We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful flavors and outdoor seating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De La Fonte

De La Fonte
Ranked #3 of 115 Restaurants in Puerto Iguazu
Price range: $20 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Chef Matteo Lagostena After years of studying, researching and hard work: he finally could define himself and decided to have a Autor kitchen. Join us in this great adventure through the flavors! El Chef Matteo Lagostena Después de años de estudio, investigación y trabajo duro: por fin pudo definirse a sí mismo y decidió tener una Cocina de Autor. Únase a nosotros en esta gran aventura a través de los sabores!
Pasadena, ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful flavors and outdoor seating.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We enjoyed two wonderful dinners at the property. The flavorfully colorful menu was inspired by the chefs favorite artists which was a fun take on entrees. My wife and I both enjoyed all our plates and appetizers. They were probably some of our favorite in Argentina, particularly after being "beefed out" by all our parilla visits.

We preferred the outdoor seating of our first dinner, but our second dinner was forced indoors by rain. If possible, eat outside wearing bug repellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattcobleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    73
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

This will rank in our top 5 dinners of all time. Wonderful adventure in tastes. The presentation was beautiful, the service just right and the total experience a memorable treat. We enjoyed talking with fellow guests. All in all, fabulous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HughC947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Art and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant! the best we ate in Puerto Iguazu, where we stayed 4 days and tried many different restaurants. At the Gourmet La Fonte the service is fantastic, with loads of small treats ("the chef's compliment") and the food is not only good but also beautifully presented, in an European style that sets it apart the other restaurants in the area. The hotel where the restaurant is is wonderful, and eating by the pool those gorgeous dishes was the cherry on the cake of our trip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio_Sole_Cava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The restaurant at Hotel de la Fonte is nice and offers good service. Sadly, this is where all stops. We were only one of two couple eating at the restaurant, and unfortunately, the food is not very good. The chef may want to offer a refined experience but fails in the execution. My steak with the wine sauce was just a steak with wine poured over it. My partner’s meal was also not memorable. Having had the entrees and the meal, we couldn’t think of ordering dessert. Too bad, because the hotel is lovely and the service is above average.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony and Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHFIguazu, Propietario at De La Fonte, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Google Translation
mirando otra ves las criticas de mi restaurante me di cuenta que solo dos personas en fecha muy cercana no fueron satisfechos y esto me estimula a hacer siempre mejor. Gracias a Ustedes dos también.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Place to stay in Iguazu!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

I spent three nights at Boutique Hotel de la Fonte and it was too short.

Facility - The owner is an Italian architect and put a lot of effort to personalize each room, there are 10 in total. The rooms are big, clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The garden has fountains, little pounds, all sorts of exotic trees, a salt water pool and jaccuzy… an Oasis!

Location - the Hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area of Puerto Iguazu. It is in a residential area of the city so it is calm but yet a short walk to stores, restaurants, Las Tres Fonteras viewpoint and other attractions in town.

Food - The breakfasts are amazing and they serve the best espresso/ in town. We ate every single night at the Hotel restaurant as the food was way too good. The menu is certainly small but the Chef is a Michelin Star and you can tell! And if you have been to La Cabrera in Buenos Aires, well, let me tell you that this is just better!
I am from France so food is a must for me in order to have a perfect experience and the chef certainly met the standard and above. You must try his Vino tinto filet mignon!

The Staff – Simply amazing.

I was with a friend but this hotel is very romantic and is a must for couples!

In brief, if you are looking for charm, calm and a family ambiance you should definitely stay at Boutique Hotel de la Fonte.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtezier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De La Fonte also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 

Been to De La Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing