We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Yaguarete

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Yaguarete
Ranked #7 of 52 Puerto Iguazu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Casa Yaguarete. We had mixed feelings about it. Lorena was very nice and the rooms and the place were as shown and described by others but we felt that it could have been much better with a little bit of effort. I read some reviews on TA and was really surprised how people are still looking for the internet connection in the middle of Iguazu!! So if you really want to stay connected to the high speed internet, go to the fancy hotel or better even, don't travel! The internet works ok at Lorena's house but it may have to be reset every once in a while. There are also some problems with the water so you may have to be patient at times. Breakfast is good but nothing fancy. The bus is a good way to get into town and out to the falls. Bus to the argentine side of the falls is 30 pesos each way and it takes 20 minutes. The trip to town is 3 pesos each way and the bus comes every 20 minutes more or less. Very good value for money but the host could improve the experience a lot with some attention to detail like providing some basic toiletries and ensuring the bathrooms are well supplied. We recommend it for those who are prepared to rough it out a bit and are not too picky, and have the kind of patience that is required to stay in a laid back out of the way setting. Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeeTheWorldTravelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguazy, Owner at Casa Yaguarete, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for your review, here our reply :

I don’t know who you are because your Trip Advisor profile is almost empty so I’m making suppositions according to your visit data, the number of days you were and your comments “about people who are still looking for the internet connection in the middle of Iguazu” because we talked about this.

INTERNET : the voltage is not very stable in Iguazu (even if the electricity is expensive) so the repeater loose the configuration sometimes, it’s more sensitive than the router. You say that you don’t care but you are talking about it. In three days you had problems two times. I reset the repeater and the problem was solved in less than 1 minute.

Internet is working even inside the rooms for FREE, this is not common.

According to the last market analyses sent by Trip Advisor, this is one of the three most important things for travelers (Wifi inside the room, in the hotel and breakfast).

WATER : we had to build a new tower (metal) because the old one (in wood) was damaged, we started this job the 10th April, we closed the B&B for 12 days. We started working again the 22nd April.

We had no water for 4 hours at night the 22nd because the glue to join the ends of pipes had to dry.

Last Thursday a pipe used to avoid air in the water circuit, connected to the main pipe of the deposit moved. You arrived from the park about 3 o 4pm. I waited the plumber until 6pm. Our guests are important for us, so when I saw that he was not going to come I decided to look if it was possible to put a plug (we have still some stuff after the construction).

I didn’t hesitate to climb six meters to remove the pipe and install the plug to stop loosing water. The problem was fixed before 7pm.

I suppose that you are talking about these 2 or 3 hours last Thursday.

You are talking about efforts I have made my best and I have found a solution.

This kind of things happens in any house or any hotel.

To close this point, last year, we had some complains about the pressure of the water I profit to say that the pressure is much better because the new tower is higher than the old one.

BREAKFAST : I don’t know what it’s the meaning of a fancy breakfast for you.

So, I will describe it and let readers judge by their selves if it’s fancy or not.

We propose coffee, tea (several choices), milk, fresh juice (at this moment mandarin from our trees), chocolate, bread (black and white), eggs (fried, scramble, boiled), cheese, salami, ham, milk caramel, butter, honey, different jams (always at least one home made, last month was mango), fruits, cereal and yogurt (at least two flavors).

Now on May, there are available mandarins, grapefruits, avocados and chirimoya from our garden.

You have eaten one or two avocados everyday that you have picked by yourself according to you in Spain the avocados are not so good..

I don’t know if you have tasted the chirimoya (guanabana in Mexico). I don’t know what you were expecting.

BATHROOM : Your last afternoon the only thing missing for 10 minutes in your bathroom was the toilet paper, you are right it was a mistake but I want to describe the situation because this is the nice thing of Trip Advisor, we can explain.

I was waiting for the plumber when you came to ask it and also we were preparing your dinner.

I gave you instead of it a paper for clean in general and I asked you if it was ok because I was blocked to go to the market. You told me ok.

Second missing thing, we didn’t give you shampoo, neither cream for hair.

Concerning our efforts, you arrived without any shampoo, neither cream for the hair, you asked me I let you use my own shampoo and my own cream.

Last “”WE RECOMMEND it for those who are prepared to rough it out a bit and are not too picky””

I think that people, who come to our house, decide under some criteria to choose us.

We don’t need the patience of our guests, we prefer not to have it because this means people disappointed or not happy at the end.

When you choose a place I don’t think that you have to be prepared yourself to be not picky or to be patient, in this case you are making the bad choice if you are arriving to a place thinking in this way.

I also remember you that your girlfriend was sick, you asked us if we had something we proposed you drops for FREE. I brought them her.

To finish, we are very sorry for the toilet paper, we were run out of stock we will avoid this situation again.

We are not going to change our policy about the shampoo and the cream because this means an increase of the price.

Our calculation, each package of shampoo and cream, low quality for one wash cost at least 8 pesos, so 32 pesos per day per double room (same price for one bottle of shampoo good quality in the market).

See you

Cordialmente

Lorena ROMERO and Andrea ESPINDOLA
Owners and Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    32
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
95
23
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Ok, maybe your wifi-connection doesn't work in your room all the time. And maybe the shower is a bit of a challenge to figure out. And no, there is no pool, no wellness centre and it's not in the centre of town (which is not that interesting anyway). So if you're the type of holidaymaker that enjoys all these luxury's (which we do, but not all the time) then just go to the Sheraton at Iguazu and knock yourself out. However, if you are looking for a lovely, warm, cosy and authentic place, Casa Yaguarete is the place to go to. We simply had an unforgettable time here. Our host, Lorena, is one of the kindest and most down-to-earth people we've met during our trip through Argentina and instantly makes you feel at home, doing everything she can to make your trip to the falls and downtown - which really is just a 15 minute drive by taxi - as easy as possible. We just loved her (and her dogs, they are so funny). We actually felt sad leaving this place. Lovely breakfast as well! Being Europeans we really missed brown bread during our trip - they serve it. Tasty homemade jams, eggs anyway you want them and best fresh guacamole and fruit juices ever.

Our only tip to Lorena and Andrea is: put up some hammocks in the communal area, place some pots,flowers and plants there to make it a little bit more romantic, maybe some candles...but other than that, keep up the great work. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ravianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed there for three days to visit the Iguazu falls and were warmly welcomed by the owners. Fresh fruit and great food for breakfast and dinner. The room was spacious, clean, comfortable and affordable. Their recommendations for activities and visits were greatly appreciated and made us feel at home. Thank you and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mexgirltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iguazy, Owner at Casa Yaguarete, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Google Translation
Gracias queridas compatriotas, les mandamos un abrazo enorme siempre las recordamos lorena y andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B in early March. We were picked up at the airport and given some history of the park and town on our way. Lorena met us at the car when we arrived at the B&B.
We were the first to stay in a new room that had just been completed. It was beautiful, A/C & comfortable beds. We were also lucky to meet some wonderful people from France, and a family from Ohio at dinner that night. It was great to hear so many languages spoken.
Lorena was a wonderful host, I feel like she is like my sister, always looking out for us & giving us great advice.
I would highly recommend Casa Yaguarete. This was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlprn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a lovely cosy bed & breakfast on the outskirts of town (only a short ride out of town). The area is very quite and rural which we preferred as Iguazu town has few attractions except a few good restaurants.

The room devour is lovely with vaulted wooden ceilings, tiled floors and very spacious. The bed is very comfortable and we slept very well. Breakfast is very comprehensive (ham, cheese, eggs, toast, jams, juices, fresh fruit, yogurts and selection of teas/coffee.

By far the best thing about this place is the personal service you receive from Lorena and her staff. For greeting us at the gate, helping us to organise a bus ticket to Rio, money exchange and general advice about the area she is excellent.

I would, have no problem recommending this place to my friends. However, if you're for a hotel type experience go and stay in town and pay the money but if your looking for a more personable guest house experience, then stay here.

Top tips:
1. Organise an airport transfer to Casa Yaguarete
2. visit El Quicho for a great grill (steak, chicken, chorizo etc). Check their website for days for live music and tango nights
3. Go on the boat ride at Iguazu. Yes it's touristy but its great fun and you have the best views of the falls from there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neila77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
186 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here on honeymoon in February 2013. We were made to feel most welcome from the outset. The room was lovely and had air con, a must in the summer. The breakfast provided was just what we needed and the hospitality was second to none.

Whilst the accomodation is a bit out of town it is quiet and relaxed. The bus stop to the falls is also only a 5 minute walk away.

We would highly recommend staying here for an affordable option to see the falls.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EMcCScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting the Argentine side of the falls. Lorena was waiting for us at the gate and made us feel very welcome straight away. We had the newest room which was very spacious with a comfortable bed and AC. Breakfast set us up for the day and on one night we had the family style dinner with wine which was delicious. Lorena went out of her way to help us with everything we needed. Great host and accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Iguazu hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
Grand Crucero Iguazu Hotel
#3 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
Hotel Jardin de Iguazu
#8 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
2.1 mi away
Loi Suites Iguazu
Loi Suites Iguazu
#4 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Costa del Sol Iguazu
Costa del Sol Iguazu
#1 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tupa Hotel Boutique
Tupa Hotel Boutique
#9 of 49 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Posada 21 Oranges
Posada 21 Oranges
#4 of 52 in Puerto Iguazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Yaguarete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Yaguarete

Property: Casa Yaguarete
Address: Avenida Posadas y El Dorado | Zona de Granjas, Puerto Iguazu 3370, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Puerto Iguazu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Iguazu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Yaguarete 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Casa Yaguarete reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing