We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Art and food”
Review of De La Fonte

De La Fonte
Ranked #4 of 118 Restaurants in Puerto Iguazu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Chef Matteo Lagostena After years of studying, researching and hard work: he finally could define himself and decided to have a Autor kitchen. Join us in this great adventure through the flavors! El Chef Matteo Lagostena Después de años de estudio, investigación y trabajo duro: por fin pudo definirse a sí mismo y decidió tener una Cocina de Autor. Únase a nosotros en esta gran aventura a través de los sabores!
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a wonderful restaurant! the best we ate in Puerto Iguazu, where we stayed 4 days and tried many different restaurants. At the Gourmet La Fonte the service is fantastic, with loads of small treats ("the chef's compliment") and the food is not only good but also beautifully presented, in an European style that sets it apart the other restaurants in the area. The hotel where the restaurant is is wonderful, and eating by the pool those gorgeous dishes was the cherry on the cake of our trip.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Antonio_Sole_Cava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (482)
There are newer reviews for De La Fonte
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 139 of 483 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

The restaurant at Hotel de la Fonte is nice and offers good service. Sadly, this is where all stops. We were only one of two couple eating at the restaurant, and unfortunately, the food is not very good. The chef may want to offer a refined experience but fails in the execution. My steak with the wine sauce was just a steak with wine poured over it. My partner’s meal was also not memorable. Having had the entrees and the meal, we couldn’t think of ordering dessert. Too bad, because the hotel is lovely and the service is above average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Tony and Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHFIguazu, Propietario at De La Fonte, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2013
Google Translation

mirando otra ves las criticas de mi restaurante me di cuenta que solo dos personas en fecha muy cercana no fueron satisfechos y esto me estimula a hacer siempre mejor. Gracias a Ustedes dos también.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I spent three nights at Boutique Hotel de la Fonte and it was too short.

Facility - The owner is an Italian architect and put a lot of effort to personalize each room, there are 10 in total. The rooms are big, clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. The garden has fountains, little pounds, all sorts of exotic trees, a salt water pool and jaccuzy… an Oasis!

Location - the Hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area of Puerto Iguazu. It is in a residential area of the city so it is calm but yet a short walk to stores, restaurants, Las Tres Fonteras viewpoint and other attractions in town.

Food - The breakfasts are amazing and they serve the best espresso/ in town. We ate every single night at the Hotel restaurant as the food was way too good. The menu is certainly small but the Chef is a Michelin Star and you can tell! And if you have been to La Cabrera in Buenos Aires, well, let me tell you that this is just better!
I am from France so food is a must for me in order to have a perfect experience and the chef certainly met the standard and above. You must try his Vino tinto filet mignon!

The Staff – Simply amazing.

I was with a friend but this hotel is very romantic and is a must for couples!

In brief, if you are looking for charm, calm and a family ambiance you should definitely stay at Boutique Hotel de la Fonte.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mtezier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

I stayed in the Boutique Hotel de la Fonte (see review) and i had dinner there for my last evening!
There is not a lot of choice but it was excellent! I had a lomo al vino tinto, and it was for sure the best lomo i had in Argentina!!! The service is also excellent.
You can eat inside or just next to the swimming pool, unfortunatly, it was a little bit cold to have dinner outside but anyway i really enjoy my meal.
Recommanded!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHFIguazu, Gerente at De La Fonte, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your review, we are really glad that you liked your dinner at our restaurant.

Regards

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We ate here one night when staying at the attached Hotel Boutique de la Fonte. Booked the hotel because of rave food reviews. We were stunned at how limited the menu was. We were the only ones eating. Service was good, as there was only us!!
Nice bread and a free starter of Bruschetta. Then we shared a chilli pasta dish. It was heavy and lacked any finesse. Then Barb had a pizza, because they did not have the fish listed on the menu. OK pizza, but hardly fine dining. I had fillet in red wine sauce. That's what I got. 3 slices of fillet swimming in a sauce. Nothing else with it. It lacked any flair at all. If this is fine dining then I'm Elvis. Nice wine list at reasonable prices, but food expensive. All prices for some in US$.
We had a meal in Puerto Iguazu the next day and really enjoyed it - all for AR$ 150.
We have eaten all around the world and were hoping for something special here. Hugely disappointed. I just do not understand the rave reviews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NeilandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHFIguazu, Gerente at De La Fonte, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are really sorry that you don't like your dinner.
Anyway, as we told you about the fish, it was only because we are working with fresh products and at that moment it was no surubi in the market (during one month). That why we offer you an other kind of fish (a better quality one).

About the pasta, you ordered a garlic and chilli pasta, you don't need to be Elvis to know that it could be really spicy. Anyway, we decided to make some modifications at our menu and this dish will be remplaced in the future.

The lomo is one of our best seller, as you can also see in the other reviews and of course you can order salad, papas noisettes, puré,... with it. It is in the menu.

Best Regards

The staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De La Fonte also viewed

Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
Puerto Iguazu, Province of Misiones
 

Been to De La Fonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing