly when we went down for breakfast every morning. To top it all there was not a single manager or assistant manager all the time we were there to even deal with our complaint. In spite of making a strong complaint, not a single thing has come our way by way of compensation. I would strongly advise giving this one a miss. Sadly too late for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crystal059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgazek, Coordinador Operativo at Hotel Saint George, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel!
Your experience at our hotel does not seem typical of our guests.

Regarding your comment about the room, this one was an unfortunate mistake, and we have taken the necessary measure, in accordance the other complaints I would like contact to you for know more about that.

Please accept our apologies again and we do hope you will consider us again for your travel plans in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.6 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
2,320 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
La Cantera Jungle Lodge
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,900 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#5 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
Boutique Hotel de la Fonte
#19 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
569 reviews
0.5 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#8 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,806 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#9 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saint George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saint George

Address: Avenida Cordoba 148 | Amarante Street, Puerto Iguazu N3370COO, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $98 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Saint George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saint George is located in the center of Puerto Iguazú, 17 km from the most beautiful scenery of nature, the Iguazu Falls, one of the seven Natural Wonders of the World. Sustainability is also part of our identity at Hotel Saint George, in this way we take pride in our Sustainability Policy, across the entire hotel. It is reflected in aspects such as the use of materials with low environmental impact, or waste management, among others. Throughout the hotel, you will find Sustainable Tips with which you can join our Sustainable Management. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saint George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Hotel
Saint George Puerto Iguazu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing