We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Iguazu Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Iguazu Royal
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Simple, budget hotel just a few minutes walk from the main street and about 10mins from the bus station. Puerto Iguazu town is small but very charming and safe; there are a good number of nice restaurants and shops and I understand it is much less expensive than the Brazilian Foz de Iguazu.
The room was clean, comfortable and very quiet and although the staff spoke no English at all they went to great lengths to help wherever possible.
A good option for budget travellers who prefer peace and quiet to noisy hostels.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Iguazu Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 195 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel at about 15mn walk from bus station. Super nice staff.
Clean, good sized rooms and bathrooms, good breakfast.
Excellent value.

We were very happy with this hotel choice. People complaining should pick somewhere more expensive if they can afford it. This is an excellent place for budget travelers!

One last thing: Pay in local currecy, their exchange rate is not good if you pay in dollars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Location of this place isn't great - its a bit of a walk and in the meantime you're seeing the other hostels that you gleened over despite being same price or cheaper. But the seller to me was the pool. It was hot and carrying our gear this far I wanted a nice cool pool. Got there early so dumped bags (for info: checkin didn't have english speaker not that this was a problem for us and rating doesn't reflect this) and headed off to Iguazu - which is spectacular! Then returned again hot and sweaty and went to pool. It was gross - cloudy water and green sides. Ugh. Room was simple and nice. At least AC worked. Then if you want meals - all the way back into town... and back again. My advice would be to stay somewhere closer as similar prices and don't let the photos of the pool fool you!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ramenmuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

After many kilometers of flat litoral landscape we weren't prepared for a hilly Iguazu. So a hotel 'a couple of blocks from the bus terminal' – turns out to be a bit of a trek. But no matter.
The room was large enough; the bathroom not so – complete with the rogue-wired power shower! as has been mentioned before. Breakfast was lousy.
Saving grace was the pool.
Had a bit of a problem regarding the room cost – this seemed to set up an atmosphere that persisted. On the second night a thunderstorm knocked out the power for much of the night. We were left to fend for ourselves (lucky we had our own torch).
In the morning – staff were completely oblivious to the inconvenience of guests.
To cap it, they insisted we vacate our room at 1000 and wait for our cab in the lobby.
So, from being prepared to be forgiving about the place – we would give them 'nil point' for customer service. Plus it's a bit of a trek to go get a meal.
It's clear that this place is one of those places that does just enough to get by. So, do yourself a favour – look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Check for the poorly wired power shower!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluebottle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here while in Iguazu. It's in a good location and isn't expensive. The room was ok, Bed and room was basic and clean. Found a couple of cockroaches, one in the shower, the other scuttling across the floor. Must have got in through the crack under the front door.
Air con took hours to regulate the temperature in the room.
Breakfasts were incredibly basic...cartons of orange juice, tea/coffee and croissants/bread - that was it!
Stay here if there's nowhere else available.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarletDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and we loved it, just as much we loved Iguazu and the waterfalls!! Roberto (the owner) is a great host, very very helpful and kwoledgeble. We spent couple of mornings at the property and noticed the hard work of the housekeepers cleaning rooms and public areas! The pool is a great place to cool off after a long day in the heat. The room had a/c and a handy fridge. Towels were changed every morning and breakfast was plentiful!Thank you!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a hostel/motel rather than a hotel. The staff didn't speak English, though this wasn't a problem and they were very friendly. The private double room with bathroom and air conditioning had been cleaned to a good standard. The room we were allocated seemed fairly new compared to the others behind the pool. We'd booked this place because it had a pool however, we were disappointed that it wasn't very clean. There are other hostels of a similar standard slightly closer to the town centre. Breakfast was OK and WiFi was good. There is no left luggage area and backpacks were stacked around the restaurant and reception. Security didn't seem to be an issue as we left ours in the same area on the day of check out - albeit with no valuables.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.2 mi away
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
Hosteria Casa Blanca Iguazu
#46 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#10 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
348 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
La Sorgente Hotel Posada
#28 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
Hotel Carmen Iguazu
#38 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
Costa Iguazu Apart Hotel
#14 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
Hotel Yvera Cataratas
#27 of 50 in Puerto Iguazu
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iguazu Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iguazu Royal

Address: Avenida San Lorenzo 132, Puerto Iguazu N3370JLO, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 50 Hotels in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range: $22 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Iguazu Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Iguazu Royal Hotel is located three blocks from the bus station and just four blocks from Puerto Iguazu downtown.Located in a residential neighborhood is a family hotel which offers the best service to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Iguazu Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing