We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fun Casino. Helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
ontheroadagn7
Level Contributor
533 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fun Casino. Helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We were staying on the Brazil side, but wanted to enter Argentina to gamble and have dinner. This is pretty much the first casino on the right hand side of the street once you cross the border.

Casino was fun. Not many players due to the early hour (7 PM) and possibly the Argentina economy, but we had fun playing black jack.

The main restaurant didn't open for thirty minutes so we asked for a local restaurant at the front desk. Many hotels would want you (and your money) to stay within the hotel, but they graciously recommended a steak restaurant about three blocks away. It would have been possible to walk but our cab driver (from the Brazil side) told us he would take us there and pick us up after dinner.

I was amazed at how cheap a very good meal for two was. We had a full bottle of wine, two entrees, dessert and other drinks and with tip it was less than $50.

Recommendation: If you are staying on the Brazil side, ask your hotel for an English speaking taxi driver. Then see if they will wait on that Argentina side and bring you back. The rate was 100 BR each way with no charge for the waiting = about $40 each way. You also need to be mindful of the Argentina VISA charge for Americans. You have to pay the visa fee online before you get to the border and it's around $160 per person (in addition to whatever VISA you paid to get into Brazil.)

Room Tip: Didn't stay there. Just went to Casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ontheroadagn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    207
    46
    20
    14
See reviews for
469
309
25
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a 2 night stay as part of a 32 person tour to South America The rooms were large and comfortable and the outside was pleasant. We were lucky enough to see humming birds as well as a few lizards around the swimming pool. Sadly, the staff did not seem to understand that when a group of thirsty English travellers returned from a day at Iguassu Falls, they wanted a drink. I had to wait 1 hour from ordering until receiving a drink and that was with 3 return trips to make sure they hadn't forgotten about us. The food was the same. it was as though the staff weren't geared up for any level of speed except manana. it's a shame, because they were very friendly, but just incredibly slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CleoburyRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Rooms much larger than average - probably the only plus point at this hotel. Unfortunately staff are not trained to look after clients. They are very standoffish and talk to you as if you should already know the answer to your question. Our 3 night stay was a catalogue of disaster. I wrote a lengthy e-mail about our dissatisfaction which remains unanswered. To top it all, rather than get any kind of apology or even a discussion on how to pit things right, we were We greeted with a bill, upon checking out which include charges for things we did not have, from minibar and took a good half hour to resolve upon checking out when our private transfer was already waiting. This made us late for our flight out of Iguazu and got the last 2 seats on plane. We have travelled extensively and can honestly say we have had much better service from lower end hotels. Management will do well to understand that the size of rooms do not in anyway make up for appropriate staff training. Whilst mistakes do happen staff need to acknowledge when these are made and how to rectify them speedily. Staff should also have a respect of clients limited and valuable time they have on holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaD58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel and grounds look very impressive and the room we had on the third floor was very good. However, we found the service and staff not to be very welcoming or helpful. On arrival in the lobby and upon checking in, we were left to our own devices as to finding our room in what is quite a large resort.
The only English speaking receptionist was quite brusque in response to our questions and not of any useful assistance to enquiries regarding local restaurants. He gave the strong impression that he did not like having to deal with us for reasons beyond our comprehension.
Supposedly a five star resort hotel yet it lacked any kind of warmth towards the residents and there was little sign of friendliness from any staff that we had received in Buenos Aires.
It is effectively just a stopping point for a visit to the Falls and I would suggest looking to other nearby hotels rather than this one as I'm sure a much friendlier welcome and nicer experience is on offer elsewhere and probably a damn sight cheaper.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BDP22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed on this hotel for a few days. It meant to be a dispatch point to The Iguazu treasures but it was more than that. The large comfortable room (though a little used and shabby ), The landscape and the service were excellent.

Room Tip: Junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarakz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This resort is stunning. The landscape was so beautiful it felt like paradise. The pools were beautiful - I only wish I would have had enough time to enjoy them. We were supposed to fly into Iguazu by 3pm on Monday but we had a flight delay due to weather. We arrived at 11pm. I felt like the trip was redeemed once we arrived at the resort. Our group was greeted with a refreshing smoothie and a local bread. We headed straight to our rooms and when we went in we were so delighted! The room was a VERY good size. The decor was beautiful. There were electronics built in to turn lights on/off from bed. Our view was like looking at a park. The bathroom was beautifully done in marble, double sinks, large soaking tub, separate shower and separate toilet area. We slept wonderful in the very comfortable king size bed.

The morning breakfast was divine. The fruits were just beautiful. So many choices on the buffet. Coffee was great. Service was wonderful.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. We hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlebuddy4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuquay-Varina, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The room on the 4th floor was beautiful. Big, spacious and very comfortable. The walk-in shower with the tropical down pour shower head was the perfect way to relax after a long day walking around Iguazu falls.
There are not may souvenir shops that we could find walking through town. So don't expect to do any shopping outside the hotel.
The pool is big, beautiful and multilevel. Make time for the kids to enjoy it other wise you will have to suffer the consequences the rest of your vacation.

Room Tip: The garden view is the best. The higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
1.3 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#7 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,757 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Panoramic Grand
Panoramic Grand
#6 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
Amerian Portal del Iguazu
#4 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,409 reviews
2.0 mi away
Costa del Sol Iguazu
Costa del Sol Iguazu
#1 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
5.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
Mercure Iguazu Hotel Iru
#5 of 47 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino

Property: Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino
Address: Ruta Nacional 12 Km 1640, Puerto Iguazu N3370HKA, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#2 Family Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 15 minutes away from the Iguazu National Park and 20 minutes from the Puerto Iguazu Airport, the Iguazu Grand Resort Spa & Casino is the most luxurious hotel in the city of Puerto Iguazu, Argentina. It offers a wide range of activities for the whole family. Our playland is specially designed for children under 5. It has a playground with a ball pit, a mini-theatre, a soft playground, a bouncy castle and many recreational activities. Our Kids/Teens area has Playstations, Nintendo, Wii, computers, table tennis and foosball. The recreational team organizes great activities every day such as pool games, mini-golf, big-sized chess, climbing wall and zip line, themed parties, mini-chef cooking activities, juggling classes and art workshops. Our Spa del Paraiso offers different therapeutic treatments, massage, a water circuit that includes sauna, steam room, Scottish shower, relaxing room, indoor pool and a Roman bath. We invite you to discover the Iguazu Grand Resort Spa & Casino, one of the most well-known hotels in Argentina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iguazu Grand Resort, Spa And Casino
Iguazu Grand Hotel Puerto Iguazu
Iguazu Grand Puerto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing