We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and greater host”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Vaca Enamorada

La Vaca Enamorada
Ranked #4 of 115 Restaurants in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DE LAS 18:00 PM a 24:00 PM
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and greater host”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

I just wanted to thank mister Alberto for the great food (mariposa beef), the great stories he told us about his rich life experience, and for putting on the records of my fellow countryman Andrea Bocelli to let me feel at home. I don't go to a restaurant just to fill my stomach, but for the experience; and believe me, knowing this person and tasting his wife's kitchen is a great one.

Muchas gracias!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank galiziacentrale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavacaenamorada, Propietario at La Vaca Enamorada, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Google Translation
Muy amable por su valiosa nota en Tripadvisor y por la cortesía de sus palabras, deseamos agradecer su gesto y estamos muy felices de haber recibido a un amigo, es el espíritu con el cual esperamos a un huésped. Un saludo muy cordial de Lili y Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    303
    83
    51
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foz do Iguacu, PR
1 review
“Simple and amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Fresh food, dishes are made with only the freshest ingredients, great ambience, fantastic service. Highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SamuelAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavacaenamorada, Propietario at La Vaca Enamorada, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Google Translation
Fue un placer atender a usted y nos alegra que apreciara nuestro menú. Muy amable por su comentario en Tripadvisor que valoramos mucho. Lo esperamos con afecto de lili y Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I had read great things about La Vaca on Trip Advisor. We were a little nervous as we were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived and the power went out just as we sat down! However the fabulous Alberto simply lit some candles and talked us through the menu. We had the most delicious gambas pil pil style prawns to start. My husband went for the steak and I decided on the pasta main (a ham and cheese ravioli type pasta with tomato sauce). Both were absolutely fantastic! The steak was cooked to perfection and was HUGE. The pasta was so fresh I've never tasted anything like it (and I've been to Italy!). If you are a high maintenance diner who expects everything at the click of a finger this probably isn't for you - Alberto works the floor pretty much alone so you have to be patient as the restaurant fills up. If you appreciate great food and a great experience then be patient it's totally worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavacaenamorada, Propietario at La Vaca Enamorada, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
When people like you have the good taste to read and interpret flavors, aromas in a simple dish, undoubtedly understands food. Very grateful for your kind words and for sharing on TRIPADVISOR. A very warm greeting from Lili and Juan Alberto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor value for money, below average food in an empty restaurant.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We arrived to a completely empty restaurant - it did not fill up. I like to eat in restaurants with an atmosphere and one where there is a feeling that we are eating authentic local food. When we asked Alberto whether it fills up he responded that it depended on where in the world people come from as to when they arrive at the restaurant. He gave no indication that locals ever eat here. Every other restaurant in the area was full at this time - I saw this with my own eyes as I arrived in the taxi.

The decor is not very inviting when empty.

Alberto then recited the menu with no indication of prices.
For each course there were two options.
We chose a grape fondue to start, that Alberto assured us was large enough for two, and steak for main.
Alberto then said that he had some great Patagonian beer - not something you expect as the first option in Argentina to accompany a steak. We had to ask whether he had any Malbec and he said yes, one type.

The Malbec arrived already open, in an ice bucket, with a hanging label that looked like it had just been put on the bottle since there was nothing stuck to the bottle. Any suggestion that a quality wine would be labelled in such a way is not something I have personally seen anywhere before or since. I also understand that wines should be served at a specific temperature - which is why ever other restaurant I have ever been to, and certainly ones that claim to be so good, have an area where they regulate the temperature to keep the wines at the optimal temperature to be served. Alberto gave no explanation for his having put the wine on ice, nor was there any indication as to when it should be removed or any attempt by Alberto to remove it from the bucket at any point during the meal.

Having been touring the Mendoza region and sampled amazing wines from many vineyards before here I know that the wine we were served was not the finest that Argentina has on offer. We left a third of the bottle undrunk.

The starter arrived. 6 grapes on cocktail sticks with paper pineapples on the end with a cheese fondue sauce that had an extremely thick skin on it. No amount of Alberto telling us with huge melodramatic gestures that it was "gourmet" can make up for a skin on the fondue that the grapes on their own could not cut through. It was not pleasant.

The steaks then arrived. I travelled with my partner for a total of two weeks in Argentina and sampled steaks almost every day in many different restaurants. These steaks were definitely below the standard of the other steaks that I had had on our trip. They were the first steaks that I had come across that were covered in such a large amount of salt. The fries themselves were not totally unpleasant, but were pretty average compared again to what I had tasted.

We decided to leave and get dessert elsewhere.

The bill came. I do not mind paying for good food and wine. I have been to Michelin starred restaurants and other great worldwide restaurants - something Alberto likes to claim about his restaurant. I like getting good value for money and appreciate good food at a decent price. What I expect when I pay high prices is good food to match. 660 Pesos (approx $100USD), however, for both of us was far in excess of the quality of the food we were served. In Mendoza we paid 500 Pesos for both of us for an exquisite 5 course meal, that had amazing steak, with almost unlimited wine pairing and a good bottle of wine to takeaway. We also had a nice meal in another restaurant in Iguazu that gave better value for money.

And then finally we were given a slip soliciting for comments on Trip Advisor.

Alberto is clearly hard-working and enthusiastic about his restaurant, and I wish him and this restaurant all the best. But La Vaca Enamorada is not a restaurant I would recommend. It is very overpriced, and having tried others in the area and in Argentina I would definitely recommend going elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank Toby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavacaenamorada, Propietario at La Vaca Enamorada, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Customer, we are sorry your negative criticism from the place where they have put us diners are saying, our position in this web site is solely because of the opinions of others to our action, that is, we do not write criticism, or make any gift for positive reviews.
Otherwise. can not, and it is our intention to refute his statements. We regret that our kitchen was not to his liking.
We only extremely aggressive your comments personally, argue away from each manifests its nature. Remained agreeable to orders. ALBERTO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rustic Michelin star cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Great food - michelin star quality - the poached pears were my personal favorite.
Great host - attentive and delightful.
If only it were on my doorstep - I'd be a regular diner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Levansri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lavacaenamorada, Propietario at La Vaca Enamorada, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Very grateful for your kind note and post it on TRIPADVISOR. Satisfying generate these emotions in our guests is a delight for us. Thank you very much. Sincerely Lili and Juan Alberto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaca Enamorada also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 

Been to La Vaca Enamorada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing